Stalling when put into gear... - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums

Tundra 1st Generation (2000–2006) Looking for dedicated discussion for the 1st Generation of the Toyota Tundra? This forum is the place for you.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 07-01-2014, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: texas
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Stalling when put into gear...

I have a 2001 toyota tundra, 4.7 engine, two wheel drive.

It was just fine ... then one day I pulled up to a stop light and it stalled out like a standard transmission does if you dont push in the clutch. I shifted into park and started it up and shifted into drive and it stalled again. I had to put it into neutral and drop it into first gear to get the truck moving and back to the house. Ran fine until I pulled into the driveway where I slowed enough that first gear choked and it stalled again.

Ive researched many pages.. what ive tried :
1. Put in new torque converter. .. no change
2. Put it in neutral and rev upto 5-6k... no change
3. Put in new lockup shift solenoid. .. no change
4. Check continuity between tranny socket and clips for solenoids.. all good
5. Obviously I have changed the fluids more than once..

I am out of ideas and figured I would reach out for help as im feeling extreamly discouraged.
Any help would be greatly appreciated
Fuzzoro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-01-2014, 10:46 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: texas
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Ok so pulled the plugs on the ECM computer and checked the continuity between the trann socket and ECM socket.... checks out good....

Im going to get a new ECM unless someone has a better idea.
Fuzzoro is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-02-2014, 08:40 AM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: texas
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
ok.. from what ive been reading, Changing out the ECM is a no go as i would need to have it reprogramed for the VIN on the truck....

Out of ideas... Anyone got any?

There was no metal in my oil pan when I dropped the pan the first time.. the magnets had a little fluff on them but that was it.
Fuzzoro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 02-12-2017, 08:00 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
did you ever figure out what the problem was?
Logan Planchard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Tundra Forum > Tundra 1st Generation (2000–2006)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
Ť Back