High idle speed at stop light. - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Camry 5th & 6th Gen (2002-2006 & 2007-2011)/2nd Gen Solara (2004-2008) Toyota Camry Discussion for years 2002-2006 & 2007-2011, as well as Solara Discussion for years 2004-2008. Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance all involving America's favorite family car, the Toyota Camry.

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old 07-05-2019, 02:36 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
High idle speed at stop light.

Do our cars have idle control valve? After cleaning the throttle body a week ago, I noticed sometimes while the car is stopped (i.e. at stop light or behind traffic), the car revs up the engine and idle at 1k rpm, then goes back to 700 rpm. The car is at normal temp. Not always, only once in a while. Most of the time it idles fine.

I've done the idle reset process at normal temp after reconnecting the battery. Or is it because I cleaned the throttle body and MAF sensor, and the ECU is used to the old dirty MAF sensor, so it just needs time to readjust? Or I messed up the idle control valve while cleaning the throttle body?

But I was looking around and couldn't find any info about the idle control valve in 2006-2011 Camry.
TwinCam2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 07-05-2019, 03:04 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Pvt-Public's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,833
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Thanks: 25
Thanked 249 Times in 227 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
There is no idle control valve that function is controlled by the ECU and throttle. I would look for any air leaks after the air box, that may be letting in un-metered air.

2013 Camry XLE 3.5L A/T
2017 Camry LE 2.5L A/T
Pvt-Public is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Pvt-Public For This Useful Post:
Donald E George (07-06-2019)
post #3 of 21 Old 07-06-2019, 10:44 AM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pvt-Public View Post
There is no idle control valve that function is controlled by the ECU and throttle. I would look for any air leaks after the air box, that may be letting in un-metered air.
Vacuum leak makes sense since it happens after throttle and MAF sensor cleaned and valve cover gasket changed, some hoses might be loose or broken because of an engine job done. However, I have just took the whole air box off, look around all the hoses, I don't see anything loose. I turn on the engine, I don't hear any hissing sound. I sprayed water around the hoses and hear idle speed change.

My problem only happens sometimes. Sometimes coming to a stop light, the engine rpm will slowly come down to 1k for a second, then idle at 700 rpm, sometimes it will stay at 1k for 2 to 3 second before back down to 700 rpm.

Could it be the ECU is still learning the new clean MAF sensor? Since the battery was disconnected while the work was being done, the ECU should not remember the old data? Could a bad belt tensioner do this? But tensioner should not affect engine timing, right?

Or the MAF sensor is bad? But an OBD II scanner says no code found. And I don't see Check Engine light on my dash.
TwinCam2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 21 Old 07-06-2019, 10:08 PM
2010 Camry SE V6
 
BlackCamSe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seaside Heights, New Jersey
Posts: 3,043
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Thanks: 24
Thanked 91 Times in 78 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
If you recently cleaned your throttle body youíll need to disconnect ur battery for a while to erase the learned values in the pcm. It needs to relearn


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Thanks netforcer for the awsome sig! You da man!
Quote:
Seatbelt! you're piloting a vehicle were dual vvt-i hitts harder then VTEC and the torquesteer can possibly snap your wrists
BlackCamSe is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 07-07-2019, 10:45 AM
cj1
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: calif
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 193 Times in 190 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Op- can you post the fuel trims when problem occurs?
Move vacuum hoses around where water indicated leak.
cj1 is online now  
post #6 of 21 Old 07-07-2019, 02:24 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackCamSe View Post
If you recently cleaned your throttle body youíll need to disconnect ur battery for a while to erase the learned values in the pcm. It needs to relearn


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The battery was disconnected while the throttle was being cleaned. So the ECU should have already been reset. And I've done the idle relearn process.

But I think I might have found the leak, I see oil around the oil cap. If this is it, I'd be amazed! I've never had a car that has a bad oil cap that contributes to very poor MPG!
TwinCam2 is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 07-07-2019, 02:26 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cj1 View Post
Op- can you post the fuel trims when problem occurs?
Move vacuum hoses around where water indicated leak.
I don't have the fuel trims data, and I inspected very carefully around all the hoses, I found no leak. But I might have found the leak, it might be the oil cap.

I'm going to replace the cap, and if this solves the problem, I'd be amazed!
TwinCam2 is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 07-07-2019, 03:33 PM
cj1
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: calif
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 193 Times in 190 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Knowing what the fuel trims are can give some direction.
There are inexpensive scan tools that will do the job.



"I noticed sometimes while the car is stopped (i.e. at stop light or behind traffic), the car revs up the engine and idle at 1k rpm, then goes back to 700 rpm."
Possible air leak from brake booster.
Another possibility is leaking purge valve.
cj1 is online now  
post #9 of 21 Old 07-09-2019, 09:24 AM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cj1 View Post
"I noticed sometimes while the car is stopped (i.e. at stop light or behind traffic), the car revs up the engine and idle at 1k rpm, then goes back to 700 rpm."
Possible air leak from brake booster.
Another possibility is leaking purge valve.
I replaced the oil cap, still the same. Since this happens after the throttle body cleaned, I went back to the shop that did this. The mechanic took a test drive and assured me this is normal. He said he took the whole throttle body to clean and calibrated it with a machine. I didn't know the electronic throttle body could be calibrated manually like cabled throttle.

In older cars with cabled throttle, you can manually adjust the cable. Can you do that with electronic throttle body? If he calibrated it a bit tight, will the ECU eventually self adjust it? Currently the rpm does not come down as fast as it used to be, it's a bit too eager to rev. It goes fast, but fuel mileage takes a hit during city and slow traffic driving.

I have reset the ECU by disconnecting the battery and fuse, will the ECU eventually adjust itself? Or do I have to go back to the mechanic and ask him to recalibrate it again? It drives very smooth, just I want the rpm drops a bit faster.
TwinCam2 is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 07-09-2019, 10:11 AM
cj1
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: calif
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 193 Times in 190 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Regarding the TB calibration, it may be mechanic was verifying TB operation by watching the scan tool data.
No shop mechanical or electrical calibration outside of cleaning.



Since this is an intermittent problem, if it isn't happening at the time mechanic is checking, may have to wait until it becomes worse.
Or you could set up a scan tool to monitor engine parameters and try to recreate problem.
cj1 is online now  
post #11 of 21 Old 07-09-2019, 10:19 AM
Senior TN Member
 
Vangm25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 3,137
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 766 Post(s)
Thanks: 23
Thanked 168 Times in 162 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Is the AC on?
somick likes this.

Vangm25 is online now  
post #12 of 21 Old 07-09-2019, 10:31 AM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vangm25 View Post
Is the AC on?
Yes. It's over 90 degree outside.

It stays at 1k for a second, then down to 900 and eventually 700. Is it normal?
TwinCam2 is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 07-09-2019, 10:33 AM
Senior TN Member
 
Vangm25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 3,137
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 766 Post(s)
Thanks: 23
Thanked 168 Times in 162 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwinCam2 View Post
Yes. It's over 90 degree outside.

It stays at 1k for a second, then down to 900 and eventually 700. Is it normal?
Turn it off for a bit and see how it feels.

Vangm25 is online now  
post #14 of 21 Old 07-09-2019, 10:35 AM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cj1 View Post
Regarding the TB calibration, it may be mechanic was verifying TB operation by watching the scan tool data.
Yes, maybe that's why he was referring to. He has an OBD II scanner. There is no code on my car.

So no calibration to the gearing part of the throttle body, I guess the ECU will self adjust itself. I hope.
TwinCam2 is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 07-09-2019, 10:36 AM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vangm25 View Post
Turn it off for a bit and see how it feels.
Yeah, good idea. I'll try that.
TwinCam2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > Camry 5th & 6th Gen (2002-2006 & 2007-2011)/2nd Gen Solara (2004-2008)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome