2013 corolla S 6.1" touch screen display subwoofer install - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > 10th Gen Corolla/2nd Gen Matrix (2009-2013) > 10th Gen Corolla/2nd Gen Matrix Interior and Audio Forum

10th Gen Corolla/2nd Gen Matrix Interior and Audio Forum A forum to discuss 10th Gen Corolla and 2nd Gen Matrix interior and audio maintenance and modifications.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2012, 11:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View dkm16's Photo Gallery
2013 corolla S 6.1" touch screen display subwoofer install

Hey fellas,

I'm currently in the market to purchase a 2013 corolla S and was wondering if anyone attempted to install a subwoofer via the factory touch screen. I'm sure this touch screen display is essentially garbage since toyota doesn't list any specifications regarding it on their website (so i'm assuming it doesn't have RCA inputs or anything). I've installed 2 complete sound systems on my previous cars but never installed anything aftermarket to a factory HU (it seems like it would be a pain in the a** to have to splice the wires and all that mumbo jumbo). I've searched everywhere and can't find ANY pictures of someone removing the 2013 touch screen but was wondering if any of you guys have. Thanks in advance for your cooperation.
dkm16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-18-2012, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
2010 Corolla S
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 365
Gameroom cash: $302808
Thanks: 13
Thanked 34 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View TFCommanderBob's Photo Gallery
Probably not a ton of modded '13s yet, I have a 2010 myself. I'd imagine the removal is the same as the rest of us, a couple screws and some plastic to pull off. I don't think splicing to the factory wires would be very hard. A simple "quick splice" combined with some high gauge wire and an amp that takes high level input and you are in business. If you are planning to replace the speakers, you already have the access points handy anyway. If you are going to use an amp for the interior speakers you can pull the signal straight from the connections at the radio.

Good luck!

I do agree, I sincerely doubt that any factory system would have RCA output.
TFCommanderBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 11:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View dkm16's Photo Gallery
I think the new tC comes with RCA inputs on the back of its head unit.. I could be wrong though. My main problem with adding an amp to the factory headunit is the lack of audio controls on the factory HU. If I splice into the original wires I won't be able to block all the bass from the factory speakers (sure I could go to the audio settings and turn bass down all the way, but that will also affect the subwoofer bass levels since the HU essentially won't even know there's a subwoofer). I also don't want to replace the HU because I'll lose the ability to track vehicle information such as oil life and tire pressure (unless there's some head unit that allows you to maintain this info?? Thanks for all the help!
dkm16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 02:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
2010 Corolla S
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 365
Gameroom cash: $302808
Thanks: 13
Thanked 34 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View TFCommanderBob's Photo Gallery
Sounds like you should replace all the speakers and use a 5 channel amp. Then you can use the built in crossovers to control output to speakers/sub, and just use the HU to send a signal.
TFCommanderBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 12:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Plumas Lake,CA
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Galanyc's Photo Gallery
I actually just purchased a 2013 corolla s today i had a 2012 corolla s before the stereo has nice output but u are right, it is garbage. If you stick to the original HU you will need an rca adapter to connect the amp. Im going to install a pioneer double din and kicker subs in the next week.

Touch screen toyota radio for sale haha
Galanyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 05:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: KY
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View rnorth6920's Photo Gallery
I just bought a 2013 S too and need to get my sub installed. Hopefully someone figures out how to do it soon.
rnorth6920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
S13strayaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 299
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View S13strayaway's Photo Gallery
It's simple. You need to buy adapters online. They have been doing this for years
S13strayaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Plumas Lake,CA
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Galanyc's Photo Gallery
all you do is add a "high to low converter", it simply has to be spliced in a set of speaker wires in the back of the stereo. after that, you install it like a basic amp install. ill post pictures on here when i did mine the other day
Galanyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 01:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: KY
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View rnorth6920's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galanyc View Post
all you do is add a "high to low converter", it simply has to be spliced in a set of speaker wires in the back of the stereo. after that, you install it like a basic amp install. ill post pictures on here when i did mine the other day
I ended up doing just that except I tapped into the rear speakers in the trunk. Hooked up my amp remote wire to the grey wire that hooks to the cigarette/aux outlet. Works like a charm!!!
rnorth6920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 03:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 455
Gameroom cash: $154400
Thanks: 72
Thanked 11 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View RedCorollaS2012's Photo Gallery
Anyone kniw where i can buy the 2013 stock touchscreen radio?

Sent from my ZTE-Z990 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
RedCorollaS2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 04:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston/Katy
Posts: 229
Gameroom cash: $194600
Thanks: 4
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View jono119's Photo Gallery
the 2013 scion radios have a RCA preout and when you connect a sub u can access more audio settings for the sub. i wonder if the 2013 corollas have this feature?
jono119 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 05:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Plumas Lake,CA
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Galanyc's Photo Gallery
No the corolla doesnt have that option. I connected mine to the rear of the stereo to remove clutter i also installed a bass nob. If you didnt buy a equalizer then its extremely recomended.

I hated that my bass was at full blast when i only had the volume at 20. Let me look for some pics and ill post em on here.
Galanyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > 10th Gen Corolla/2nd Gen Matrix (2009-2013) > 10th Gen Corolla/2nd Gen Matrix Interior and Audio Forum

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.