"Fly-By-Wire" Throttle Lag - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
2nd Generation (2005+) Discussion area for the 2nd generation of the Toyota Tacoma

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 01-27-2008, 04:43 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Paradise ..... Hawaii
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
"Fly-By-Wire" Throttle Lag

Has anyone figured out how to eliminate the throttle response lag for the "Fly-By-Wire" throttles for the V6s?
mh808 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 01-27-2008, 04:57 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: columbia,sc
Posts: 709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
most who have installed an aftermarket cai, say they get better throttle responce. our stock intake is cool enough, but a bit rectrictive. and, it's probably only noticeable with manual trans...

'05 prerunner access trd sprt pkg1 w/tow & trd catback
yrffej is offline  
#3 Old 01-27-2008, 04:59 PM
Official TN Member
 
wonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ca
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
give it more gass lol. i never noticed any lag but i dont drive them on long trips just 3 mile test drives..

88 4Runner
wonger is offline  
#4 Old 01-27-2008, 05:14 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Paradise ..... Hawaii
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Yes, I have a 6spd manual and it is very noticeable. I was hoping there was a solution to this by now.
mh808 is offline  
#5 Old 01-27-2008, 05:55 PM
Man in Blue.
 
Ice|Burn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Central California
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Sadly there will ALWAYS be some lag no matter what you do. There is no direct linkage to the throttle any more. It's done by computer.

I'm going to miss driving my '84 pos, at least I knew what was going to happen when I pressed the throttle.
Ice|Burn is offline  
#6 Old 01-29-2008, 11:56 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Paradise ..... Hawaii
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
For everyone's information, I sent in a request to Toyota regarding the lag in the throttle response and got this a reply. I haven't tried it yet but thought I'd share it with everyone who wants to try it. Please, submit your results to this post if you do try this.

Here's what I got from Toyota:
The slight throttle lag you feel on your Tacoma is the engine computer
calculating throttle position for maximum performance and efficiency.
Currently Toyota does not have any TSB's out for the throttle lag. One
thing that may improve it some is to disconnect the battery for one
minute and drive the vehicle as you normally would for 50 miles. This
will pre program "learned" driving values into the computer and in some
instances improve the lag.
mh808 is offline  
#7 Old 01-30-2008, 12:25 AM
Taco, mmmmmmm!
 
Blackenedsrt-4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Alaska
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mh808 View Post
Has anyone figured out how to eliminate the throttle response lag for the "Fly-By-Wire" throttles for the V6s?
Are you refering to just throttle input lag or the lag before the truck hits it's powerband (3.5Kish).

I am not a fan of "fly by wire", Some MFG's are better than others...but it is the way of the future

06' Silver DC 4x4 V6 6spd TRD Off Road pkg
"When in combat, you will not rise to the occasion. Rather, you will fall to the level of your training."
Blackenedsrt-4 is offline  
#8 Old 01-30-2008, 04:21 AM
Don't be stupid you moron
 
Glk21c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MD
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The Tacoma is light years better than the Dakota's I had. I'd mash the pedal on those (02 and 06) and it was as though I was waiting for the hamster to get the wheel spinning faster before the trans would downshift to allow it to accelerate. They both had V8's too. Bordered on dangerous.

2007 Silver DC 4x4 TRD Sport#1

"No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms. The strongest reason for the people to retain the right to keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves against tyranny in government"
Thomas Jefferson
Glk21c is offline  
#9 Old 01-30-2008, 04:31 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise, id
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
who would own a dodge? just messin

06' 4x4, dbl cab, sport, auto, ltd slip, rev-tek 3" lift, aal's, 285/70 17's bfg all terrain, navigation avn6600, alpine speakers, 12" pioneer flat sub, billet grills 3, K&N intake, flowmaster. 07' ktm Super Enduro (105hp)
wingysataday is offline  
#10 Old 01-30-2008, 05:33 AM
Official TN Member
 
45longcolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: DFW
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
We just need to install some of those new bio-neural gell packs to increase response time from the computer. Coming to a store near you......
45longcolt is offline  
#11 Old 01-30-2008, 05:45 AM
Powder Seeker
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Guelph, ON
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
You know, I don't think I have ever noticed this. Come to think about it, I remember telling myself I though that vehicle was quick to respond when I need to pass or takign off from a red light. Than again it seems I can't help but love my Tacoma (or I did before it was stolen) so perhaps I am biased

Bike - Hike - Ski
2008 TRD Sport Double Cab 4x4 - Pearl Black
Dcaplan is offline  
#12 Old 01-30-2008, 06:08 AM
One with the force
 
Janster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Landisville, PA
Posts: 1,495
Blog Entries: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingysataday View Post
who would own a dodge? just messin
Funny you mention that....

I had a Dodge Ram that also had the throttle by wire. It had LAG also.....
I think all vehicles with this system have lag. With a 5.7L V8 and you step on the gas hard - you EXPECT TO GO SOMEWHERE immediately.... Some days it'd be good and other days (when you especially needed it), it'd lag big time. Besides that, you'd press the pedal down a good 1 inch or more and nothing would happen - then suddenly it'd kick in with what I would consider, too much gas. It wasn't sensitive enough.

The Dodge was nice that you could relearn/recalibrate (in the computer) the position (the *throw*) of the gas pedal. Technically - you'd just put the key into the ON position, step on the gas pedal to the floor and hold for 5 seconds and turn then back to OFF.

I used to play with the calibration and see what would happen. I'd only press the pedal halfway or less (giving it less *throw*). This made the pedal more sensitive as the throw was much shorter. It also helped with throttle lag. For towing and other long distance stuff - I'd always put it back to normal.

Makes me wonder if you can recalibrate the Toyota pedal or not??? I haven't seen or heard anything about it.....
Wonder if its worth a call to a dealer and talk to a master tech....

Last edited by Janster; 01-30-2008 at 06:10 AM.
Janster is offline  
#13 Old 01-30-2008, 08:06 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: al
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I didn't really notice the lag ('07 2.7) until this thread popped up and I tried it. Sure enough, there is a slight lag. Can't say as it bothers me though. I've gotten used to the lag in all my vehicles (Ford, Honda, etc.). If I anticipate needing to get a good jump, I'll floor it a bit (1/2 second or so) early with my other foot firmly on the brake. Then get off the brake when it's time.
lbart is offline  
#14 Old 01-30-2008, 08:57 AM
Got Snow?
 
05Moose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In the snow (NorCal)
Posts: 7,667
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Thanks: 435
Thanked 1,031 Times in 812 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Jeez, I don't know what lag you're talking about! All of you have a manual tranny? Our Highlander has a big lag (and I remember my parents' '85 Camry had a lag which had nothing to do with drive-by-wire!), but my truck has no lag whatsoever.


'05 4x4 DC LB SR5 (LSD & Tow Pkg), Timbrens, AAL, 5100s, 12/3/04
Mods: Fog, Map/Dome Light, Illuminated 4wd Selector Switch,
DIY Washable Cabin Air Filter (Moose Filter Mod) | & 2010 Highlander 4WD
05Moose is online now  
#15 Old 01-30-2008, 09:41 AM
One with the force
 
Janster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Landisville, PA
Posts: 1,495
Blog Entries: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 05Moose View Post
Jeez, I don't know what lag you're talking about! All of you have a manual tranny? Our Highlander has a big lag (and I remember my parents' '85 Camry had a lag which had nothing to do with drive-by-wire!), but my truck has no lag whatsoever.
Stomp on the gas (hard) and see how long it takes to respond.

I have an Auto. This winter with the colder air - it hasn't been as noticable. It's been pretty responsive. I kinda got used to it and it doesn't bother me. Unless of course, I NEED to step on the gas to move quickly in traffic...then, I notice it.

So perhaps the lag has to do with the computer compensating too slowly for certain conditions....Just guessing. Why else would the lag be less noticable in the winter ? Or my truck is just weird...
Janster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Tacoma Forum > 2nd Generation (2005+)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome