Engine not firing - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Tercel, Paseo, Starlet, and Sera Forum

Tercel, Paseo, Starlet, and Sera Forum Discussion area for Tercel, Paseo, Starlet, and Sera

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2009, 08:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Roben's Photo Gallery
Engine not firing

so, my wife has a 96 tercel. I'm at work, she calls me saying it wont start. It's not the battery, however she put the charger on it, which is one of those portable ones you can plug and unplug, charge up, etc, and I think it drained the power out of the battery. So, she's going to talk to the neighbor about jumping the car. I had her put some starting fluid in the airbox, per the directions on the can, but then we found out about the battery. Any ideas of other things to check that would not make the engine fire, it was cranking before the battery issue.
Roben is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-28-2009, 12:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Sick03mach's Photo Gallery
if its not cranking, its a possibilty of the battery. or the stater went.

If its cranking but not starting then it could be a number of things.

ignition component failed, most unlikely to just happen.

fuel pump went.

easy way to do it is. spray starting fluid but just a little. it can backfire and do some real damage.

if it starts after that, then its most likely a fuel issue.

if it doesnt. pull out the spark plug and check for spark. keep the spark plug connected to the wire and set it on something and crank. look for the spark on the plug. do not let the spark jump somewhere.

if you have spark and fuel. its most likely a timing issue. timing belt etc etc
Sick03mach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 12:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Roben's Photo Gallery
starter fluid would be sprayed in the airbox, right?
Roben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 12:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Sick03mach's Photo Gallery
not the airbox, you dont want to spray it in the filter. disconnect it after the airbox or directly in the throttle body. but BE CAREFUL it can easy get to much and backfire. just a little bit at a time. and dont stand to close when you spray it. reach your arm out. and dont stand to close when its cranked
Sick03mach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 12:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Roben's Photo Gallery
Great! Thanks! I'll give it a try when I get home. Hopefully something will happen. I'm probably going to check for spark first and then starter fluid.
Roben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 12:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Sick03mach's Photo Gallery
good deal
Sick03mach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 01:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: N.W. USA
Posts: 357
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View igonuts2's Photo Gallery
spay it while cranking. dont spray then crank. safer.
__________________
92 pu 4x4 V6 5sp 3'' lift
79 LS1 vette. resto in progress.
---------
gone,
89 tercel 3dr 3e 5sp
'56 willys pu 4x4 "rat".
igonuts2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 12:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Roben's Photo Gallery
I hooked up my code reader, the thing wouldn't even connect to the computer. So, it's the computer. The engine will turn over when the computer is unplugged, but wont fire (I tested that last week, thankfully). The computer has been an issue, and it seemed to have finally died. An O2 sensor went bad, and the former owner (wife's uncle) put in a good chunk of change replacing parts. The mechanic (at a Toyota dealership) said that it could possibly be the computer if those don't make it better.

I read on a Subaru forum that if an O2 sensor goes bad, it surges the computer and gives a bad reading for that area, which was telling me that the system was running rich, O2 Sensor, bank 1. Both O2 sensors have been replaced, and I'll be on my way this afternoon to get a computer from a car in a salvage yard. I'm hoping that's the case. I don't want to have to deal with any fuses in the engine compartment, but I'm not thinking that that's going to be the case.
Roben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 05:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Got a FC3S!
 
Paseo15psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bronx, NY, USA
Posts: 1,453
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Paseo15psi's Photo Gallery
Why don't you check the main fuses under the hood first. There are a couple of fuses (Main and Alt) that tend to go bad and cause that problem.
__________________


Paseo Performance Information PM me if you need me...
Paseo15psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 06:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Roben's Photo Gallery
I'm still a noob. How do you check one of those fuses and how do you get the 30amp main and 100amp fuse?
Roben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 08:50 AM   #11 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Roben's Photo Gallery
EFI fuse blew...code reader wont connect unless engine is running.
Roben is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Tercel, Paseo, Starlet, and Sera Forum

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.