1993 toyota tercel engine swap, with a JDM honda motor - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Tercel, Paseo, Starlet, and Sera Forum Discussion area for Tercel, Paseo, Starlet, and Sera

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 06-24-2005, 11:56 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Muskego, Wi
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
1993 toyota tercel engine swap, with a JDM honda motor

i have a 1993 toyota tercel and its got the 1.5l, 12 valve, SOHC, engine code: 3E-E.
i was thinking about gettin either the JDM honda B16A g1, or the B18B g1, or the D15B, does anyone know if this is possible?
ckyhim630 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 06-25-2005, 01:33 AM
The Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
No.

But you do have some other options: http://www.phoenixtuning.com/

-Dr Tweak, Toyota engine swap wiring expert extraordinaire
Check out some of the swaps I've done at http://www.phoenixtuning.com/swaps.html
Dr Tweak is offline  
#3 Old 06-25-2005, 05:37 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Muskego, Wi
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
is it just that you'd have a hard time matching the axel up without doin come structural cutting or what?
ckyhim630 is offline  
#4 Old 06-25-2005, 06:26 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Muskego, Wi
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
will the 4age 20v fit in a 93 tercel? or just the 4age 16v or neither?
ckyhim630 is offline  
#5 Old 06-25-2005, 04:04 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
anything can fit with enough money

5EFHE Powered JDM Engine
dead 8/23/2005

september 7, 2005 got my new 06 Scion XA
dexter_5000 is offline  
#6 Old 06-25-2005, 05:15 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Muskego, Wi
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
will the 4aeg 10v. fit with little modification?
ckyhim630 is offline  
#7 Old 06-25-2005, 06:36 PM
The Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Woah, easy there bud. The 4AGE will fit with custom mounts, either the 20v or 16v will work.

As far as how to fit a Honda engine in there, I don't know for sure. But it would be safe to assume that you will need custom mounts, custom axles, have some wiring trouble, and possibly have to do some structual cutting and reinforcement. Then of course you have to ask if you want the a/c or power steering to work, and that's extra trouble. Other than that, yeah, it could work.

-Dr Tweak, Toyota engine swap wiring expert extraordinaire
Check out some of the swaps I've done at http://www.phoenixtuning.com/swaps.html
Dr Tweak is offline  
#8 Old 06-25-2005, 10:48 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Muskego, Wi
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
will a header from a 4A-ge 16 v. fit onthe 4A-ge 20 v.?
ckyhim630 is offline  
#9 Old 06-25-2005, 11:00 PM
The Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Yeap.

-Dr Tweak, Toyota engine swap wiring expert extraordinaire
Check out some of the swaps I've done at http://www.phoenixtuning.com/swaps.html
Dr Tweak is offline  
#10 Old 06-26-2005, 09:43 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Muskego, Wi
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
what car would these motors come stock in so i can find headers, and ECU chips and things of that nature
ckyhim630 is offline  
#11 Old 06-27-2005, 12:23 AM
The Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The 4AGE? They are found in the US in the '83-'90 Corolla GTS, and in in the Mk1 MR2, and in the JDM Corolla Levin all through the '90s.

-Dr Tweak, Toyota engine swap wiring expert extraordinaire
Check out some of the swaps I've done at http://www.phoenixtuning.com/swaps.html
Dr Tweak is offline  
#12 Old 06-27-2005, 10:59 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Muskego, Wi
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
if im usin my stock transmission for the 4AGE motor, all i would need to do is have someone do some custom fitting right?
ckyhim630 is offline  
#13 Old 06-27-2005, 06:56 PM
The Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Fitting for what? The engine mounts? Yes.

-Dr Tweak, Toyota engine swap wiring expert extraordinaire
Check out some of the swaps I've done at http://www.phoenixtuning.com/swaps.html
Dr Tweak is offline  
#14 Old 06-27-2005, 09:45 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Muskego, Wi
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
will the motor bold right on the tranny is what im asking
ckyhim630 is offline  
#15 Old 06-27-2005, 09:51 PM
The Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Use the 4AGE tranny.

-Dr Tweak, Toyota engine swap wiring expert extraordinaire
Check out some of the swaps I've done at http://www.phoenixtuning.com/swaps.html
Dr Tweak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Tercel, Paseo, Starlet, and Sera Forum

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome