DIY TPMS Programming - Tool to Program your Own TPMS Sensors - Toyota Scion Honda - Page 2 - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
General Discussion General discussion of basically anything automotive-related.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#16 Old 01-17-2010, 06:40 PM
Do you feel lucky?
 
TrailDust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kalifornication
Posts: 24,119
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Thanks: 2,597
Thanked 4,865 Times in 3,387 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by trextor View Post

Anyways - bottom line is that the OP's instructions are excellent.
Luck123 is well appreciated on the Highlander forums, he's a good guy!

BTW, to Toyota Nation! Glad to see the forums were helpful to you.

-------------------------


2008 Highlander Base 4WD
2002 Avalon XL
1987 Suzuki Samurai 4X4 - Treading where no Jeep can follow....
TrailDust is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#17 Old 01-17-2010, 08:28 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: northern california
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by trextor View Post
Anyways, I just put in the id codes in the logical order (left to right) and followed the rest of the instructions. The uploaded values worked.

Now, I'd like to think I randomly guessed the right spot for each value but it's probably more likely that the system detects problems based on the absence of a sensor ID. So it's possible that if there were a problem, it would be reported against the wrong tire. But since the only feedback I receive as a driver is the low pressure monitor or the tpms warning, there's no issue.
The Avalon's don't care about tire position as you discovered. The system simply monitors the pressure of five sensors regardless of the location of the sensors.

I got my Quickset to work finally after one setback. Three of the sensor ID's given to me by the dealer were not working. In other words, the Quickset software would not accept the ID numbers. They contained either an "S" or a "U" with are invalid letters for sensor ID's. I contacted Ateq tech support to find this out and they were very helpful. I went back to the dealer and they looked into their archives and found that the person that typed up the info on an invoice had misread the tech's handwriting (which was pretty sloppy). After using "5"s for the "S"s and "0"s for the "U"s, it all worked. This may help if anyone else has this kind of problem and kudos to Ateq tech support for their help.

2008 Avalon
1983 Toyota 4X4 pickup
2000 Dodge Ram 4X4
1979 Harley
roysleight is offline  
#18 Old 01-18-2010, 04:44 AM
Diehard Rams Fan
 
SuperchargedMR2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 15,400
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Thanks: 631
Thanked 1,051 Times in 939 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
This tool is just what I've been looking for! I've been driving around with the warning light on when my winter wheels are installed. Have they come out the the MAC version yet?

89 Supercharged White MR2 MT/09 Corolla S CSM MT/08 Yaris HB MT
94 Corolla DX Red MT/95 Previa S/C White AT/
07 Corolla CE CSM MT/10 Prius III Blizzard Pearl

SuperchargedMR2 is offline  
#19 Old 01-19-2010, 06:09 AM
New TN User
 
Sequoia Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: California
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Help! I have been studying this issue for some weeks now and ater reading this post as well as many others on other sites, I bought the Quickset tool. Mine is an 08 Sequoia, and my issue is that once the software installed, I had to do some fanangling to get the driver to install correctly, (I think,) and then proceeded to the steps to download the IDs from the ECU. I got the steady red light instead of the steady green one that I was expecting. I tried a trick I figured out from trying my hand at an OTC scan tool at the tire shop where I bought my winter tires. I bought used steel Tundra rims, bought another set of TRW sensors and mounted them into the rims myself. I actually wrote the the IDs on the inside of the rims for absolute safety. The owner of the tiree shop allowed me to play with his OTC scan tool since he could never get it to work. It's menu asks you for the make of vehicle, the model, and the year. Then directs you to point at the sensor. Nothing. I then tried instead of selecting Sequoia from the menu, Tundra, 20 degree. Instant success! The OTC tool returned the IDs, which were correct, and the pressure in the tires, so I know that the sensors are activated. I used this trick to try to fool the Quickset tool. Still I get the red light. I tried every model that the charts claim have the potential to run the TRW sensors. Same red light. My guess is that the protocol for the TRW sensors is not included in the Quickset software since there are not to many models that have them.
First question: Do the Pacific sensors broadcast the same protocol and frequency as the TRWs? I would suspect that if they don't, then when you get a different option for different rims from the factory, you then must replace the ECU??? That doesn't make sense to me. I would think Toyota would have the same ECU protocols in all Sequoia models of a particular year, regardless of wheel options, however, we know that 2 different sensor maufacturers are listed for 07, and 08. If not, as in they protocols are in fact different, then the next question would be, perhaps Ateq has not yet written the code for the TRW sensors since they are not wide spread in the industry? I called Ateq support line and the tech there could not answer that question. Further, he would not connect me to any of the engineers in regards to this issue. He claimed that I need tosend the tool back to check it for malfunction. I am doing that, just to be sure, however, I suspect it works, and there is something missing here.
As you have dealt directly with Ateq, who do I contact there to get these answers? How do I reach that person? Anything else you can help with would be great. I am on the road now in Colorado and have just swapped out my summer tires for my winters. Would love to be able to turn off that light!!! Dealership wants 25 bucks for that task. He is the cheap one. My dealership wants 109 bucks. I bought the tool because I suspected that it would pay for itself after using it thrice....Thanks in advance...
Sequoia Nut is offline  
#20 Old 01-20-2010, 06:47 PM
Official TN Member
 
luck123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Around the 45th Parallel
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 33 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
You're welcome.

However, I am having some difficulties with my TPMS. I am starting to think that it might be the ATEQ tool, although I can be sure.

My summers are being stored up in my garage, about 10 feet from my Highlander. Most of my trips are under 10 miles to work and around town. TPMS light on dash stays off. On the weekend when we go skiing, or when I travel more than 40-60 miles, my TPMS light will come on my dash. Get home, park my HL, and next day, light is gone. I started to think that perhaps the TPMS in my HL is recognizing the sensors in my summer wheels and then turning the dash light off.

But, ATEQ told me that the ECU would only recognize the sensors programmed into it at the time, ie. the winter wheels. This led me to think that perhaps something funky is going on with the tool and perhaps it is NOT programming the winter IDs as it should.

So, as a test, I programmed my summers back into the vehicles ECU. Guess what? Behaving exactly as before. TPMS light is staying off with my short trips, even though I still have my winters on. I guess the TPMS needs a predetermined amount of time/distance before it triggers the dash light. I have not traveled more than 40-60 miles yet to test if light comes on. That will happen this weekend. If the light comes on, then my gut tells me that the fault is with the tool....it is not programming the winter sensors, even though everything suggests it should have.

Will update as soon as I have more.

Former owner of 09 HL Sport, loaded Cdn version.



luck123 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to luck123 For This Useful Post:
TrailDust (01-21-2010)
#21 Old 01-20-2010, 09:27 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: northern california
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I think your owner's manual says the vehicle must be driven around 20 miles before the TPMS light will come on. That might explain why the short 10 mile trips to work don't do it. Can you move your summer tires to another location farther away to take them out of the equation?

2008 Avalon
1983 Toyota 4X4 pickup
2000 Dodge Ram 4X4
1979 Harley
roysleight is offline  
#22 Old 01-21-2010, 12:52 AM
Diehard Rams Fan
 
SuperchargedMR2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 15,400
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Thanks: 631
Thanked 1,051 Times in 939 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by roysleight View Post
I think your owner's manual says the vehicle must be driven around 20 miles before the TPMS light will come on. That might explain why the short 10 mile trips to work don't do it. Can you move your summer tires to another location farther away to take them out of the equation?
My light came on right away in my 09 Corolla whhen I had my winter tires installed. In fact, the light in on now & I have the sensors in my trunk because I'm waiting for my summer wheels that I ordered to arrive in the next few weeks. I'll have them installed in my new wheels at that time. It is interesting to me though that my light comes on with them in my trunk.

I like the system on my 07 Matrix as there is no sensor in the wheel, only the hub. When I installed my winter wheels on that car the TPMS system still works great!

89 Supercharged White MR2 MT/09 Corolla S CSM MT/08 Yaris HB MT
94 Corolla DX Red MT/95 Previa S/C White AT/
07 Corolla CE CSM MT/10 Prius III Blizzard Pearl

SuperchargedMR2 is offline  
#23 Old 01-21-2010, 04:20 AM
New TN User
 
Sequoia Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: California
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Well I have more to report about this. I put my winter rims on, even though I didn't program their IDs into the ECU. The light didn't come on at first, then on the second restart of the engine, it flashed, then went off. I drove the car about 8 miles. No light. I drove it today as well, more than that, but, as Luck would have it, (scuse the pun 123,) I returned home to my RV trailer where my summer tires are stored under. I am now suspecting that the summer sensors are being read by the ECU when I am around the trailer, therefore fooling the ECU? I have an appointment with the dealer tomorrow as this dealer only charges 25 bucks to program the sensor's IDs into the ECU, HOWEVER, I want the ATEQ tool to work. I got a reply from one of sales reps, and the tech in Michigan. who wants me to return the tool. The other rep emailed my new software, however it is older version and didn't change anything. He wanted to know if there was a spare tire under the car and if it has a sensor. I relatedd that I didn't think so as it has rubber valve stems. Jim, (sales rep for Ateq thinks it is about the spare. The dealer tech claims there is one in the spare tire even though it is not mounted upon the steel rim. I have an appointment with this dealer tech as the one where I live didn't know that much about the TPMS system, however this one here in COlorado DID deem to know much about it. I'll post what I find out.......
Thanks all for trying to make this tool happen. I believe it will be successful when it gets off the ground floor...
Sequoia Nut is offline  
#24 Old 01-21-2010, 11:39 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: northern california
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Yes Supercharged, your '07 doesn't have these blasted TPMS sensors. Lucky you. Life was much easier before these stupid things were required. I, like most posters on this site, were probably always conscientious about their tire pressures and don't need "help" from the government to complicate things. There, I've said it!

2008 Avalon
1983 Toyota 4X4 pickup
2000 Dodge Ram 4X4
1979 Harley
roysleight is offline  
#25 Old 01-22-2010, 01:26 AM
New TN User
 
Sequoia Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: California
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Ok, I have new information from the Dealership in Colorado. The "large trucks", IE the Tundras and Sequoias do NOT have sensors in the spares. Toyota issues the special tools to the dealerships and charges them whatever. The sensor tool they get is made by OTC however, it has Toyota, Scion, Lexus, etc. on it and is only programed to read the sensors that are installed in those vehicles. He couldn't read mine on my Sequoia, so he changed the settings to the Tundra and bingo. Same trouble I had with the same tool. My hypothesis is that since the Sequoia ships with either Pacific sensors or TRW, the OTC tool settings are for the Pacific, Tundra settings for TRW, but nobody can verify that yet. I am now working on the Ateq guys to get the TRW software, so more when I have it, unless anybody else has it.
Sequoia Nut is offline  
#26 Old 03-02-2010, 12:20 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I have the ATEQ Quickset tool and am having the same "red light" issues as "Sequoia Nut". I am using it on a 2010 Toyota Sequoia SR5.

I don't believe the Quickset tool cares what sensors are in the tires. It communicates via one of the ODBII protocols to the vehicle computer and simply retrieves/sets the TPMS codes stored in the computers memory.

I did, however, call ATEQ (888 621-TPMS (8767) or tpms@atequsa.com) and spoke to a Technical Support Specialist. Apparently, you need to press and hold the summer or winter button until it turns solid green (do not let it go until the light turns solid green). I was just pressing the button and letting go and the light turned red. The ATEQ user guide was not clear on this.

I will try this later tonight and post my (hopefully) successful use of this tool

...Mike
michaelccam is offline  
#27 Old 03-03-2010, 02:13 AM
Freakin Scooters
 
LynchburgCSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Richmond, VA & Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 10,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 310
Thanked 429 Times in 396 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 16 reviews
Cool tool, OP! By the way... when were TPMS sensors mandated on US cars? 2006?



Honda Scoots Galore

TOTALED: '03 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 4x4 5.4L, '96 Camry LE 5S
LynchburgCSI is offline  
#28 Old 03-03-2010, 07:43 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: northern california
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Started with 2008 models.

2008 Avalon
1983 Toyota 4X4 pickup
2000 Dodge Ram 4X4
1979 Harley
roysleight is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to roysleight For This Useful Post:
LynchburgCSI (03-03-2010)
#29 Old 03-03-2010, 07:44 PM
Freakin Scooters
 
LynchburgCSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Richmond, VA & Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 10,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 310
Thanked 429 Times in 396 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 16 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by roysleight View Post
Started with 2008 models.
Thanks!



Honda Scoots Galore

TOTALED: '03 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 4x4 5.4L, '96 Camry LE 5S
LynchburgCSI is offline  
#30 Old 03-15-2010, 02:46 PM
Official TN Member
 
luck123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Around the 45th Parallel
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 33 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Just updating on my TPMS light issue reported back in Jan. Finally got around to troubleshooting it. It turns out that somehow, my IDs got mixed up and so the I had the wrong ID for the Spare programmed with my winter set. As a result, whenever I would drive more than 20 min, the TPMS light would come on but as soon as I got back into my garage, it would turn off because it was picking up the correct sensor from my summer set (which is stored in my garage). All is good now.

Former owner of 09 HL Sport, loaded Cdn version.



luck123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Nation Forums > General Discussion

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome