Slip Indicator and Check Engine light - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
2nd Generation (2005+) Discussion area for the 2nd generation of the Toyota Tacoma

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 01-21-2009, 06:04 PM
OIF Vet
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: GA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Slip Indicator and Check Engine light

Ok guys, time for a quiz.

I just filled my 09 Taco up with fuel. I closed the gas cap until I heard the click. When I started the taco up the the Slip indicator and the Check Engine light came on.

They did not go out, they stayed on. The truck is less than 1 month old with only 1100 miles on it. I was on my way to the dealer anyway to get an extension on my tag since they did not apply for the title in a timely manner. I dropped by the service department to have them take a look at it.

They ran it on the computer and it came back with 2 codes. I forgot what the numbers were, but he say it stood for:
1) O2 sensor issue
2) Air max flow (or something like that)

My question to you all, is what could cause that? Should I be worried? They cleared the codes for me and told me that it is probable ok, but to bring it back if the lights come back on.

Let me know what you think
Liquidity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 01-21-2009, 06:11 PM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: PNW
Posts: 6,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The ECU may be programmed to turn off any traction control devices when the CEL comes on to minimize engine load.

If the lights return have the dealer investigate.
toyomoho is offline  
#3 Old 01-22-2009, 07:31 AM
Official TN Member
 
wjdunn3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NE Atlanta Area
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Well, codes don't get set for no reason. Just clearing the codes and sending you on your way seems a little lame on the Service Departments part.

Have you done any intake mods or replaced the air filter lately? I would check the entire air intake for leaks.. Check attached vacuum hoses to see if any are loose or not connected.... and check the MAF connector.

Have you done any other under hood or under car work that could have disconnected a sensor or compromised wiring?

2005 Tacoma Pre-Runner Dbl Cab, Long Bed, TRD Sport Pkg. Silver Streak.
wjdunn3 is offline  
#4 Old 01-22-2009, 09:54 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 43 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Your info is a little vague, but those two sensors don't often code at the same time so I see where the dealer is confused. My best guess is an ECM glitch during startup, maybe a voltage spike or something, set the codes. Then if they don't come back you're fine. If the dealer is guessing the same thing that would be consistent with their instructions.

Normally there is freeze frame data along with the codes, and that would help pinpoint a cause. If it comes back, they can still make progress in diagnosis, all is not lost.

Also I think toyomoho is right about the slip indicator.
TurDonor is offline  
#5 Old 01-22-2009, 10:32 AM
Senior TN Member
 
Chalkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I had the CEL come on right after refueling once. Turned out it was a little nick in the o-ring on the gas cap causing it not to seal properly. Can't remember what the code was. Makes me wonder though. Have you checked your gas cap?

You know you live in Colorado if you know where the real 'South Park' is.
Chalkie is offline  
#6 Old 01-22-2009, 11:42 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 43 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I think that one is usually an evaporative emission system code like P0456 or something.
TurDonor is offline  
#7 Old 01-22-2009, 12:04 PM
Wishin I was Fishin
 
Dark Taco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Where Ever I May Roam
Posts: 3,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 21
Thanked 96 Times in 95 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
If it/they come on again. Take it to a different dealer.
Dark Taco is offline  
#8 Old 01-22-2009, 12:04 PM
OIF Vet
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: GA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Chalkie - Funny you should say that. The dealer said the same thing before checking the codes. The gas cap was on securely. There were no mods to the intake or any air element. The fog light mod was accomplished, but it ran fine with numerous start ups.. These lights came on right after fuel up.
Liquidity is offline  
#9 Old 01-22-2009, 12:05 PM
OIF Vet
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: GA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Taco View Post
If it/they come on again. Take it to a different dealer.
Roger that
Liquidity is offline  
#10 Old 01-22-2009, 12:05 PM
Custom User
 
Tacofornia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Damn! Just got myself an '09. Hope I won't have to go through all this. Only time will tell.
Glad the dealer took care of it for you.
Too many sensors ftl!

'02 RC
'12 DCSB 5-lug
Tacofornia is offline  
#11 Old 01-22-2009, 01:56 PM
Got Snow?
 
05Moose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In the snow (NorCal)
Posts: 7,661
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Thanks: 435
Thanked 1,031 Times in 812 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Just to be clear on something you said (and it may have nothing to do with the codes), when putting the gas cap on you need to turn it far enough that it clicks several times, not just once.


'05 4x4 DC LB SR5 (LSD & Tow Pkg), Timbrens, AAL, 5100s, 12/3/04
Mods: Fog, Map/Dome Light, Illuminated 4wd Selector Switch,
DIY Washable Cabin Air Filter (Moose Filter Mod) | & 2010 Highlander 4WD
05Moose is offline  
#12 Old 01-22-2009, 03:09 PM
OIF Vet
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: GA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Moose - correct. I turn it all the way. It was not the gas cap. Thanks though
Liquidity is offline  
#13 Old 01-22-2009, 10:11 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
On my 2009 the gas cap only clicks once. I have 3500 on mine with no problems.

I have had really crappy gas (or adding heat or injector cleaner) turn on the CEL on other vehicles.

Make sure you're running top-tier gas. (Google top-tier gas for list of brands).

Just ideas.
donb01 is offline  
#14 Old 08-26-2009, 08:34 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Did the problem ever occur again? Did you have to go to another dealer? I just had the same problem. Thinking about resetting my light. Happened 150 miles after my last fuel up so I don't think its the gas cap.

Of course, after a 14 hour work day too, just when I'm in the mood to see the check engine light.
FunkyTaco is offline  
#15 Old 03-27-2012, 03:30 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Hello, I am new to TN and normally post on TacomaWorld. I have a similar issue, in that, the engine check and slip indicator lights are on. I know the problem with the engine check light has to do with evap and is related to an issue with my gas cap. Does anyone know why the slip indicator would come on along with the engine check light. I clear the codes and that lasts 3-4 days and the lights come back on simultaneously. It occurred initially while driving in a heavy downpour near my home in Austin, Tx.
Tacoman82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Tacoma Forum > 2nd Generation (2005+)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome