Cleaning the throttle body on 22R-E - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
89-95 Toyota Pickup/Hilux Discussion forum for the 89-95 Toyota Pickup/Hilux owners. NEW!

1Likes
  • 1 Post By sb5walker

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 12-30-2009, 01:54 PM
New TN User

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Cleaning the throttle body on 22R-E

Is there a detailed thread with pictures on this process? I'm a pretty novice mechanic and I'm thinking about doing it myself. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 12-30-2009, 03:33 PM
Official TN Member

i need help too

i notice that my throttle is sticking a little too. anyone with some advice?
#3 Old 12-30-2009, 04:23 PM
Puff Puff Pass

iTrader Score: 1 reviews
I have done this but I have never seen a write up on it. I am not trying to insult you guys but all you do is remove the throttle body, get some throttle body cleaner to soak it in, get a used toothbrush and clean it. Then just reinstall it. Its pretty straight forward.

1992 22re 4wd extended cab ZERO rust.
#4 Old 12-30-2009, 05:41 PM
New TN User

(Thread Starter)
Any tricky stuff about removing and re-installing the throttle body itself? Any general tips?
#5 Old 12-30-2009, 09:07 PM
New TN User

I know it's been posted on here before, but make sure you do not submerge your TPS in the solvent. Bad things will happen in the not to distant future.
#6 Old 12-31-2009, 01:58 AM
Saving lives

^ true.
very simple, remember to make sure all the vacuum lines go in the correct places. spray some TB cleaner in the intake manifold also to freshen up a little bit.

spray some PB blaster along the Throttle cables also.

when you put it all back together, make sure to connect the intake tube tightly so its sealed and no leaks get by.

when you start up, it'll be a lil tough, just put your foot down on the gas

and you better have it in neutral or Park! be safe!