Oil Filter Wrench Recommendations - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
7th Generation (2012+) Toyota Camry Discussion for years: 2012-2013

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 10-06-2012, 11:00 AM
Senior TN Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Oil Filter Wrench Recommendations

Did the first oil change on my 2012 Camry Hybrid which unfortunately has that very annoying cartridge filter arrangement. Having the cartridge probably doubled the time it took to change the oil. In any case I had originally planned to buy the Assenmacher ASSTOY640 tool. But, I left it too late and had to shop around locally. The Assenmacher based on recommendations from others is a very good tool, and if I was a professional, I would still buy it. Seems very heavy duty.

Could not find one locally, but a couple of auto suppliers (Bumper to Bumper, Dash Distributors) had a K-D Model 3253 End Cap Oil Filter Wrench. While the Assenmacher is designated as a 14 flat, 64 mm tool, the K-D is described as a 65mm 14 flute. I measured it with a vernier gauge to be 2.540" or 64.5mm from the center of a flat to the center of the opposite flat. It is stamped steel and is said to have a zinc coating, although it looks more like chrome. It takes a 3/8" square drive directly, or a 1" hex socket. I paid $10 for it, but you can also find them on line at Amazon or other places for less, if you can wait for delivery.

Short story? It worked perfectly. It fits on the filter housing of the 2012 easily, and while tight, is not snug enough to stay on without holding it. I was concerned about this as there are some reviews which state that it is too tight for some Toyota cartridge housings. Certainly not for this plastic housing on the 2012. I have no hesitation in recommending it for the home mechanic. It has a lifetime warranty, but I suspect you will ever need it.