Radio Changes Channels by Itself? - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
1st Generation (2001-2007) Forum dedicated to the discussion of 1st generation Toyota Highlanders.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 11-08-2010, 06:19 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: atlanta
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Radio Changes Channels by Itself?

I purchased a lightly used 2007 Highlander Limited w/Navi about 6 months ago. A couple of weeks ago the radio starts changing channels by itself. After about 5 minutes the radio will change stations about 000.3 spots and then turn right back to the original chanel (100.5 to 100.2). This will repeat about every 20 seconds.

Any ideas on what is going on?
gx00850 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 11-08-2010, 08:43 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: DFW
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 42
Thanked 67 Times in 61 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
wow thats weird - have not heard of that one before on the forums.
jabberwock is offline  
#3 Old 11-08-2010, 09:31 AM
Official TN Member
 
ELiTeCReW69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
alot of toyota have radio problems, if you control your air flow/ heater / ac thru the navi system I recommend you getting an extended warranty (toyota extra care) those units are stupid expensive (like $4000 minimum )
ELiTeCReW69 is offline  
#4 Old 11-11-2010, 05:37 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by gx00850 View Post
I purchased a lightly used 2007 Highlander Limited w/Navi about 6 months ago. A couple of weeks ago the radio starts changing channels by itself. After about 5 minutes the radio will change stations about 000.3 spots and then turn right back to the original chanel (100.5 to 100.2). This will repeat about every 20 seconds.

Any ideas on what is going on?
Try exercising the radio controls if you have individual knobs/buttons for that function. I had a similar problem with a non-nav unit and that fixed the issue.
sienna1 is offline  
#5 Old 01-11-2011, 01:24 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Radio changes by itself.

My 2006 Highland Limited with the JBL system also changes radio stations by itself. It did so last summer then stopped. It has started back up. Any resolution on this issue?
hybriddenver is offline  
#6 Old 01-11-2011, 10:27 AM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 270
Thanked 50 Times in 48 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
My regualr OEM radio also?

My wife JUST asked me about this on our '04 base Highlander. Strange timing for this thread. Said the radio changed the station it self then went back twice while driving a few days ago. We have had some cold temps here. Wonder if the temp affects it??

Use to work for TMMI, own a '04 Highlander V6, 4WD, 3rd row,155k. My family in-law have over 5 Toyota vehicles!
shortlid is offline  
#7 Old 01-12-2011, 11:55 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Radio changes by itself 2

I have wondered about temp, but the first time this happened was on a long road trip last spring. It lasted into the summer. It seems like lots of people have had this problem. I wonder why nobody has posted solutions.
hybriddenver is offline  
#8 Old 01-20-2011, 08:47 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
My radio (2006 Tacoma) has been doing this the past couple of days. Seems like I have noticed it before and it went away on its own. Funny thing is yesterday on my drive home from work I noticed it in one paticular spot and it did it again on my drive in to work this morning as I drove by the same area...It doesn't matter what station it is on either, I have been listening to 88.3 sometimes and 106.9 other times when it has happened.
MediaRookie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Highlander Forum > 1st Generation (2001-2007)

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome