2002 echo help - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums

Yaris/Scion iA, Vitz and Echo Forum Discussion area for all the Toyota Yaris/Scion iA, Echo, and Vitz owners worldwide.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 03-15-2017, 04:16 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
2002 echo help

Hello I am new to the forum and toyota cars I recently acquired a 2002 toyota echo 2 door Auto from a family member they bought a new highlander and the car has set for a few years it ran when parked recently ordered a new gas tank seal filter and strainer new spark plugs and bought a new battery . Checked radiator it has red antifreeze in it and it is full oil was a good one thing I did notice and not sure if it is some sort of saftey or if it needs fixed or replaced I couldn't get it out of park unless I took linkage off transmission while the battery was dead haven't tried it with new battery yet

Any advice would be great as to repairs or things to check or parts and maybe repair manual

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
oobuck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 03-17-2017, 03:05 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Anyone

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
oobuck is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 03-17-2017, 09:00 PM
puddleglum2
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Don't have an auto so not familiar with them. Did you ever try it with a battery to see if the park lock requires power? Here is a link to some online service info I found. Maybe you can find something helpful. http://caphector.com/atoyota/TableOf...ts/manual.html
puddleglum2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 Old 03-18-2017, 09:42 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I'm not sure exactly what you asking for help with. Please clarify and we will be glad to assist you.
priceprice is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 03-18-2017, 09:44 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by priceprice View Post
I'm not sure exactly what you asking for help with. Please clarify and we will be glad to assist you.
Anything really not to good with foreign vehicles not sure what needs done maintenance wise or what problems I should be looking for or any tips advice anything really

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
oobuck is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 03-19-2017, 12:58 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Is the check engine light on? Does the car run OK?
priceprice is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 03-19-2017, 01:56 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by priceprice View Post
Is the check engine light on? Does the car run OK?
Haven't tried to start it yet I had to order the battery since local parts store did not have the center post battery

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
oobuck is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 03-20-2017, 05:40 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Ok I went to work on it and new battery won't fit so hooked jumper cables up to car and my truck car does nothing the dash lights come on fuel gauge reads nothing and car won't turn over or click or anything any help would be great

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
oobuck is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 03-22-2017, 04:28 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Got it started any ideas why gas gauge doesn't work or the speedometer

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
oobuck is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 03-28-2017, 02:23 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Ok figured out gas gauge the float part was bad on the sending unit any ideas why speedo don't work

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
oobuck is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 03-30-2017, 08:09 AM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Ok what is the blue coolant light on when I first started the car for it goes off after a few minutes

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
oobuck is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 03-30-2017, 04:49 PM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cleveland Oh
Posts: 10,473
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1949 Post(s)
Thanks: 1,193
Thanked 261 Times in 253 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by oobuck View Post
Ok what is the blue coolant light on when I first started the car for it goes off after a few minutes

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

That light is in place of a coolant gauge. It goes out when the coolant reaches the correct operating temp for the car.
zythr is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 03-31-2017, 08:12 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zythr View Post
That light is in place of a coolant gauge. It goes out when the coolant reaches the correct operating temp for the car.
Thanks any idea why speedometer wouldn't work

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
oobuck is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 03-31-2017, 09:47 PM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cleveland Oh
Posts: 10,473
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1949 Post(s)
Thanks: 1,193
Thanked 261 Times in 253 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
[QUOTE=oobuck;12311666]Thanks any idea why speedometer wouldn't work

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk[/QUOTE


You're welcome. Doing a little research it could be wiring, the speed sensor or the instrument cluster to name 3 possibilities.
zythr is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 05-03-2017, 03:19 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
When I got my echo the speedometer didn't work. The issue was the gear on the bottom of the sensor it just needed to be pushed back on
Samuel McGinn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Yaris/Scion iA, Vitz and Echo Forum

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
Back