iPhone and Entune - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > 7th Generation (2012+)

7th Generation (2012+) Toyota Camry Discussion for years: 2012+

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2012, 10:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melville, NY
Posts: 43
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View sycohen's Photo Gallery
iPhone and Entune

Based on what I've read in other Toyota forums (PriusChat) it appears that the reason that iPhone users have to enable Entune on the Camry (and all toyotas) is that ATT (and probably Verizon) regard a wireless connection to access data off of a phone as tethering, and want to charge extra for that.

Also, it seems that if you Jailbreak your phone and download the tethering app from Cydia, the phone will talk to the car wirelessly with no problem. I know for a fact that ATT gets very upset with that, especially if you have unlimited data.

Can anybody confirm if this information is correct?
sycohen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2012, 10:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Blochead21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bucks Cty., PA
Posts: 509
Gameroom cash: $354900
Thanks: 10
Thanked 49 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Blochead21's Photo Gallery
Yes there are two ways. If you have tethering enabled on your phone, or if you have the ability to turn on the personal hotspot feature. This will work if you enable the bluetooth and the personal hotspot.

I have an iPhone 4 Jailbroken on T-Mobile and it works flawlessly with mine. And i don't even need to have the cable connected.

Jailbreaking your phone is so simple and easy, its a no brainer for all the additional features that you can have.
Blochead21 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Blochead21 For This Useful Post:
sycohen (07-02-2012)
Old 07-02-2012, 11:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melville, NY
Posts: 43
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View sycohen's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blochead21 View Post
Yes there are two ways. If you have tethering enabled on your phone, or if you have the ability to turn on the personal hotspot feature. This will work if you enable the bluetooth and the personal hotspot.

I have an iPhone 4 Jailbroken on T-Mobile and it works flawlessly with mine. And i don't even need to have the cable connected.

Jailbreaking your phone is so simple and easy, its a no brainer for all the additional features that you can have.
My iPhone (4S) works perfectly streaming music to the car via Bluetooth.

After seeing some of the rants over on the PriusChat site, I'm not so sure it makes sense to activate the hotspot features, pay more, and lose unlimited data to do it. At the moment Entune seems to be a bit half baked and not really ready for "prime time".

I jailbroke my old iPhone (3g) and used that for quite a while, until ATT started to give me a hard time about using 3 - 5 Gigs of data each month. Again, until Toyota fixes Entune I'm not so sure I want to go thru the effort, especially with IOS 6 coming out so soon.

I'm downloading the ENtune update as we speak - more later.
sycohen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2012, 11:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Blochead21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bucks Cty., PA
Posts: 509
Gameroom cash: $354900
Thanks: 10
Thanked 49 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Blochead21's Photo Gallery
Oh i have no doubt, it could be done without jailbreaking. But for the people that are having problems that could be a solution if they wanted.
Blochead21 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2012, 12:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melville, NY
Posts: 43
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View sycohen's Photo Gallery
Finished downloading the Entune 2.10 update, unzipped and copied it to a flash drive and installed it in the Camry. Everything went perfectly, as far as I can see. I'll start playing with it and see it was all worthwhile.

I'd love to find a way to connect the iPhone to Entune without the cable.
sycohen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-13-2012, 12:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View rynning's Photo Gallery
No cable yet?

So does the new update allow you to connect an iPhone to Entunes without a cable? Even David Pogue at the New York Times said it would be coming soon back in May...
rynning is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 11:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Go Bolts!
 
BoltsFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 686
Gameroom cash: $238354
Thanks: 44
Thanked 72 Times in 62 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View BoltsFan's Photo Gallery
Is it just the iPhones that need to be plugged into the USB port in order to use Entunes or is it all smartphones? I don't currently have a smartphone but plan to get one when my current contract expires at the end of the month and I don't want to lose my USB port just for Entunes.
__________________
2009 Venza V6 / Tropical Sea Metallic / Ivory Leather
2012 Camry SE I4 / Magnetic Gray Metallic
BoltsFan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 07:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior TN Member
 
dyapanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,448
Gameroom cash: $415050
Thanks: 499
Thanked 197 Times in 171 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
View dyapanis's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoltsFan View Post
Is it just the iPhones that need to be plugged into the USB port in order to use Entunes or is it all smartphones? I don't currently have a smartphone but plan to get one when my current contract expires at the end of the month and I don't want to lose my USB port just for Entunes.
for iPhones, you have to plug it in the USB port and have entunes running in your iphone. I heard android phones doesn't need to be plugged in as it can run entunes via bluetooth.
dyapanis is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to dyapanis For This Useful Post:
BoltsFan (07-17-2012)
Old 07-16-2012, 09:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View ChrisC1234's Photo Gallery
Correct. My Android phone never has to leave my pocket for me to have full Entune access.
ChrisC1234 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 09:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Blochead21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bucks Cty., PA
Posts: 509
Gameroom cash: $354900
Thanks: 10
Thanked 49 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Blochead21's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisC1234 View Post
Correct. My Android phone never has to leave my pocket for me to have full Entune access.
But do you have Bluetooth or tethering turned on all the time?
__________________
2012 Camry SE Black
RX-350/STI-R Retro Build Thread
Blochead21 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 11:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View ChrisC1234's Photo Gallery
Yes, I leave bluetooth on all the time, and the Entune app has a background process that is always running.
ChrisC1234 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-17-2012, 05:51 AM   #12 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Blochead21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bucks Cty., PA
Posts: 509
Gameroom cash: $354900
Thanks: 10
Thanked 49 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Blochead21's Photo Gallery
Alright well thats no different then what I can do. My iphone 4 can connect to my camry with the bluetooth and entune app in the background. I just don't though because leaving my bluetooth on when i'm at work wastes my battery.
Blochead21 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2012, 10:36 AM   #13 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: southeast
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View nomorhondas's Photo Gallery
Anyone updated their Entune using the USB stick supplied by Toyota and then tried their iPhone? If so, my question is : do you still need to connect with a cord into the USB port on the car?
nomorhondas is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2012, 10:41 AM   #14 (permalink)
Senior TN Member
 
dyapanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,448
Gameroom cash: $415050
Thanks: 499
Thanked 197 Times in 171 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
View dyapanis's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by nomorhondas View Post
Anyone updated their Entune using the USB stick supplied by Toyota and then tried their iPhone? If so, my question is : do you still need to connect with a cord into the USB port on the car?
yes, you still have to connect you iPhone to the USB port to run entunes.
dyapanis is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2012, 08:31 AM   #15 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 97
Thanks: 5
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View ad78's Photo Gallery
poor iPhones... good thing i sold my 4s and bought the S3. now time to pick up my SE this afternoon! i have a limited data on verizon and for sure the S3 will going to rock the entune!
ad78 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > 7th Generation (2012+)

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.