Disable Odometer - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Yaris, Vitz and Echo Forum

Yaris, Vitz and Echo Forum Discussion area for all the Toyota Yaris and Echo owners worldwide.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2007, 04:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kish Island
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View mimidi's Photo Gallery
Disable Odometer

Plaese guidance me
May I disabling the traversal-recording odometer during time periods and then enable it?
mimidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2007, 02:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View RollinGolden's Photo Gallery
Ok after reading i think its obvious what your asking and i think i have a solution.... get a bat.... then smash your way into your yaris and dont stop smashing their, after ripping your way inside and pulling some stuffing out of your seats start smashing the console and ac controls with a bat, after you can see the yaris insides do the same to your neighbors car and then their neighbors etc... all the while ranting about how the aliens are monitoring everyone through use of the compressor. YOu will then be institutionalized and you will no longer have this problem
RollinGolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 08:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
One with the force
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,598
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
View leasaunce's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by mimidi View Post
Plaese guidance me
May I disabling the traversal-recording odometer during time periods and then enable it?
why do you want to do this???

I know a way how to do it but I wont tell you now.... (since you're still a newbie and you haven't contribute anything else to this forum)
__________________

Custom CAI ll Borla Cat-Back Exhaust ll DIY Needle Colour ll
ll TRD Bodykit ll Sports Springs ll Chrome Grill ll GEN 4.5 HEADLIGHTS w/PROJECTORS ll
leasaunce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 10:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View RollinGolden's Photo Gallery
Look for a cable running from the wheels.

Ok ready!?

Last summer I was driving my motorcycle, and all of a sudden I looked at my Speedometer and it was zero even though I was traveling at least 90 mph. For a few days I lived with no speedometer, but then I realized that my odometer was not going up either!!!! Incredible, so for a month or so I was stuck around 12000 miles, way to save money if i want to ever sell right?... only if I could fix it but I did not care. Then one day as I was walking to my motorcycle I noticed a cable dangling from my motorcycle and I was like WTF!!!? where does this go well after some inspecting and deducing and overall genius work by me (I am a chemical engineer afterall working on my masters right now... yea i know im great) I found a hole underneath the equivalent of a dashboard for the motorcycle where I could screw in the other end of this loose cable that ran from front wheel. Well I imagine theirs something similar to my 2008 Yaris.... yea i know great car.... that you can just unscrew.
RollinGolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 11:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
One with the force
 
EchoHoLiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,492
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View EchoHoLiK's Photo Gallery
^^^ I thought you would've used a bat on your motorcycle
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by falnfenix View Post
that twatwaffle gives me headaches, so i tend to avoid him.
EchoHoLiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 03:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Valvoline-Vixen
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Alikat's Photo Gallery
HAHAHAHA I did that once with my Corolla!!! Nice to know i'm not the only blond let loose inside car parts!
Alikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 06:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: earth
Posts: 293
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View cwayne's Photo Gallery
There's a cable leading from the cabin to the transmission. You unplug that cable and it'll disable the speedometer and the odometer.

I know someone who did that with a leased vehicle and put it back when it came to returning it. It's illegal but I'm sure many are doing it. It's up to you if you want to commit a crime. Just remember that karma is a bitch so watch out next time you buy a used car ;-)
cwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 01:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SG
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View nicokpe's Photo Gallery
why do you want to do that???
nicokpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 05:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Dake's Photo Gallery
Yeah, not only is it quite illegal, but most modern car computers know when the odometer has been tampered with. But hey, have at it!
Dake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 07:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: earth
Posts: 293
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View cwayne's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dake View Post
Yeah, not only is it quite illegal, but most modern car computers know when the odometer has been tampered with. But hey, have at it!
Well, you can go to the dealer and complain that the speedometer isn't working. What they'll do is a mechanic will drive it and try to "replicate the problem". They'll tell you that it's working fine. However, that incident will be logged in your car's history.

Then you unplug the cable. The worst that will happen is that the "check engine" light will go on... which is very unlikely IMO. You can drive it for as long as you want then reconnect it later. If an issue ever comes up, just tell them you experienced problems with the speedometer earlier, reported it to the dealer and they did nothing about it.
cwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 09:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Dake's Photo Gallery
"Logged in history" being the operative phrase. If you use that little trick and the dealer logs it (as they are required by law to do), it will show up on every used car history report. When you sell the car you'll have to check the box that says "Odometer Inaccuracy" or something along those lines on your title.
Dake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 09:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: earth
Posts: 293
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View cwayne's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dake View Post
"Logged in history" being the operative phrase. If you use that little trick and the dealer logs it (as they are required by law to do), it will show up on every used car history report.
Nope, it will only be on the dealer's repair history log, not on the "car fax report" since the dealer wasn't able to replicate the problem. If they were able to replicate it, then your point would be valid.

If the car never had the problem that the dealer reports and shows on your carfax, the dealer is liable and you can sue them for damages.
cwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Yaris, Vitz and Echo Forum

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie here: Getting 95 camry today! Mjakaz95LE Introduce Yourself Here 24 04-21-2009 06:06 AM
How to turn the odometer forward luiscolorado 3rd & 4th Generation (19921996 & 19972001) 8 01-15-2007 01:02 PM
Odometer Calbe noise drikwah 89-95 Toyota Pickup/Hilux 4 06-07-2006 08:55 AM
FS: 1994 Corolla DX - 1 Owner - North New Jersey Anuj Vehicles 2 12-22-2005 09:52 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.