Toyota Nation Forum banner

Corolla LE Fun!

3K views 19 replies 12 participants last post by  thoots 
#1 ·
That's right; you read the title correctly. I find the new Corolla (LE, not even S) fun to drive. I don't own one, but I recently rented one and was blown away by the way it drives.

I am a 2012 Camry SE driver, and the new Corolla LE handles and rides better than my car (though the interior accommodations don't come close to the Camry). And, the 1.8 L engine with CVT accelerated pretty quickly (though I would much have preferred a manual transmission). The car was literally a blast to throw into corners with nicely weighted steering and very little body roll.

I rent cars quite a bit, and the Corolla easily drove better than either the Mazda 3 or Chevy Cruze I recently rented (though the Cruze was quieter and both the Cruze and Mazda 3 have better driving positions).

So, all of this really makes me wonder whether car reviewers actually drive the cars they claim to review or whether preconceived notions completely outweigh objective analysis.

I'm not going out tomorrow to buy a Corolla, but I just wanted to give my feedback on what I believe is much maligned car. Toyota has really upped the game with the new Corolla.

See less See more
#2 ·
Yes they did a great job with this one, it really is surprisingly fun to drive. I have an S+ and just love it.

Supposedly the next one is supposed to be substantially more aggressive looking and driving. Expect the next generation in 2019 as a 2020 model according to Toyotas North American CEO.

Very excited about that and fully intend to buy one if the claims hold true, but will enjoy my 2015 in the mean time!

#3 ·
That's right; you read the title correctly. I find the new Corolla (LE, not even S) fun to drive. I don't own one, but I recently rented one and was blown away by the way it drives.