Trunk Will Open with Remote Key Only - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
10th Gen Corolla/2nd Gen Matrix Engine and Transmission Forum Intake to exhaust, this is the place to discuss what makes 10th Gen Corolla and 2nd Gen Matrix go fast and how it gets there.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 01-11-2011, 06:50 PM
New TN User
 
toy-g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Trunk Will Open with Remote Key Only

My car's trunk will not open with the lever inside the car. However, it will open with the remote button on the key.

I have checked inside the trunk, but could not find any lock/unlock "thingy"

How do I make trunk to be opened from both: inside and outside?
thanks!
toy-g is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 01-11-2011, 07:13 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 20
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I might be wrong, but i'm pretty sure the lever inside the car is all cable... So probably the cable unhooked itself from the latch in the back..

Anyone else can comment??? I'm pretty sure this is how it works.. I remember seeing a news clip for the christmas shoppers. How to unhook the cable so people can break into the car and pop the trunk... Let me know if you figure it out cause now i wanna unhook my lever from the inside since I dont like the fact you can access the car from both inside and the trunk.
Dragon-88 is offline  
#3 Old 01-11-2011, 07:15 PM
New TN User
 
toy-g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragon-88 View Post
I might be wrong, but i'm pretty sure the lever inside the car is all cable... So probably the cable unhooked itself from the latch in the back..

Anyone else can comment??? I'm pretty sure this is how it works.. I remember seeing a news clip for the christmas shoppers. How to unhook the cable so people can break into the car and pop the trunk... Let me know if you figure it out cause now i wanna unhook my lever from the inside since I dont like the fact you can access the car from both inside and the trunk.
Thanks! I have looked inside the trunk, but have not seen any loose cables. Where exactly I should be looking at?
toy-g is offline  
#4 Old 01-11-2011, 07:23 PM
Senior TN Member
 
msncorolla422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 3,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 167
Thanked 131 Times in 122 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I have had this problem and they had to replace the trunk release cable...they didnt know that it can be ordered with the lock/key hole and without...they had to rekey the lock

and when I picked up my car these people were there also for the same problem

msncorolla422 is offline  
#5 Old 01-11-2011, 07:27 PM
New TN User
 
toy-g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by msncorolla422 View Post
I have had this problem and they had to replace the trunk release cable...they didnt know that it can be ordered with the lock/key hole and without...they had to rekey the lock

and when I picked up my car these people were there also for the same problem
I had to reprogram the key twice, after first time I could open the trunk, but after the second time I did not realize I have to check the trunk opening
toy-g is offline  
#6 Old 01-11-2011, 07:33 PM
Senior TN Member
 
msncorolla422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 3,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 167
Thanked 131 Times in 122 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by toy-g View Post
I had to reprogram the key twice, after first time I could open the trunk, but after the second time I did not realize I have to check the trunk opening
wait I just realized.....is the trunk in the lock position? if the keyhole is horizontal...meaning you have to insert the key with the pointy ends jagged ends going left and right? it should be in the vertical position so that the lever can be used.

like when you give a valet the valet key...with the master you lock the trunk and the valet key cannot unlock the trunk by turning the key and the lever has been disengaged

msncorolla422 is offline  
#7 Old 01-11-2011, 07:36 PM
New TN User
 
toy-g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
I don't have the car with me right now, I will check once get home
Yeah, that might be that simple ))
toy-g is offline  
#8 Old 01-11-2011, 07:38 PM
The random one
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by msncorolla422 View Post
wait I just realized.....is the trunk in the lock position? if the keyhole is horizontal...meaning you have to insert the key with the pointy ends jagged ends going left and right? it should be in the vertical position so that the lever can be used.

like when you give a valet the valet key...with the master you lock the trunk and the valet key cannot unlock the trunk by turning the key and the lever has been disengaged
this. Unlock your truck with one of the two master keys, if this is not the case then you have a problem..check with the dealer


Got HIR?
MiniPacou is offline  
#9 Old 01-11-2011, 09:55 PM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Dimaoala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 5,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 63
Thanked 379 Times in 294 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
I'd say check the position of your keyhole as suggested above. It can disable the pull switch from the cabin, and can only be opened by remote.

If I'm not mistaken, only both your remote keys can turn it, not your valet key.

Dim's 2009 Super White Toyota Corolla XRS Turbo!

Dimaoala is offline  
#10 Old 01-11-2011, 10:38 PM
Senior TN Member
 
flamedrgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 22
Thanked 86 Times in 83 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
keyhole position is my first guess.

flamedrgn is offline  
#11 Old 01-11-2011, 11:40 PM
Diehard Rams Fan
 
SuperchargedMR2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 14,927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Thanks: 621
Thanked 1,021 Times in 910 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by flamedrgn View Post
keyhole position is my first guess.
+1

I've seen this happen with many cars over the years.

89 Supercharged White MR2 MT/09 Corolla S CSM MT/08 Yaris HB MT
94 Corolla DX Red MT/95 Previa S/C White AT/
07 Corolla CE CSM MT/10 Prius III Blizzard Pearl

SuperchargedMR2 is offline  
#12 Old 01-11-2011, 11:52 PM
what car? Im just a Tech
 
ploud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Danbury
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 27 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
are you talking about the lever by the floor on the driver seat or the trunk T lever? the cable for the front seat is attached on the keyhole mechanism arm that pulls to the left when you trigger the release, you can only see it if you remove the black corrugated panel on the trunk lid, the key hole then has a small rod arm attached to the actual locking/release mechanism. the t handle trunk inside release is a direct attachment to the locking/release mechanism. so depending on your issue it can be either the cable to the keyhole or the arm rod to the actual mechanism. if you used the actual key can you open the trunk with it?
ploud is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to ploud For This Useful Post:
bowyer636 (01-24-2011)
#13 Old 01-12-2011, 01:38 AM
Official TN Member
 
lincolnskilz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Bay
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Yes I had this problem and they are suppose to be replacing mines with new cables. hope it wont happen again

01 Cam
09 SW Rolla S
lincolnskilz is offline  
#14 Old 01-12-2011, 04:56 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 19
Thanked 39 Times in 38 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
They had to replace my cable as well. I could tell once I tried to use the lever, there was no resistance at all when pulling.
corolla_goof is offline  
#15 Old 01-24-2011, 10:25 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I had the same problem: '09 Toyota Corolla S- Trunk will only open with the key faab, both the lever by the driver seat and the external key hole did not function.

I just fixed this problem like 10 min ago thanks to the info posted by ploud.
I took off the panel in the trunk lid which exposed a lot of black insulated tape stuff. The "small rod arm attached to the actual locking/release mechanism" ploud was referring to was being held firmly in place by the black tape stuff, the arm could not operate because it could not move due to the tape stuff . I removed the tape around the moving parts and now EVERYTHING (key, remote and lever) all work perfectly. This was a 5 min, zero cost repair.

Maybe this could be what caused your failure. Hope it helps.
bowyer636 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > 10th Gen Corolla/2nd Gen Matrix (2009-2013) > 10th Gen Corolla/2nd Gen Matrix Engine and Transmission Forum

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome