DIY TPMS Programming - Tool to Program your Own TPMS Sensors - Toyota Scion Honda - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Nation Forums > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion of basically anything automotive-related.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2009, 10:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
luck123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Around the 45th Parallel
Posts: 684
Thanks: 3
Thanked 33 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View luck123's Photo Gallery
DIY TPMS Programming - Tool to Program your Own TPMS Sensors - Toyota Scion Honda

Review of the ATEQ TPM Quickset Tool

Preamble:

EDIT/UPDATE: The tool now supports numerous makes and models of vehicles including Acura, Infinity, Mitsibushi, Kia, Hyundai, Honda, Lexus, Nissan, Scion .....

Let me begin by giving some background. I recently purchased a 09 Highlander. Prior to doing so, I did a great deal of reading and research about TPMS sensors for the set of winter wheels I had picked out. I learned that my HL, like many vehicles, will not automatically reset the ECU to new TPMS sensors when swapping between winter and summer wheels, or after rotations.

Resetting the ECU means a trip to the dealer, and costs vary: $80 - $100 for the first programming of the 2nd set of wheels; $40-$60 for each subsequent swap. Some dealers do it for free, but often will do so if you go in and pay for their regularly schedule maintenance, where they make a killing anyway. I have the dealer do the essential maintenance (brake maintenance, cooling flush, oil), but I don’t need to pay them to check my air filter and fluids and other stuff that I know is fine.

So in my search for TPMS sensors for my winter wheels, I came across Revolution Supply, where after receiving some excellent support and answers to my questions, I learned that they were working with a company to have a tool developed that would allow the average car owner program the ECU without going to the dealer.

Well, after many weeks of anticipation, Revolution Supply asked me to beta test the tool, and so I did, and thus the reason for this post....to introduce the tool to those who may be interested, and give my frank feedback on its usefulness.


How To:

Let me beginning with a step by step of the install and use of the tool.

As per the picture below, the package arrived with the tool, USB cable and a CD. The retail version will also come with an OSBD extension cable.....will get to that later.




Connect the tool to the PC using the USB provided. Load your CD and double click on the TPMS Quickset icon.....it takes about 15 seconds to complete the install.








Once complete, the software should load automatically. If not, the ATEQ Quickset icon will be on your desktop, so click to load and the following message appears..click OK given your tool should already be connected.




After doing above, the software will automatically connect to the internet to check for the latest version of the software and download if applicable.

The beta version I tried looked like the following, but future versions will likely change based on my feedback.



Click on Select a Car. The window will change requesting you to select a make, then will change again requesting you select a model. NOTE: the beta version did not accommodate Hybrid Highlanders, but I have been told that the the software will be updated so it will




Then the following screen appears, requesting you unplug the tool from the PC, go to your vehicle, turn the ignition to the ON position without starting the engine, and press either the summer or winter button until the green LED on the tool remains solid. This process reads the TPMS sensor IDs from your ECU.



NOTE: you will notice from the picture that the tool’s buttons are facing the firewall when plugged in, making it difficult to use. I raised this with the manufacturer, and as a result, they are including an OSBD extension cable with the tool.



Then take the tool back to the PC, connect and click CLICK HERE. A yellow pop-up window ask you to assign the TPMS Ids you just read from your ECU either summer or winter. Click the appropriate one.



The next screen will display all the codes. At this point, write down the code for your spare tire and put aside....you will need it later.




Click CONFIRM to store the codes and go back to the main page.


To toggle between Summer and Winter, you simply click on Summer or Winter at the top of the page. Click to enter your TPMS Ids for your other set of wheels.


NOTE: The tool WILL NOT read TPMS sensor Ids that have not been programmed into the ECU. So, if you have bought, or plan to buy sensors for your 2nd set of wheels, take note of the sensor Ids and better yet, take a picture of each sensor.

To enter the 2nd set of Ids into the software, you simply click on the appropriate mode (winter or summer), then click on the appropriate wheel of the diagram on the home page. A small window appears to enter your code. When the code is entered, hit ENTER to store the code. Do this for all wheels. Remember the code you wrote down for the spare tire? Well enter it as your code for your 2nd set of wheels (unless you’re changing your spare as well!)

NOTE: the software will only accept 8 digit codes. My sensor Ids were only 7. I simply added a zero to the front and it worked fine.




Then, if you click on TPM Quickset button, a page will appear displaying the Ids for both summer and winter wheels. Note, your spare should be the same for both.




Now, at this point, you can either go back to do nothing, or if you want to program your 2nd set of wheels into the ECU, click on CONFIRM. I swapped my tires out from my stock 19" wheels to my winters to test both my sensors and the software.

The next window appears instructing you to take the tool the car, turn the ignition to the ON position without starting, plugging in the tool, pressing the appropriate mode button on the tool until the tpms warning light begins to blink on the dash, then unplug. Turn the car off, then start and drive. I literally pulled into my driveway and got about 400 yards down the road and the light turned off. Awesome!!




When you’re done, click “CLICK HERE” and it takes you back to the home page.

YOU’RE DONE!!

There is also a function to allow you to rotate your tires, and in the Load Old Set panel, you can scroll through the details of previous changes.

My Thoughts:

The tool itself is very easy to use. Two buttons: winter designated by snowflake, and summer designated by the sun. That’s it.

The software is where most of the work takes place. For a beta version, it was pretty darn good. As you saw above, the software is rather easy to use, but there were a few glitches I picked up on, as well as few recommendations to make it more user friendly, such as adding simple instructions in boxes (such as click on tires to enter codes), and to use a slightly modified colour scheme to differentiate between clickable and non-clickable buttons. Also, the tire swap function had no option for swapping back to front on the same side.....required if you have directional tires. The manufacturer said they would rectify these issues for the next software version..

The software is rather easy to use. I had some basic instructions that were still in draft form, and I still got through it rather painlessly. Some functions were not as intuitive as I would have liked, but with proper instructions, there should not be an issue.

For now, it works on PC only. They are working on a MAC version, but no ETA is available.

In the TPM Quickset panel, you can can save your tire set and give it a name. That way, if you want to return to that set and tpms positioning on the vehicle, you simply have to go to Load Old Set, click on the set.

At the moment, the tool will only allow the management of one vehicle, however, a software release, expected shortly, will allow for management of up to 4 vehicles.


The COST: $149.99 from Revolution Supply (contact Russ)


So do I recommend this tool? Well, if your dealer is going to reprogram your ECU for free each time you swap or rotate your tires, then not sure it makes a whole lot of sense to dish out $150, unless you truly desire the convenience of reprogramming yourself.

However, if your dealer IS going to charge each time, or you simply want the convenience of swapping wheels or rotating on your own, then ABSOLUTELY!!!

Think about it....my dealer wants $80 for initial program of sensors into ECU, then $40 for each swap. So, initial program + 2 swaps and the tool has paid for itself and no more hassle of having to take the vehicle to the dealer.



If you have any questions, please ask, and I will do my best to answer.

Cheers!
__________________
Former owner of 09 HL Sport, loaded Cdn version.




Last edited by luck123; 10-29-2010 at 07:46 AM.
luck123 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to luck123 For This Useful Post:
05Moose (02-05-2013), Mainuh (01-19-2011)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-16-2009, 11:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maui HI
Posts: 286
Gameroom cash: $272066
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
View jkg065's Photo Gallery
Will we be able to program any software upgrades that you have mentioned to the initial production run of this TPMS tool? Or is there going to be VERSION II of the tool that will incorporate all the upgrades? Thank you for taking the time and effort to keep us abreast of the developements and arranging the GROUP BUY!
jkg065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 11:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
luck123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Around the 45th Parallel
Posts: 684
Thanks: 3
Thanked 33 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View luck123's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkg065 View Post
Will we be able to program any software upgrades that you have mentioned to the initial production run of this TPMS tool? Or is there going to be VERSION II of the tool that will incorporate all the upgrades? Thank you for taking the time and effort to keep us abreast of the developements and arranging the GROUP BUY!
To be honest I'm not sure when the upgrades will be incorporated. They are working on them now and they might launch a number of upgrades as they are done. The software is programmed to check and download any updates each time the software is launched (similar to automatic update). With that in mind, I will try launching it tomorrow and see if there are any changes, although, it has been only a week or so since my feedback.
__________________
Former owner of 09 HL Sport, loaded Cdn version.



luck123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 11:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maui HI
Posts: 286
Gameroom cash: $272066
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
View jkg065's Photo Gallery
This is a huge breakthrough for Russ and company and I will be looking forward to any updates you can provide!
jkg065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 02:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Do you feel lucky?
 
TrailDust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kalifornication
Posts: 23,390
Gameroom cash: $1002125650
Thanks: 2,438
Thanked 4,566 Times in 3,188 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
View TrailDust's Photo Gallery
No group buys

Just a heads up to you guys regarding forum rules:

16. Group buys can only be made by a Supporting Vendor. No exceptions.

Thank you for your understanding and cooperation.

TrailDust
__________________
-------------------------


2008 Highlander Base 4WD
2002 Avalon XL
1987 Suzuki Samurai 4X4 - Treading where no Jeep can follow....
TrailDust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 03:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maui HI
Posts: 286
Gameroom cash: $272066
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
View jkg065's Photo Gallery
Thank you, TrailDust, I apologize!
jkg065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 06:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
luck123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Around the 45th Parallel
Posts: 684
Thanks: 3
Thanked 33 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View luck123's Photo Gallery
My bad!! Thanks for clarifying TrailDust.
__________________
Former owner of 09 HL Sport, loaded Cdn version.



luck123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 11:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: California
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View wchin's Photo Gallery
This would be a very nice tool to have. I went to the www.ateq.com site to get more info. but there isn't much there. It looks like this tool is not ready for sale yet.
wchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 06:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
luck123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Around the 45th Parallel
Posts: 684
Thanks: 3
Thanked 33 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View luck123's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by wchin View Post
This would be a very nice tool to have. I went to the www.ateq.com site to get more info. but there isn't much there. It looks like this tool is not ready for sale yet.

Hi As far as I know (unless things have changed), the tool IS available. Just contact Russ at Revolution Supply rfuller@revolutionsupply.com.

ATEQ is still working on updating the software based on my feedback (I heard back from them this week). But that does not affect the tool. It still does what it is supposed to do. The updates will make functionality and user friendliness even better.

The software automatically looks for a newer version on-line and will update to the newer version every time it you launch it on your PC.

The tool also comes with an OBDII extension cable.

Cheers.
__________________
Former owner of 09 HL Sport, loaded Cdn version.



luck123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 09:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: northern california
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View roysleight's Photo Gallery
I'm thinking of purchasing one for my Avalon to use when I switch summer/winter sets of tires. Has there been any software updates or equipment changes since the last posts in June? Are you guys that bought them happy with them?
__________________
2008 Avalon
1983 Toyota 4X4 pickup
2000 Dodge Ram 4X4
1979 Harley
roysleight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 09:43 AM   #11 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
luck123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Around the 45th Parallel
Posts: 684
Thanks: 3
Thanked 33 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View luck123's Photo Gallery
No equipment changes, but there has been a software update. Had issues with my update but ATEQ sent me revision and all good. Works well..I swapped out my summers last weekend. After all IDs were entered, it takes about 5 min max.

But, some claim that dealers do it for free if you're going in for their "reg scheduled maintenance", so you may just want to check with your dealer.
__________________
Former owner of 09 HL Sport, loaded Cdn version.



luck123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 09:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: northern california
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View roysleight's Photo Gallery
The dealer here wants $55 every time to re-register the sensors. All the serial numbers are in the computer and I have a printout of them. They just don't do anything for free. I fiqure three changes and the ATEQ would pay for itself. Looks I'll be getting one. Thanks to everyone for the great info.
__________________
2008 Avalon
1983 Toyota 4X4 pickup
2000 Dodge Ram 4X4
1979 Harley
roysleight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 04:09 AM   #13 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View maxblast's Photo Gallery
My new PC is running Vista 64 bits and now the software is not working anymore. Also not in the compatibility mode. Also not in Windows 7.
Has anyone managed to find a workaround for this since the developers are not really active in updating their software.
maxblast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 07:45 AM   #14 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
luck123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Around the 45th Parallel
Posts: 684
Thanks: 3
Thanked 33 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View luck123's Photo Gallery
Contact ATEQ USA. I had issues and they sent me updated software. I got prompted for another update yesterday and ignored it, just in case. Still works fine. Sending you PM.
__________________
Former owner of 09 HL Sport, loaded Cdn version.



luck123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 05:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View trextor's Photo Gallery
Thank you OP for the step-by-step instructions. They worked like a charm for me.

One thing I'd like to point out is that I purchased winter tires from TireRack that already had the sensors mounted on the wheels. The invoice contained the 4 sensor ID codes but they didn't indicate which sensor was placed on which wheel. Furthermore, I wouldn't have been certain which tire was installed where.

Anyways, I just put in the id codes in the logical order (left to right) and followed the rest of the instructions. The uploaded values worked.

Now, I'd like to think I randomly guessed the right spot for each value but it's probably more likely that the system detects problems based on the absence of a sensor ID. So it's possible that if there were a problem, it would be reported against the wrong tire. But since the only feedback I receive as a driver is the low pressure monitor or the tpms warning, there's no issue.

Anyways - bottom line is that the OP's instructions are excellent.

Last edited by trextor; 01-17-2010 at 05:30 PM.
trextor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Nation Forums > General Discussion

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.