Head Unit Re-booting Problem in 2015 Limited - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums

Highlander 3rd Generation (2014+) Forum dedicated to the discussion of 3rd generation Toyota Highlanders.

 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Phil Indeblanc
  • 1 Post By cb91710
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 04-26-2017, 09:16 AM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
RickC5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Whitewater, CO
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Head Unit Re-booting Problem in 2015 Limited

Only recently has our 2015 Limited Platinum started re-booting the head unit during long drives. On a recent road trip, it re-booted 11 times--VERY irritating. First the display locked-up, then went black & re-booted. This took about a minute or more each time.

However, once we were using the Bluetooth phone connection, and when the lock-up occurred, it wouldn't re-boot and stayed locked-up until the vehicle was turned off & re-started. None of the controls had any effect & the phone call was dropped.

Yesterday our dealer installed the latest software update for the radio according to TSB 0035-16. Part number is 868040E110.

So now my fingers are crossed that this update actually fixes the problem.

2015 Land Cruiser Silver/Black
2015 Highlander Limited Platinum Grey/Black


Our back yard, near Whitewater, CO
RickC5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-27-2017, 12:22 PM
2014 Highlander V6 2WD LE
 
Phil Indeblanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 5,316
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 979 Post(s)
Thanks: 272
Thanked 241 Times in 228 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Its the best problem you can have!
If you cant fix it, or looking for something better...
Great reason to chuck that POS out in the trash and put something decent in. Lots of options, Kenwood, Pioneer, Tablets....
cb91710 likes this.

_____________
2014 Highlander, 2WD, V6, LE, HID/LED, AudioUpgrade
Phil Indeblanc is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-27-2017, 02:19 PM
Senior TN Member
 
cb91710's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: SoCal IE
Posts: 1,617
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 705 Post(s)
Thanks: 59
Thanked 153 Times in 142 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
^^^^^ Ditto.

I wanted the Smartkey and XM.
Unfortunately that means I'm stuck with the worst OEM head unit made.
Phil Indeblanc likes this.

-- Rich

cb91710 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 06-19-2017, 03:24 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
NZ Flag Lockups / reboots

Hi there RickC5 , how did you go with the firmware - did it fix the lockups and reboots , also what is the audio quality like with the vehicle on the hands free phone audio ie what you hear and what the caller hears at their end

Thanks in advance

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickC5 View Post
Only recently has our 2015 Limited Platinum started re-booting the head unit during long drives. On a recent road trip, it re-booted 11 times--VERY irritating. First the display locked-up, then went black & re-booted. This took about a minute or more each time.

However, once we were using the Bluetooth phone connection, and when the lock-up occurred, it wouldn't re-boot and stayed locked-up until the vehicle was turned off & re-started. None of the controls had any effect & the phone call was dropped.

Yesterday our dealer installed the latest software update for the radio according to TSB 0035-16. Part number is 868040E110.

So now my fingers are crossed that this update actually fixes the problem.
RobertBob is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 06-19-2017, 04:24 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I had the same issue. They did a firmware update at the dealer but it didn't work. Ended up getting a new unit under warranty.
Loudog2 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-19-2017, 06:34 AM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
RickC5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Whitewater, CO
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertBob View Post
Hi there RickC5 , how did you go with the firmware - did it fix the lockups and reboots , also what is the audio quality like with the vehicle on the hands free phone audio ie what you hear and what the caller hears at their end

Thanks in advance
Yes, the software update seems to have fixed the re-booting problem we had. We've even taken a couple of long trips since the upgrade was done and no re-booting! Yay!

Hands free phone audio quality seems pretty good. Callers infrequently complain about ambient (road/wind) noise, but we hear them pretty well.

2015 Land Cruiser Silver/Black
2015 Highlander Limited Platinum Grey/Black


Our back yard, near Whitewater, CO
RickC5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Highlander Forum > Highlander 3rd Generation (2014+)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
Back