+ 20HP for IS300

dannyset
07-09-2002, 03:27 PM
I saw this post on ebay for this do-it-yourself mod kit that supposedly taps into your car's computer and boosts it's performance by up to 20HP just by making it think that cooler air is flowing in. Read the attached link. Is this legit? Has anybody heard of this type of mod? Moreover, is it safe? If so, that's a pretty cheap price for such big gains. The guy doesn't have much feedback, but he seems to be selling this mod kit ($8 starting bid), for all types of cars. If you guys know anything about this, let me know.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1841890882

Scooby786
07-09-2002, 05:34 PM
I heard of it, there was a post that IS300.net had sayin that it gave a stunk smell once installed. I go by this motto: You pay for what you get for. I personally think its to good to be true, so it ain't...for me at least! But if you do try it, lemme know how it goes!

EdLoRPI
07-14-2002, 03:38 AM
It's BS - basically, it's a 300 ohm resistor. $14.95 for a shipped 300 ohm resistor that's worth a few cents. It's a scam - many other auto boards are alert to it ..don't be duped - I'd hate for you to screw up your sweet IS300.

-trying to help out

More Info:

http://www.eclipseforums.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=53103

dannyset
07-15-2002, 12:17 PM
Thanks for the info. Looks like it's all BS.