'94 22RE Won't Start. Need Help. - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
89-95 Toyota Pickup/Hilux Discussion forum for the 89-95 Toyota Pickup/Hilux owners. NEW!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 05-08-2011, 08:43 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
'94 22RE Won't Start. Need Help.

Hi, I'm new to the forum. I've had my truck for around 6 years now and have never had a problem with it starting.
I ordered a new matched complete set of injectors from injectorwarehouse and installed them this weekend. While I installed them I replaced all of the vacuum hoses one by one.
I went to start the truck after the install and it was running terribly rough. Long story short I had 2 of the injector harness connectors mixed up.
Now the truck won't run even a little bit.
The fuel rail is pressurized.
It is getting spark.
I connected an old injector to harness while cranking the engine and it was "clicking" so I know they are getting a signal.
After cranking awhile the plugs were wet with gas.
I checked the TPS, Open Circuit Relay, all fuses, and Air flow sensor. I'm not a complete novice mechanic, but I am completely stumped.
Any ideas or help at all would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
DustyBotoms is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 05-09-2011, 03:05 AM
ya ya ya, I'm the noob...
 
IM28702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Anthem (Phoenix) AZ
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
So, you had half of the injectors plugged in wrong and it was running very rough. You "Fixed" the wiring and now it won't run at all. My guess is that now you have none of them hooked up correctly.
IM28702 is offline  
#3 Old 05-09-2011, 04:47 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
From what My manual says #1,#3 should have the white/red and black wire on them. And cylinders #2, #4 have the solid white and black wires (which is how I have them connected). The injectors rotate freely. One thing I didn't mention is it almost feels "labored" when it is cranking over. Maybe like the timing is off, but I never disconnected anything to do with the distributor or timing in anyway.
I did try cranking it over with the timing advanced and retarded from where it was set before,(with using a jumper in the diagnostic port) with no change. So I just put the timing back to where it was before the problem started.

Last edited by DustyBotoms; 05-09-2011 at 04:54 AM.
DustyBotoms is offline  
#4 Old 05-09-2011, 08:33 AM
Official TN Member
 
HEAVY_GD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rich Va (804)
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 150
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I know we are focused on fuel delivery, but are you certain there is no vacuum leak?
HEAVY_GD is offline  
#5 Old 05-09-2011, 10:36 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
I know I was careful when replacing the vacuum lines. I will double check those tonight and make sure I didn't rip, or overlook one somewhere.

thanks
DustyBotoms is offline  
#6 Old 05-09-2011, 12:28 PM
Official TN Member
 
HEAVY_GD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rich Va (804)
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 150
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Yeah I thought the same thing until I found this crack which was causing me all kinds of trouble...

HEAVY_GD is offline  
#7 Old 05-09-2011, 01:28 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Ahh good call. Thanks for the pic. I need to get out of work so I can check it over again!
DustyBotoms is offline  
#8 Old 05-09-2011, 04:19 PM
ya ya ya, I'm the noob...
 
IM28702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Anthem (Phoenix) AZ
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I don't think a vacuum leak would stop it from running completely.

I would focus on this statement...

My truck ran fine. I did "this" and it ran poorly. I then did "That" and it won't run at all.

See if you can undo "That" and see if you can get it back to running poorly. If so, see about undoing "This" and getting it to run fine. Even if it's putting old parts back in. If you can get the truck back to where you started, then do the repairs one at a time, you'll know which one is fighting you.

Also, did you replace the intake manifold gaskets when you had it apart?
IM28702 is offline  
#9 Old 05-09-2011, 05:14 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
I hear what you're saying. I did replace the intake gasket. I've had vacuum leaks before and they never made an engine not start completely. I went over all the vacuum hoses again and everything is tip top. I'm starting to wonder if the injectors I purchased may be bad. that is the only thing I changed on the truck. I've had the intake off before to clean it about a year ago and it ran great after I buttoned her back up. I heard injectorwarehouse sells good stuff, maybe I should write them an e-mail and see what they say.
DustyBotoms is offline  
#10 Old 05-10-2011, 08:03 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Well...I decided to put the "old" injectors back in tonight and see if the engine runs. Nope. It acts the same. Not even close to starting.
I pull the distributor out and with the ignition on I spun it around and I can hear/feel the injectors firing.
Then I pulled the "cold start" injector out to make sure the fuel pump is working while the engine is cranking. It was squirting just fine. I don't understand how I can get fuel and spark and it won't run. I can't think of anything that would make the timing go off that much. Maybe my ECU too a crap?
DustyBotoms is offline  
#11 Old 05-13-2011, 09:31 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Well...Long story short I'm pretty sure my timing chain "jumped" a couple teeth. I just did a compression check.
cylinder 1: 15#
cylinder 2: 20#
cylinder 3: 115#
cylinder 4: 15#

I'm pretty sure I have a bad case of the bent valve virus.
DustyBotoms is offline  
#12 Old 05-14-2011, 01:32 AM
ya ya ya, I'm the noob...
 
IM28702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Anthem (Phoenix) AZ
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
How did you get the timing chain to skip by changing the injectors? I'm not sure I buy it.... Not saying you're lying, just not convinced of the diagnosis.
IM28702 is offline  
#13 Old 05-14-2011, 02:00 AM
Official TN Member
 
kathyricks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: salem, OR
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Injectors don't go bad to begin with. Neither does the ECU. Neither do the factory neoprene vacuum hoses.

You've got fuel and havn't said anything about having a check engine light so something must wrong with an ignition system part like distributor cap, rotor or the coil-igniter assembly.
kathyricks is offline  
#14 Old 05-14-2011, 07:22 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
I don't understand either. I had my buddy stop over with his snap on scanner and check everything out. He has been wrenching longer than me. the scanner says all of the injectors are getting fuel and pulsing, temp sensor is working, ignition is firing, etc. etc. etc. Well either way there is no way its going to run with the compression numbers I have right now. After I get into it a little more I'll post what I find. Hopefully this post can maybe help someone else out of a jam.
DustyBotoms is offline  
#15 Old 05-14-2011, 07:25 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
My buddys snap on scanner was pointing to possibly the igniter assembly being bad, because the tach is not working when the truck is cranking over. And the scanner was not pulling a code correctly. I'm more concerned now with my compression numbers at this point. I'm going to get 1st. cylinder to TDCC stroke today and check out how the timing marks are lining up.
DustyBotoms is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Hilux (Pickup) Forum > 89-95 Toyota Pickup/Hilux

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome