Highlander stand up to mostly dirt roads? - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums

Highlander 3rd Generation (2014+) Forum dedicated to the discussion of 3rd generation Toyota Highlanders.

7Likes
  • 3 Post By StatCoder
  • 1 Post By rockett1021
  • 1 Post By kiseliok
  • 2 Post By snowtime9

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 02-16-2017, 05:21 PM Thread Starter
New TN User

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Highlander stand up to mostly dirt roads?

Hi there, I am new to board and looking for confirmation that the highlander [new] will stand up to my every day drive.
I live in the bush in northern BC and 75% of my driving is on gravel roads. We get 30 feet of snow each year so the snow on the roads in winter can be quite messy [icy ruts]. My Superduty works well but my wife wants something else. Its a 1 and 1/2 drive to nearest grocery store.
You might be saying I should just get another truck but that's not in the cards. Mainly because we drive 16 hours to Vancouver to see the kids 2 or 3 times a year.
So the question is whether I should forget about the highlander. My wife has seen one in town and she likes it. The only dealers within 5 hours drive are Toyota, Chevy, Ford, Dodge.
This will be a wife car to go see the neighbors so I need reliability.
I have not gone to a dealer yet but most say the Toyotas are the most reliable. I have thought about the 4 runner but am worried I am too tall. The specs say the highlander has more head room. I am 6'5". I'm thinking I should try it but the highlander looks to be a better car to travel to Vancouver.
Any one do any back country driving. We do not consider gravel roads 4 wheeling as most down south do. Lets just say this car will not go to any spots that we don't use all the time. Lots of dust, gravel, snow.
Thanks for looking at my ramblings.
Henry
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 02-16-2017, 06:04 PM