Instrument panel lights not working after installed aftermarket Stereo Radio - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
T-100 Forum Discussion forum for the short-lived but extremely popular Toyota T-100 model.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 04-16-2011, 04:00 PM
New TN User

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Instrument panel lights not working after installed aftermarket Stereo Radio

Just wanted to say thank you to ToyotaNation, Autozone, Ray Brandt Toyota, and others, for helping me solve my problem.
Here's my story. This information may be laughable to anyone with a lot of experience. I am a novice and hope this information might help others like me.
My type vehicle (1997 Toyota T100) is not important because this information could help most anyone that has installed an after market radio Jensen MP1313, Metra AW WHTY2 stereo radio wiring harness
Problem: Dash instrument panel lights wouldn't work after installing an after market stereo radio.
BEFORE WORKING ON ANYTHING ELECTRICAL YOU SHOULD DISCONNECT THE BLACK/NEGATIVE CABLE FROM THE VEHICLE'S BATTERY.
Remove the trim around the old radio: On my truck, first move the cup holder to the out position. The trim is held on to the dash by clips. With a little pull of the trim away from the dash it popped right off.
Removed the old radio from the dash. Removed the truck wiring from the back of the radio (one is the antenna). The new radio slid into the old support so I didn't need to purchase a separate Stereo Installation Trim Kit. Matched up the color wire from the purchased Metra wiring harness to the Jansen supplied stereo radio wiring harness and use black electrical tape to connect.