2007 Camry SE with XLE Cluster - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Camry 5th & 6th Gen (2002-2006 & 2007-2011)/2nd Gen Solara (2004-2008) Toyota Camry Discussion for years 2002-2006 & 2007-2011, as well as Solara Discussion for years 2004-2008. Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance all involving America's favorite family car, the Toyota Camry.

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 61 Old 06-29-2014, 01:23 AM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Gen6 2007 Camry SE with XLE Cluster

So, I have seen a few threads speculating or asking questions if this is possible...

I finally got it all working. I swapped out my SE (wasn't a huge fan of the aqua) for a 2008 XLE Camry cluster. I was able to get steering wheel controls from Australia and had to wire up the controls to the back of the cluster to be able to browse the additional settings.

Here is a video:

http://youtu.be/adOOiwqpvw4



I will attempt to make a "how-to" in the next few days...
Speedbird27 likes this.

Last edited by baileyw813; 06-30-2014 at 06:01 PM.
baileyw813 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 61 Old 06-29-2014, 01:31 AM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Gen6

While I was at it, I decided to make the new steering wheel switches blue...






Sort of the true color... like a cobalt blue color, not as light as the other two photos make it out to be...
baileyw813 is offline  
post #3 of 61 Old 06-29-2014, 10:19 AM
Press hard, four copies!
 
Deputy5211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: D/FW, Texas, USA
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 40
Thanked 130 Times in 116 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Looks nice.

Was this post helpful? Please click the "THANKS" button.

--
Tony and Suzanne

2004 Camry LE
2005 BMW K1200LT (Light Truck)
2014 Sonata
Deputy5211 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Deputy5211 For This Useful Post:
baileyw813 (06-30-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 61 Old 06-30-2014, 06:45 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hawaii/ Hong Kong
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
looks good man, i assume the process gonna be the same for LE as well right? but maybe easier since i can just get the steering wheel from a wrecked XLE? ( But oh well, its hawaii, i never see a 6th gen camry in scarpyard at all), but new mazda 6, accord i have seen them.

wish you have a DIY tutorial, it will help a lot of brothers who might have interest. i probably just gonna add this to my bucket list together with Rear central console A/C vent for my LE when the warranty is up lol.


The Humble Car with Power ---- My power 1.8 GOA Corolla LE
Speedbird27 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedbird27 For This Useful Post:
baileyw813 (06-30-2014)
post #5 of 61 Old 06-30-2014, 08:13 AM
Senior TN Member
 
2011SEV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Queens,NY
Posts: 1,296
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Thanks: 30
Thanked 124 Times in 118 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Gen6

It was just plug an play except for the "disp" ? Does the info on the screen work, like the miles until empty. If so that really cool and I might look into it.
2011SEV6 is offline  
post #6 of 61 Old 06-30-2014, 01:12 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2011SEV6 View Post
It was just plug an play except for the "disp" ? Does the info on the screen work, like the miles until empty. If so that really cool and I might look into it.
Well... not quite plug and play. Not all that "difficult" either though. I was hoping it was just hook up the new cluster and then hook up the new steering wheel controls "DISP" and it would work, but it didn't.

I'll try to do a "how-to" after I reply to you.

But in a nutshell, the wiring for the US and AU spec steering wheel controls to the clock spring are all the same. The wiring from the junction 3 (behind the cluster, close to the firewall) to the back of the cluster is the same as well. the issue with the SE (and possibly the LE?) is that the purple wire (signal wire, I guess it could be called) which goes from pin-3 on the black connector of the clock spring to Junction 3 is not there. I had to run a wire and then all worked.

At first it seemed like the AVG Speed wasn't working right, as I knew I had been driving at least an avg speed of 25 mph around my neighborhood and it was only say 2 mph. But the next few times I drove it, it seemed to be "learning" and now all work great.

It gives me:

Outside Temp
Cruising Range
Tank AVG MPG
Trip AVG MPH
Time since start

Last edited by baileyw813; 06-30-2014 at 01:15 PM. Reason: Make more clear/grammar
baileyw813 is offline  
post #7 of 61 Old 06-30-2014, 01:20 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedbird27 View Post
looks good man, i assume the process gonna be the same for LE as well right? but maybe easier since i can just get the steering wheel from a wrecked XLE? ( But oh well, its hawaii, i never see a 6th gen camry in scarpyard at all), but new mazda 6, accord i have seen them.

wish you have a DIY tutorial, it will help a lot of brothers who might have interest. i probably just gonna add this to my bucket list together with Rear central console A/C vent for my LE when the warranty is up lol.
The LE might be different? The issue I believe you may run into with an LE is that the DISP is combined with the XLE right hand side controls which also include the auto-temp/AC controls (so you'd have some inop buttons on your steering pad.) But, if you don't mind the inop buttons, yeah, should be the same. If you take off the steering column lower cover, you'll see two connectors plugged into the bottom of the clock spring assembly (yellow and black.) Look at pin3 on the black connector and if it is empty, you'll need to run a signal wire from there to the back of the cluster (tap into the purple pin-22 wire, as its a serious P.I.A. to get to Junction3)

I'll try to write up a "how-to"
baileyw813 is offline  
post #8 of 61 Old 06-30-2014, 01:45 PM
Senior TN Member
 
2011SEV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Queens,NY
Posts: 1,296
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Thanks: 30
Thanked 124 Times in 118 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Gen6

Quote:
Originally Posted by baileyw813 View Post
Well... not quite plug and play. Not all that "difficult" either though. I was hoping it was just hook up the new cluster and then hook up the new steering wheel controls "DISP" and it would work, but it didn't.

I'll try to do a "how-to" after I reply to you.

But in a nutshell, the wiring for the US and AU spec steering wheel controls to the clock spring are all the same. The wiring from the junction 3 (behind the cluster, close to the firewall) to the back of the cluster is the same as well. the issue with the SE (and possibly the LE?) is that the purple wire (signal wire, I guess it could be called) which goes from pin-3 on the black connector of the clock spring to Junction 3 is not there. I had to run a wire and then all worked.

At first it seemed like the AVG Speed wasn't working right, as I knew I had been driving at least an avg speed of 25 mph around my neighborhood and it was only say 2 mph. But the next few times I drove it, it seemed to be "learning" and now all work great.

It gives me:

Outside Temp
Cruising Range
Tank AVG MPG
Trip AVG MPH
Time since start
Ohh that seem simple, i may contact you in the future. I hate having that one blank spot on my steering wheel. The average speed won't pass a speed of 21 i believe. I cant remember the exact speed. That is used to show how much city to highway driving you have done on that tank. 21 means you do all highway 14 + is over 50% of highway driving. The numbers might be slight off.
2011SEV6 is offline  
post #9 of 61 Old 06-30-2014, 03:18 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Gen6

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2011SEV6 View Post
Ohh that seem simple, i may contact you in the future. I hate having that one blank spot on my steering wheel. The average speed won't pass a speed of 21 i believe. I cant remember the exact speed. That is used to show how much city to highway driving you have done on that tank. 21 means you do all highway 14 + is over 50% of highway driving. The numbers might be slight off.
Oh the average speed does go above 21. I drove freeway to the airport near me in Sacramento and I had an averge speed of 58, there and back.

All seems to be working well and as expected now.

Defintely reach out if you need help in the future. Unlike the AU spec "Camry SE" (Aurion Sportivo) I haven't found an "LE Camry" anywhere in the world with just the "DISP" on the right hand side, so as to not have inop AC controls...
baileyw813 is offline  
post #10 of 61 Old 06-30-2014, 03:31 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
***It looks like the steering wheel controls from the newer Solara models will work. The button are silver, but fit the SE steering wheel perfectly***

Thanks to TcamSE07 for the information

For anyone that may have an SE and want to try this "mod"... the part number for the steering wheel controls with the DISP (with Bluetooth) button is:

AU Toyota: 84250-06200-B0 (cheapest I found brand new was like $175 not including shipping)

It is very hard to find brand new however. If you do not have the right hand bluetooth controls at all and just want to replace your blank right steering wheel cover with the DISP style,

AU Toyota: 84250-06190-B0 (much cheaper option and a little more availability at $60 USD from various places online)

I wound up searching Australian eBay for either a used set of switches or a used steering wheel which had the switches, the latter being what I found. I reached out to the australian members on here and had jeffbro reply and he wound up shipping the steering wheel pads (sans the steering wheel to reduce shipping costs). jeffbro was awesome to work with and he hooked me up, since NO sellers on AU australia want to ship from Australia to USA.

AND Finally I will say that anyone that wants to be a little more experimental than I...

If you take apart your RH switch, you will see on the circuit board, "DISP" is printed and pads to solder a push-button and a resistor to the US market part are there. So I am assuming, since they are easier to find and cost much less, you could just get an extra set of switches (even just the cheaper, non bluetooth, left side) and use it as a donor for the circuit parts needed. Then you'll just have to figure out a way to make the non-moving blank pad be able to either move, or use some other way to press the DISP soldered pad...

****The more I was thinking about it... knowing the circuit board is the same (minus the actual DISP button), is might be worth just buying the second part number above for the $60.. and then just using that as a donor to your factory switch. That would give you the circuit board parts PLUS the factory button. You could not use the LED from the board to light it up, as I noticed it is more of a dark green than the aqua color (if I remember my original LED color correctly, as I've changed it from aqua/green, to white, now blue.) PRETTY sure the AU color was different from USA factory color...****

Last edited by baileyw813; 01-11-2016 at 12:51 PM. Reason: More information...
baileyw813 is offline  
post #11 of 61 Old 07-01-2014, 03:42 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hawaii/ Hong Kong
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by baileyw813 View Post
The LE might be different? The issue I believe you may run into with an LE is that the DISP is combined with the XLE right hand side controls which also include the auto-temp/AC controls (so you'd have some inop buttons on your steering pad.) But, if you don't mind the inop buttons, yeah, should be the same. If you take off the steering column lower cover, you'll see two connectors plugged into the bottom of the clock spring assembly (yellow and black.) Look at pin3 on the black connector and if it is empty, you'll need to run a signal wire from there to the back of the cluster (tap into the purple pin-22 wire, as its a serious P.I.A. to get to Junction3)

I'll try to write up a "how-to"

thanks for the great tip man, i will probably start it once my warranty is up. i just noticed that i will have useless button if i deicde to get the switch from xle ( my LE have no bluetooth and dual zone a/c, but i might add bluetooth though..... probably more easy since i can just swap whole wheel, run the wire, and i will get a nice wood+leather steering wheel as well.

i have watched the video again, i notice there is a blank page, i assume is the message Pax door open or drive door open..... something like that since my friend in hk have a camry also with muti function display like the XLE ( same gen , 06).... also, is all the warnning light work and gear selector light since mine LE is 1-2-3-4-d-n-r-p and your SE probably S-d-n-r-p i think ....... and mine doesnt have VSC/TRC, will it be a problem?


The Humble Car with Power ---- My power 1.8 GOA Corolla LE
Speedbird27 is offline  
post #12 of 61 Old 07-01-2014, 12:12 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Gen6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedbird27 View Post
i have watched the video again, i notice there is a blank page, i assume is the message Pax door open or drive door open..... something like that since my friend in hk have a camry also with muti function display like the XLE ( same gen , 06).... also, is all the warnning light work and gear selector light since mine LE is 1-2-3-4-d-n-r-p and your SE probably S-d-n-r-p i think ....... and mine doesnt have VSC/TRC, will it be a problem?
The blank window, is just an option to have it not show anything other than the odometer, which is normal. My in laws have an XLE and it does the same in theirs. And yes, when any of the doors, sunroof, trunk, hood, etc.. are open it does tell you which door is open. I was told that the computer which sends/receives the data from all the sensors is the same, no matter the model you have, LE, SE, XLE, so all the information will be calculated the same.

Yeah, all the warning lights work and my gear select work, as mine is the V6 SE. Is your LE a 2.4/2.5L? If so, I believe they do make the XLE in the 4 cyl which does not have the "sport" shift, so it would have the "1-2-3-4-d-n-r-p" instead of the sport... You'd have to look for clusters on ebay or something (avoiding the ones that are Hybrid models, which you can spot because the "tach" has a different section toward the top, I believe it is like a "charging" meter.) to make sure you can find the non-sport shift XLE. As I said, I am pretty sure they make a 4cyl XLE package which should include the info cluster w/o sport shift (which I think is specific to the 3.5L models.)

Last edited by baileyw813; 07-01-2014 at 12:15 PM.
baileyw813 is offline  
post #13 of 61 Old 07-01-2014, 01:52 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Gen6

Here are a couple images that may help reference what I was talking about in previouscomments...

This image below is behind the cluster and I am trying to focus attention to the small white junction block behind the bundled wires. It is nearly impossible to access, without removing dash/wire bundles.


This image is showing the two connectors which plug into the back of the cluster. The larger one, which is being pointed to, is the one which has the purple/grey wire at pin22 (not to be confused with the other SOLID purple wire at pin1) that is the signal wire coming from Junction block 3. Due to not being able to access the junction block as easily as I would have liked, I just ran a wire (which I spliced and even though it doesn't show, I soldered and heat wrapped, as well, after the picture) from here to the clock spring, lower black connector, pin3.



Once I am home, I will take apart and take more pictures of the steering wheel controls, as well as the clock spring connector...
baileyw813 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to baileyw813 For This Useful Post:
Olek (07-03-2014)
post #14 of 61 Old 07-02-2014, 06:10 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hawaii/ Hong Kong
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by baileyw813 View Post
The blank window, is just an option to have it not show anything other than the odometer, which is normal. My in laws have an XLE and it does the same in theirs. And yes, when any of the doors, sunroof, trunk, hood, etc.. are open it does tell you which door is open. I was told that the computer which sends/receives the data from all the sensors is the same, no matter the model you have, LE, SE, XLE, so all the information will be calculated the same.

Yeah, all the warning lights work and my gear select work, as mine is the V6 SE. Is your LE a 2.4/2.5L? If so, I believe they do make the XLE in the 4 cyl which does not have the "sport" shift, so it would have the "1-2-3-4-d-n-r-p" instead of the sport... You'd have to look for clusters on ebay or something (avoiding the ones that are Hybrid models, which you can spot because the "tach" has a different section toward the top, I believe it is like a "charging" meter.) to make sure you can find the non-sport shift XLE. As I said, I am pretty sure they make a 4cyl XLE package which should include the info cluster w/o sport shift (which I think is specific to the 3.5L models.)


thanks for answering my question man, very helpful. yes , mine is a 07 camry 2.4, japan built sample, i probably need to find a 4cylinder xle cluster than..... well, hope my warranty is up and theres camry parts car arounf my area lol. got a lot to do to transform my LE to a poor man XLE.


The Humble Car with Power ---- My power 1.8 GOA Corolla LE
Speedbird27 is offline  
post #15 of 61 Old 07-02-2014, 01:08 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Gen6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedbird27 View Post
thanks for answering my question man, very helpful. yes , mine is a 07 camry 2.4, japan built sample, i probably need to find a 4cylinder xle cluster than..... well, hope my warranty is up and theres camry parts car arounf my area lol. got a lot to do to transform my LE to a poor man XLE.
I've thought about adding the rear air vents to the back of the center console to be more XLE like. If you look behind the pocket below the AC controls, you'll see a capped off AC air tube. I'd need the tubing from there to the back of the center console. I don't think the XLE came in the charcoal center console, so the vents wouldn't match the color of the SE interior.

Last edited by baileyw813; 07-02-2014 at 01:20 PM. Reason: spelling/grammar
baileyw813 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > Camry 5th & 6th Gen (2002-2006 & 2007-2011)/2nd Gen Solara (2004-2008)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome