Avalon voice recognition capabilities - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
4th Generation (2013+) Specific discussion of the fourth generation Toyota Avalon

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 10-04-2013, 03:43 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: florida
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 11
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Avalon voice recognition capabilities

I have tried to use my voice recognition capabilities with my iPhone. It seem to understand the commands but when I tell it to call a name it always seems to get the wrong name or keeps asking me. I was wondering if others are having the same problem or whether someone has figured out how to make it work.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
woropallo is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to woropallo For This Useful Post:
LAF (10-05-2013)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 10-05-2013, 10:13 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Thanks: 79
Thanked 79 Times in 63 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by woropallo View Post
I have tried to use my voice recognition capabilities with my iPhone. It seem to understand the commands but when I tell it to call a name it always seems to get the wrong name or keeps asking me. I was wondering if others are having the same problem or whether someone has figured out how to make it work.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
For me it was just frustration as I figured out how to pronounce the names in a way that the system could understand....same with voice recognition on the nav. Once you figure out how to say it (pronunciation and pace, etc), it finally works all the time. I personally think that Toyota is behind one generation on this type of technology...but then I got into a friend's new '14 Subaru and their system so totally sucks I decided to just live with it. Rumor has it that Toyota is working on a software upgrade for our systems (per the fleet manager at my dealer, who is an old friend); however, I haven't heard anything new recently. 'Supposedly', our systems were designed to be fully software upgradeable.....but I'll believe it when I see it.
Doobiewah is offline  
#3 Old 10-05-2013, 10:25 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 86 Times in 74 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by woropallo View Post
I have tried to use my voice recognition capabilities with my iPhone. It seem to understand the commands but when I tell it to call a name it always seems to get the wrong name or keeps asking me. I was wondering if others are having the same problem or whether someone has figured out how to make it work.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Important question: Do you have the Touring or Limited?
DAN_C is offline  
#4 Old 10-05-2013, 01:34 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: florida
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 11
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAN_C View Post
Important question: Do you have the Touring or Limited?
Limited w/ tech package


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
woropallo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Avalon Forum > 4th Generation (2013+)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome