Navigation Bypass - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Hybrid Forum > Toyota Highlander Hybrid

Toyota Highlander Hybrid The first hybrid SUV from Toyota. The Highlander hybrid!

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2007, 12:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View doc4ring's Photo Gallery
USA Navigation Bypass

I have searched though this forum and was wondering if anyone had any new information. We just bought my wife a 2007 Highlander Hybrid Limited. She really like the vehicle but is annoyed by the navigation system. We use to use a portable Garmin GPS sytem that would let you input destinations etc while moving in our old car. It certainly wasn't a safety issue to have the front seat passenger use the GPS while moving. A lot of times we would be on the road and use the GPS to locate the nearest restaurant, fuel etc. Having to stop on the highway to use the GPS is quite a hassle.

Anyway, does anyone know of a way to bypass that disable feature? I have read of a way on the prius but it does not seem to apply to the highlander. Is the Lockpick product the only solution?

Thanks.
doc4ring is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-08-2007, 10:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
OurayMotorsports
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ouray, CO
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View mineralfarmer's Photo Gallery
navigation bypass

Other than the manual override sequence of many button pushes, the Lockpick is the only known option. Lockpick is a fairly elegant solution and we use one on our '06 and are very pleased.

Note, however, that what the lockpick does is to automatically perform the manual override sequence of button-pushes described elsewhere in this forum. With Lockpick, all you have to do is perform one button push to activate it and then wait and watch while it magically and rapidly goes through a sequence of half-a-dozen screens, but you must do so each time the car is started from being turned off. We have not found this to be a probelm at all, and are very glad to have the lockpick, because the sequence of button pushes is otherwise long and complex. And , of course, the GPS system is practically useless if you can't program it on the move. Being Garmin users also, we are particularly pleased with the functionality of the Toyota system once it is "unlocked."

Regarding the various Lockpick options, we got the Ultimate Lockpick with the reverse-camera hookup option (we do not have a reverse camera and the back of the car is usually coated black with road grime so we probably never will have a reverse camera). It also allows you to hook up ANY AV source with RCA jacks (we use it for our iPods). I would recommend against the reverse-camera option because each time you put the car in reverse, the sound is muted and when you put the car back into drive, the sound source reverts to the last audio source you used OTHER THAN THE "DISC/DVD/AUX" source. In other words, if you were playing your iPOd throguh the DISC (aux) input and you back up in a parking lot, when you pout it in forward you suddenly get a BLAST (because the level is much higher) of radio sound and it scares the bejeepers out of you!

Otherwise, we love the Lockpick.
mineralfarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 04:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View njb13579's Photo Gallery
I am not sure if lockpick works for the 2007 Highlander Hybrid. The web site documentation is conflicting. I've emailed them twice with no response. If anyone has any better luck or experience with the 2007, please reply.
Thanks
njb13579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 03:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Needham, MA
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View pettifog's Photo Gallery
Bypass 2008 Highlander Hybrid GPS

Has anyone had any experience/luck with bypassing the limitations on the GPS in the 2008 Highlander Hybrid? Where do I go to research Lockpick?
pettifog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 07:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
TMS Prius Expert
 
Tideland Prius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,352
Thanks: 71
Thanked 45 Times in 35 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Tideland Prius's Photo Gallery
clublexus has a lotta owners using the lockpick.
__________________
2010 Prius Technology Package (Cdn)
OEM Cargo Mat, OEM All-Weather Mat, LED ext/int lights, 5000K HID, OEM Fogs, Euro Mudguards
Tideland Prius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 03:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View jaredjo's Photo Gallery
Lockpick

Hi there - some time back I emailed them about the Lockpick for the 07 HH and the answer came back no, not yet. I have been checking the website regularly to see if they've added it, but sadly, they have not. I just want to bypass "I agree"!
jaredjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 11:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Dang1's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaredjo View Post
I just want to bypass "I agree"!

Update to version 7.1 of the map disk. The "I agree" button is gone. (Still can't enter while driving though...)

Later!

Dang
Dang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 03:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View jaredjo's Photo Gallery
New DVD for Nav system

And how does one go about getting this new DVD? I called my dealership and they passed me around from parts to sales to service and no one had a clue.
jaredjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 08:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
OurayMotorsports
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ouray, CO
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View mineralfarmer's Photo Gallery
I will have to run mine and write down the sequence the lockpick goes through if possible. It starts on the Destination screen by poking the target in the upper left corner. (I couldn't reply to your private message because you have receipt of private messages blocked.)

I did find the following sequences in some materials I printed out in late 2005, but I have not tried these myself, so great caution is advised:

1) Push Menu button
2) Tap VOLUME soft key (or VOICE key according to another source)
3) Tap top left by speaker icon
4) Tap bottom left
5) Tap top left
6) Tap bottom left
7) See service menu
8) Press and hold OVERRIDE until it beeps and is highlighted

Steps 3-6 must be done in rapid sequence.
Has to be redone each time car is restarted.
Don't mess with any other buttons or settings.
mineralfarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 11:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Needham, MA
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View pettifog's Photo Gallery
Hi! Sorry about the private message block -- I've fixed that. I'm afraid to try the sequence you gave me, given your cautionary note. I would appreciate knowing the sequence you have, but there's no rush. You think it'll work on the 2008 model? Thanks for your help.
pettifog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 10:41 AM   #11 (permalink)
OurayMotorsports
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ouray, CO
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View mineralfarmer's Photo Gallery
The Lockpick appears to go through the sequence as described in my previous message.
mineralfarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 10:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Needham, MA
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View pettifog's Photo Gallery
I really appreciate you're taking the time. One more question: What's the worst that can happen if the sequence is done incorrectly?
pettifog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 09:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
OurayMotorsports
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ouray, CO
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View mineralfarmer's Photo Gallery
Beats me. Probably nothing. I think it's important not to mess with stuff in the service menu other than the override button.
mineralfarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 07:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: California
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View hihyho's Photo Gallery
Thumbs up

I went ahead and tried the below sequences on my 2006 HiHy. They absolutely work and are easy to do.

The original poster is correct: the over-ride only works while the key is in the ignition, then must be done again when restarted.

I may buy the LockPick, but this is cool for now. Thanks!

1) Push Menu button
2) Tap VOLUME soft key (or VOICE key according to another source)
3) Tap top left by speaker icon
4) Tap bottom left
5) Tap top left
6) Tap bottom left
7) See service menu
8) Press and hold OVERRIDE until it beeps and is highlighted

Steps 3-6 must be done in rapid sequence.
__________________

2006 HiHy Limited
hihyho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 10:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
New TN User
 
gbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View gbaum's Photo Gallery
Will this work in the 2008 Highlander also ?
gbaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Hybrid Forum > Toyota Highlander Hybrid

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
98 camry radio install/amp bypass dontbesojumpy 3rd & 4th Generation (19921996 & 19972001) 15 06-30-2012 02:59 PM
2007 Camry Navigation Override pillpusher84 5th & 6th Generation (2002-2006 & 2007-2011) 8 08-27-2009 01:23 PM
Navigation lockout eredleaf 2nd Generation (2004-2010) 3 10-14-2006 12:45 PM
Navigation system w/ motorized display sourornage Audio, Video, and Security - Tech 3 05-27-2005 05:16 PM
Add Video to Factory Navigation for $700 vsokolov Audio, Video, and Security - Tech 0 04-07-2004 10:44 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.