Rear window, defrost and wiper not working - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Sequoia Forum

Sequoia Forum Discussion area for the large Sequoia SUV.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2012, 06:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View rvm4's Photo Gallery
Rear window, defrost and wiper not working

Hi,

I'm a newbie. I've read several threads on this topic. I printed off the rear window TSB's tried to follow them as best we could but we did not have any success.

I have a 2006 Sequoia. About a year ago, the rear window, defrost & wiper stopped working. I took it to my local independent mechanic along with the TSB's. He did some diagnostics and potentially other work (didn't tell me) and the defrost and wiper began working again. The mechanic said they were working intermittently, but the wiper and defrost worked as expected.

Over the summer, I tried to put the rear window down. When it did not work, I tried to reset it as I have read on this forum. It still would not work.

Immediately after trying to put the rear window down, the defrost and wiper stopped working again.

My indy mechanic thinks the window motor needs to be replaced. My DH thinks the ECU needs to replaced.

I found the motor online for around $250. We cannot locate a vendor for the rear ECU. I won't buy from eBay. I cannot find the part at rockauto.com either. Can anyone offer the part number and/or reliable vendor for new, genuine Toyota parts.

I rarely use the rear window and I don't care if it does not work. I do, however, want the rear defrost and wiper to work correctly.

Given the symptoms, do you think both the rear ECU and the window motor need to be replaced?