Poor radio reception... - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
2nd Generation (2005+) Discussion area for the 2nd generation of the Toyota Tacoma

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 06-02-2006, 09:00 AM
Official TN Member
 
wiggum21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Poor radio reception...

I have brought this up before, but my Taco stock unit gets hideous radio reception. I live approx. 30 miles north of Boston and get maybe one station clearly. I just got the OK from the wife to go ahead with an aftermarket stereo/CD, one that is Sat ready, mp3 capable and ipod ready. My question is will a new stereo improve my reception, or do I need more power to the antenna, or a different antenna? I am not a huge car audio guy so please don't toast me. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks! I also did a search on this and came up with slim info.
wiggum21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 06-02-2006, 09:37 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NM
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 15
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Did you check to see if the antenna is actually plugged into the radio? Also could be a shorted, or broken antenna lead. Lastly could be a problem in the tuner. No radio gets that bad of reception unless the antenna's not plugged in or something. Good excuse to upgrade, but if there is a problem in the antenna, it will still be the same reception problems. Is your truck under warranty?

Last edited by olbus; 06-02-2006 at 09:38 AM.
olbus is offline  
#3 Old 06-02-2006, 11:17 AM
NJ Redneck
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
God! You're such an idot! Its a freakin radio!!! How hard could it be to tune it properly!?!?


....just kidding

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillBrasky
All my stuff is just for looks.
2005 DOUBLE CAB - TRD OFFROAD
jedi is offline  
#4 Old 06-02-2006, 12:26 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
You must have gotten one with a bad radio. I'm easily picking up stations from 30 miles away..I didn't even know they existed before!



2006 Tacoma 4x4 DoubleCab
SR5 package, JBL auto-dimming rear mirror, LSD, Pop 'n Lock tailgate lock, Lund screen grille, Undercover tonneau, USASpec, Westin tube steps
PDXJoe is offline  
#5 Old 06-02-2006, 12:54 PM
Official TN Member
 
wiggum21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
going to try and remove the radio today to check on the antenna connection. hope I don't blow up my dash in the process!!!!
wiggum21 is offline  
#6 Old 06-02-2006, 01:41 PM
Ran
^ Ugly
 
Ran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SLC
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiggum21
hope I don't blow up my dash in the process!!!!

'00 Acura Integra LS Sedan; GSR-swapped, taken to 9000RPM daily
'05 Toyota Tacoma V6
6MT TRD Off Road; my everywhere truck
Ran is offline  
#7 Old 06-02-2006, 01:42 PM
Official TN Member
 
wiggum21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
pulled out the radio.....antenna connection seems nice and snug....pulled it out and pushed placed it back just to make sure. Not sure what else might be the problem.

Anyone else install their own stereo with instructions from Crutchfield.......any comments appreciated. Thanks
wiggum21 is offline  
#8 Old 06-02-2006, 01:46 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
why dont you take it to the dealership?
Mochedda is offline  
#9 Old 06-02-2006, 01:54 PM
Official TN Member
 
wiggum21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mochedda
why dont you take it to the dealership?
I had planned on putting an aftermarket stereo in anyways for ipod and satellite features....having poor reception with the stock unit helps justify the purchase.
wiggum21 is offline  
#10 Old 06-02-2006, 02:17 PM
Row Dialin'
 
boone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Quahog, RI
Posts: 2,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Have you tried cleaning the outside antenna connection with some WD40. Unscrew it, shoot some WD in the mount and some on the base/screw end of the antenna. Tighten her back up. I used some loctite on mine to keep it from loosening up, which it was.

Worth a shot anyway.

I noticed that the stock antenna wasn't all that great. I get much better reception with the stubby AMI antenna, that is when I'm actually listening to the radio and not jamming to my iPod. I live in Rhode Island and I pick up most Boston stations without a flicker of static.

boone is offline  
#11 Old 06-02-2006, 02:28 PM
Official TN Member
 
wiggum21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by boone
Have you tried cleaning the outside antenna connection with some WD40. Unscrew it, shoot some WD in the mount and some on the base/screw end of the antenna. Tighten her back up. I used some loctite on mine to keep it from loosening up, which it was.

Worth a shot anyway.

I noticed that the stock antenna wasn't all that great. I get much better reception with the stubby AMI antenna, that is when I'm actually listening to the radio and not jamming to my iPod. I live in Rhode Island and I pick up most Boston stations without a flicker of static.
I'll give that a shot....the antenna is pretty snug though. Thanks!
wiggum21 is offline  
#12 Old 06-03-2006, 04:23 PM
Official TN Member
 
wiggum21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
wiggum21 is offline  
#13 Old 06-05-2006, 04:27 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Oak
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
i haven't had any reception problems with either the old '1 cd'
stock radio or the new system i installed a few weeks ago.

i am located about halfway between philadelphia and baltimore.
i can pick up fm stations from both.
i listen to some philly AM stations and haven't had any issues
(unless you count thunderstorms) with that. I've picked
philly AM stations up from 90+ miles away.

i was worried when i installed the new stereo system, but
the sheit worked out better than i expected.
onetimer is offline  
#14 Old 06-05-2006, 09:57 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NN VA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
My 06 prerunner has crappy reception also. I have never seen a radio so bad a picking up stations. I tried teaching it my best pick up lines but it just don't work.

Seriously, I plan to have the dealer take a look when I can get it in for a day or two. I traveled recently and there were areas that "scan" just went all the way around. I travel those roads from time to time and my Chevy, Honda, and BMW don't have any problems picking up stations and with good signal. I even adjusted it by hand to some that I know exist but couldn't get them till I was within 20 miles of em.

I may take a look at the cables/mounts etc but figure I at least need to hear the dealer say there is nothing wrong with it first. Of course here in town reception isn't too bad so they will deny there is a problem.
cyclotron is offline  
#15 Old 06-06-2006, 07:05 AM
Official TN Member
 
docktortal33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: lockport ny
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
mine is all good now great reption alpine head serious sat. in head greatness has been achived

Extang Black Max, Toy tube steps,Toy bug defl. , door sil protectors,Weather Tech liners,20% tint,Cobra 360 radar,fog light mod,Compu star remote start sirius radio, jl audio amp spk. alpine head MBRP dual catback FT 8900 ham radio
docktortal33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Tacoma Forum > 2nd Generation (2005+)

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome