82 22R Manual --Idle up diaphragm hose---where does it connect??? - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Pre-88 Toyota Pickup/Hilux Discussion area for the '88 and older Toyota Pickup/Hilux. NEW!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 06-26-2009, 03:48 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: pdx
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
82 22R Manual --Idle up diaphragm hose---where does it connect???

Hey there, where does the Idle up Diaphragm hose go on an 1982 22R Manual Pick-up? I cant seem to find it in any of the vacuum diagrams????
I have looked and looked with no luck. As it sits the diaphragm is just without a hose and I cant find a missing vacuum port to connect it to. Thanks!
monolith75 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 06-26-2009, 04:16 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ST LOUIS
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Go to autozone.com and become a member. It is free and you can then look up repair guides for your vehicle. It does have a vacuum diagram with pics.
csharp100 is offline  
#3 Old 06-26-2009, 04:44 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: pdx
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Thanks for the tip! I went ahead and registered with autozone and unfortunately, there is no indication of where that diaphragm hose goes. In fact it doesnt even exist on the diagram. I have the reapir manual for the 1982 22r and you would think it would be clearly stated in there, but it is not.
monolith75 is offline  
#4 Old 06-26-2009, 08:29 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: pdx
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
The issue I am having is this, this is my friends truck by the way, he thought the truck needed a new carb because the truck was running horribly, stalling not idling properly and such, so we replaced the carb with a newly rebuilt one. After doing so we found the truck would run the same. After checking all vacuum lines and finding no leaks, we finally found a ground wire coming from the ignition coil going to the distributor that had broken free, we re-attached it and the truck fired up! After 10 minutes it was choking down and finally just died. We thought the carb may need adjusting but after adjusting the fast idle and mixture to stock, to no avail, the truck was still acting the same, it just will not idle but will run at higher rpm's. We let it sit for 20 minutes thinking it may be thermal related and sure enough,it fired up and ran for about 10 minutes then started choking down again, then finally died.

My bigger question here is, is this thermal related? I noticed I could manually close the choke butterfly and it would run, but then after several attempts to keep it running, it finally died again with or without the choke closed.

We checked the fuel pump and it is getting plenty of gas to the carb. Fuel filter is new. Any ideas here? Thanks!
monolith75 is offline  
#5 Old 06-26-2009, 10:10 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: pdx
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Got it nailed. Carb was obstructed, one of the plugs was shorted together and carb needed adjustment. Runnin like a top.
monolith75 is offline  
#6 Old 08-05-2012, 09:09 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
any idea where the idle up diaphragm ended up connecting to?
I still can't find it in any diagrams!


...wire nuts are temporary...don't panic! :-)
estysalinas is offline  
#7 Old 10-17-2012, 05:02 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: melbourne australia
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
does it connect to airfilter box looks like it could but carb is slightly different to mine
mjd59 is offline  
#8 Old 10-25-2012, 10:36 AM
Corona is gone.
 
79Corona's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 861
Blog Entries: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 96
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Well if ain't broke......

But for curiosity's sake, is the new carb exactly like the old carb....part for part? Sometimes a rebuilt carb might not have a feature because they change from year to year; and they could have sold you one that may fit several model years.

Bryan
86 Hilux LE (blue)
Other Toyotas : 79 Corona DLX sedan (Mint green), 89 Corolla DX sedan (wine), 88 Camry V6 LE sedan (blk), 86 Hilux std bed (wine), 82 Celica GT hatchback (bwn), 78 Celica GT coupe (slvr), 76 Corolla SR-5 coupe (wht)
79Corona is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Hilux (Pickup) Forum > Pre-88 Toyota Pickup/Hilux

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome