Can dealer re-calibrate speedometer? - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
2nd Generation (2005+) Discussion area for the 2nd generation of the Toyota Tacoma

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 07-25-2009, 09:39 AM
Official TN Member
 
smithjesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chapman, KS
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Can dealer re-calibrate speedometer?

I have done much searching and can't get an answer. If I put on larger tire can the dealer re-calibrate my speedometer so that it will be accurate if I put on larger tires.

Thanks,
Jesse
smithjesse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 07-25-2009, 10:31 AM
כל הכבוד לצהל
 
Holling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Google is your friend my friend.
6380 Google Hits
You can also call your dealer and ask.
You can look up Speedometer in the yellow pages and find shops that do nothing but RECALIBRATE speedometers and tachometers.
Sorry for the sarcasm, I hate laziness.
Now drop and give me 50.............

Holling
--------------------
2007 Sequoia Limited
2008 Tacoma Double Cab TRD 4x4
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒE
Holling is offline  
#3 Old 07-25-2009, 10:45 AM
Senior TN Member
 
dl1027's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Recalibrating the speedometer only fixes half of it. There is also lost torque but may be a gain in highway mpg because of lower rpms. If you regear it will correct everything.

'07 Tacoma Silver DC PR SB SR5 V6 AT TP LSD
dl1027 is offline  
#4 Old 07-25-2009, 12:16 PM
One with the force
 
yosh2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dl1027 View Post
If you regear it will correct everything.
if you find a third from a previous gen tacoma (4.10 ratio) you will get back to stock cheaply!

Want LEDs swapped in your cluster in Denver (or anywhere for that matter!), see here!

Want an OEM HID retrofit (no PNP crap!), see here!
yosh2000 is offline  
#5 Old 07-25-2009, 02:09 PM
Official TN Member
 
smithjesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chapman, KS
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Still haven't answered my question. Can a Toyota dealership re-calibrate your speedometer? I know all about horse power/torque loss and rear end ratios. I just want to know if I get bigger tires I can easily take it to the dealership and have it re-calibrated. If not I will just stay with stock size. I want to go to 265/75/r16 from 265/70/r16.

Last edited by smithjesse; 07-25-2009 at 02:12 PM.
smithjesse is offline  
#6 Old 07-25-2009, 02:24 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cold & miserable
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
My guess is no as I've spoke to others who have confronted their dealers about this and received a "deer in the headlights" look in return. That said several companies make converters to make the change and perhaps places like M&R in Saginaw, MI could flash the computer to make the change you need. Good Luck,
Motoretro

Quote:
Originally Posted by smithjesse View Post
Still haven't answered my question. Can a Toyota dealership re-calibrate your speedometer? I know all about horse power/torque loss and rear end ratios. I just want to know if I get bigger tires I can easily take it to the dealership and have it re-calibrated. If not I will just stay with stock size. I want to go to 265/75/r16 from 265/70/r16.
motoretro is offline  
#7 Old 07-25-2009, 04:48 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 53 Times in 51 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
As far as I know, there's nothing for the dealer to adjust. Toyota calibrates the speedo using an average of all of the wheel/tire sizes available for a given model, and they feel that's close enough. The tolerance given in the service manual is quite broad before Toyota advises replacement of the combination meter.

The speedo specialists use other techniques that aren't specific to the manufacturer.

2013 Highlander Limited
2009 Tacoma DC SB TRD Sport 4x4
Retired: 2000 Tacoma Xtra Cab V6 TRD Off Road 4x4
toto is offline  
#8 Old 07-25-2009, 04:58 PM
One with the force
 
yosh2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by smithjesse View Post
Still haven't answered my question. Can a Toyota dealership re-calibrate your speedometer? I just want to know if I get bigger tires I can easily take it to the dealership and have it re-calibrated. I want to go to 265/75/r16 from 265/70/r16.
ok....no, they cannot.

if your just going up from a 70 to 75 series tire you will be fine. thats only a ~3% difference. from what i recall, the speedos have a 3% tolerance anyways, so you'll be fine.

hope that answers your question...

Want LEDs swapped in your cluster in Denver (or anywhere for that matter!), see here!

Want an OEM HID retrofit (no PNP crap!), see here!
yosh2000 is offline  
#9 Old 07-25-2009, 07:00 PM
Official TN Member
 
smithjesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chapman, KS
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Thanks for the help
smithjesse is offline  
#10 Old 07-25-2009, 09:37 PM
Got Snow?
 
05Moose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In the snow (NorCal)
Posts: 7,495
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Thanks: 422
Thanked 995 Times in 785 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Geez, no one really told you, but our speedo's read 4 mph fast at highway speeds (speedo reads 69 when doing 65). Going from the stock tire size of 265/70 up to a 265/75 will make your speedo accurate. Others here will confirm. Or just search speedo error and read all the threads.

You can confirm the error yourself by comparing to a vehicle you know is accurate (this is how I first discovered the error) or check it against the roadside radars (and this confirmed mine).


'05 4x4 DC LB SR5 (LSD & Tow Pkg), Timbrens, AAL, 5100s, 12/3/04
Mods: Fog, Map/Dome Light, Illuminated 4wd Selector Switch,
DIY Washable Cabin Air Filter (Moose Filter Mod) | & 2010 Highlander 4WD

Last edited by 05Moose; 07-29-2009 at 12:25 PM.
05Moose is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 05Moose For This Useful Post:
289er (01-28-2013)
#11 Old 07-26-2009, 07:50 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
www.1010tires.com will give you the exact speedo error for any tire size change you select. It's really great! What I would like to find out is if Toyota/Dealerships can or will deny warranty coverage for anything that could be remotely connected to the change in tire/wheel size. If they do, I would bet there have been hundreds of denied claims because so many Tacoma owners have done some pretty radical tire/wheel size changes. Anyone have any first hand experience with Toyota denying coverage?
Eagle1 is offline  
#12 Old 07-27-2009, 02:35 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Fort McMoney
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
muisejt is offline  
#13 Old 07-27-2009, 10:28 AM
One with the force
 
yosh2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 5 reviews
have you actually installed this on your truck? i am under the impression from my research on the boards that this programmer does not work on our tacomas?

if it indeed does, please let us know!

Want LEDs swapped in your cluster in Denver (or anywhere for that matter!), see here!

Want an OEM HID retrofit (no PNP crap!), see here!

Last edited by yosh2000; 07-27-2009 at 10:29 AM.
yosh2000 is offline  
#14 Old 07-27-2009, 11:19 AM
p00pernickel
 
Krookz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The dealer's cannot re-calibrate the spedo's. Re-gearing will not correct it either, except with 1 exception... read below

Remember the speed is picked up off the ABS from each tire, and averaged together by the ECU. Re-gearing wont change how fast your wheel spins. The ONLY exception to this, is the MT's with the worm gears in the tranny, the speed is picked up there and not at the wheel's sensors. If you have one of these, you can also change the gear size by pulling out the sensor(1 bolt) and putting in a different size gear.


Last edited by Krookz; 07-27-2009 at 11:20 AM.
Krookz is offline  
#15 Old 07-29-2009, 11:56 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winnemucca, NV
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Speedo OK one size up

I went up one size (For TRD package), to 265/75 16; using a GPS, my speedometer is now pretty much dead on, at all speeds. GPS units are so prevalent these days, everybody should be using one if only to check their speedo at a variety of speeds. Handy to know how fast you're really going!!

Check your speedo now; if you're a bit low, you should be good to go for the upgrade in size.
Black Rock Taco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Tacoma Forum > 2nd Generation (2005+)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome