Hybrid battery replacement - Page 10 - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Camry Hybrid Discussion area for the Toyota Camry Hybrid. Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance all involving Americas favorite family car, the Toyota Camry.

 3Likes
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #136 of 198 Old 10-26-2015, 02:57 PM
Moderator
 
ukrkoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pac NW
Posts: 5,168
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 802 Post(s)
Thanks: 39
Thanked 436 Times in 383 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Hey, hey, look who's back! Good reading your voice, OJ!



ukrkoz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #137 of 198 Old 01-20-2016, 11:21 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Hybrid battery replacement

Ok guys, I know this has been covered somewhere in the forum, but I'm having a heck of a time finding it. I need general DIY info on replacing bad cells/blocks in my hybrid battery.
More specifically, I need to know if my measured voltages are an issue. 32 of the 34 cells measure 8.3v. The remaining 2 cells measure 7.1v each. I assume these cells need replaced or at least reconditioned. Any opinions?
Also, if I do purchase replacement cells, is there a process I should follow for charging or reconditioning before putting everything back together?
Anything you can offer is appreciated.
Thanks

Last edited by ukrkoz; 10-28-2017 at 08:58 AM.
426pilot is offline  
post #138 of 198 Old 01-20-2016, 12:37 PM
Official TN Member
 
snookwhaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Treasure Coast, FL
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Thanks: 28
Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 426pilot View Post
Ok guys, I know this has been covered somewhere in the forum, but I'm having a heck of a time finding it. I need general DIY info on replacing bad cells/blocks in my hybrid battery.
More specifically, I need to know if my measured voltages are an issue. 32 of the 34 cells measure 8.3v. The remaining 2 cells measure 7.1v each. I assume these cells need replaced or at least reconditioned. Any opinions?
Also, if I do purchase replacement cells, is there a process I should follow for charging or reconditioning before putting everything back together?
Anything you can offer is appreciated.
Thanks
It could just be corrosion. 2 links that might help you. 1st one is pics, 2nd is a video on removal:

http://imgur.com/gallery/j8Bcp/


2008 TCH Magnetic Grey on Black
280,000 miles

1999 Tacoma Prerunner SR5 V6/auto White on Oak
235,000 miles
snookwhaler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #139 of 198 Old 01-20-2016, 12:38 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 99338
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
What year is your car.....................
Kennewick Man is offline  
post #140 of 198 Old 01-20-2016, 01:02 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
2007.
426pilot is offline  
post #141 of 198 Old 01-20-2016, 01:04 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I definitely have a little corrosion, but the 2 cells with 7.1v concern me.
426pilot is offline  
post #142 of 198 Old 02-23-2016, 12:40 AM
Official TN Member
 
Protech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 99 Times in 82 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
How are you measuring the voltage? Are you just reading what the software says or are you physically measuring them with a meter? If you are reading the software, what condition (Ready on, ignition only)? I'm guessing you are physically measuring them yourself since the software looks at blocks.... I have replaced cells in at least a dozen Toyotas, Prius and Camrys. In every case, the good cells were all within tenths of volts of each other (.1V or .2V difference). Anything over about .5V difference when loaded indicated a possible problem. You are saying there is over a Volt difference. I would definitely recommend replacing the two low ones.

In my experience, if they don't hold voltage, they're done. Before I put some in that have been sitting around, I top up the charge to get them close to what the other cells read. The system will do it, but I worry less if I do it first. I am sure there are all kinds of ways you should charge them properly... but I have never had a problem by just hooking up a 12V trickle charger and leaving it on for 20 or 30 minutes at about a 2A rate until the voltage comes up. My charger (an automatic Black and Decker from Lowes) has a function to tests the voltage. I just run the charger for a bit, switch it off and test the voltage until it is where I want it, usually about 8 volts. As I said, never had a problem. The cells charge really fast, so don't leave them alone. Oh, yeah, and they swell when charged so I always put them in a vise with wood blocks on both sides to keep them in line. Don't know if it matters, but I do it anyway.

I have heard of companies that "refurbish" the cells. I have no idea how they do it or if it's bogus. Again, if the voltage drops too low, I put cells in. Sometimes they'll last for years, sometimes not so much, but I have never had a cell that I replaced fail...it's always the other ones.

You can clean the copper connectors up to drop the resistance, but lately I have seen the sensor wires break in some Camrys... I don't know why. The entire connector with the sensor harness down that side is only about $40 and well worth the investment. I've got one on order right now. In my opinion and experience, to really do it "right," replace the low cells, carefully clean all the ends of the cells, replace all the connector assemblies and replace all the nuts. Yep, the nuts. They are about $1 apiece and they do corrode. All of that will be around $200 plus the cells. All your connections are then new, and the battery should last for years!

Good luck!

Last edited by Protech; 02-24-2016 at 09:15 PM.
Protech is offline  
post #143 of 198 Old 04-17-2016, 05:08 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bobs Hutt
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Fixed) Replaced cells in hybrid battery, now wont start.

Its now throwing :
P0AE6 Hybrid Battery Precharge Contractor Control Circuit Low
P3105 Battery ECU Communication Circuit Malfunction

There were two cells that were much lower than the rest (6.2ish compared to 8) that I replaced.

Is there anyone who has done cell replacement that could give me a hand? Also after hours of searching I found almost zero info/videos on what to do once you get the actual battery out, and what you should be testing for before you put everything back together.

Last edited by LtDan; 04-24-2016 at 03:22 PM.
LtDan is offline  
post #144 of 198 Old 04-19-2016, 05:10 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bobs Hutt
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
So I goofed and forgot to hook up something, but after I did now I'm getting the P0AFA code indicating "Hybrid Battery System Voltage Low". I checked the voltage and am trying to determine what readings I should be getting
LtDan is offline  
post #145 of 198 Old 04-20-2016, 11:05 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Thanks: 49
Thanked 120 Times in 109 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I tried asking google and found this info which also came from toyotanation:

https://www.toyotanation.com/forum/62...n-battery.html
WhiteSands is offline  
post #146 of 198 Old 04-21-2016, 10:06 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bobs Hutt
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the link, that is actually what I forgot to do before my second post. I really thought I had it when I found that! But now it has the issue per the second post with P0AFA.
LtDan is offline  
post #147 of 198 Old 04-23-2016, 09:18 PM
Official TN Member
 
snookwhaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Treasure Coast, FL
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Thanks: 28
Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by LtDan View Post
Thanks for the link, that is actually what I forgot to do before my second post. I really thought I had it when I found that! But now it has the issue per the second post with P0AFA.
So, you had the disconnect in the wrong position when you tried to start it before? Assuming you disconnected 12v batt. and did all this over again, with the same result.

Let us know the outcome!

2008 TCH Magnetic Grey on Black
280,000 miles

1999 Tacoma Prerunner SR5 V6/auto White on Oak
235,000 miles
snookwhaler is offline  
post #148 of 198 Old 04-24-2016, 03:21 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bobs Hutt
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by snookwhaler View Post
So, you had the disconnect in the wrong position when you tried to start it before? Assuming you disconnected 12v batt. and did all this over again, with the same result.

Let us know the outcome!
Correct. I had everything as it should be and then got the low voltage error.... which is now fixed!

I opened everything back up and I had not tightened the bolt that connects one of the cells, so it wasn't getting a solid connection. After that it worked as it should!

Thanks everyone for the responses
LtDan is offline  
post #149 of 198 Old 01-15-2017, 05:09 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Hybrid battery maintenance

Just wondered if anyone here has used a prolong battery reconditioning unit. I have a 2008 with almost 150,000 miles on it and I'm starting to worry about battery replacement. You can buy these reconditioning units on Amazon for $460 so if this would prolong my battery life substantially it would be well worth the money. They also say it's better to do this before your battery has failed.
LWS86 is offline  
post #150 of 198 Old 01-15-2017, 05:59 PM
Moderator
 
ukrkoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pac NW
Posts: 5,168
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 802 Post(s)
Thanks: 39
Thanked 436 Times in 383 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
This package is ideal for people who have already degraded hybrid batteries, or batteries that are showing a fault (DTC) code.

At least maybe wait till they release the new discharge unit, instead of that piece of 2x4?
Also, you know it's 2 hr install time? Plus sitting there watching it while it works?



ukrkoz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Hybrid Forum > Camry Hybrid

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome