TPMS issues answered here - Page 5 - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Camry Hybrid Discussion area for the Toyota Camry Hybrid. Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance all involving Americas favorite family car, the Toyota Camry.

 3Likes
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #61 of 484 Old 03-07-2011, 11:20 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Canadian TCHs did not have TPMS. I don't know if current models have it here, but even my '09 does not have it.

I have never perused it to see if the ECU would have the programming and how much it would cost to get the monitors and the reset button installed. I suspect the price is way more than I would be willing to pay for it.
cdn_tch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 484 Old 05-16-2011, 06:31 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Tire Warning Button/System?

Can anyone help. My owners manual talks about some kind of tire low pressure warning system with a reset button on the passenger sice of the center console. My car does not have the button. A friend said my 2010 Camry Hybrid does have some kind of system related to the valve stem. Can anyone explain this to me; what if I want aftermarket wheels? Help!
splais is offline  
post #63 of 484 Old 05-16-2011, 07:03 PM
Need For Speed
 
arabianobsession's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 10,766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 190
Thanked 468 Times in 409 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
If you want aftermarket wheels you can generally swap over your sensors, otherwise the tire light on the dash will stay illuminated. For a TPMS reset button, check under the dash and in the glove box.

If you look at your valve stem, you will see that it's a silver metal, and hard, as opposed to a black rubber stem that's flexible. All newer cars have this system, although some use "band" sensors, so they still have the black rubber stem.

6 speed manual 2011 Camry SE
1995 Mustang-1994 Mustang GT
1985 AMC Eagle
arabianobsession is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 484 Old 05-16-2011, 07:09 PM
Officially Opinionated
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Open the glove box. There's a button on the left side (not inside the glove box) that can only be seen if the glove box is open.
danealle is offline  
post #65 of 484 Old 05-17-2011, 12:36 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
How does something in the valve stem send a signal to a light on the dash? I'll look for the button in the morning, but don't think it is there, just a hole.
splais is offline  
post #66 of 484 Old 05-17-2011, 09:02 AM
Need For Speed
 
arabianobsession's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 10,766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 190
Thanked 468 Times in 409 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
There's a sensor attatched to the valve stem. You can't see it because it's sitting on the rim, hidden by the tire. The sensor sends signals wirelessly to the computer to either tell it to leave the light off or turn it on.

6 speed manual 2011 Camry SE
1995 Mustang-1994 Mustang GT
1985 AMC Eagle
arabianobsession is offline  
post #67 of 484 Old 05-17-2011, 11:07 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
OK, thanks guys. I found the button inside the glove box. had me fooled because there is an empty square hole also inside the glove box on the left side.

So if I understand it. I can use aftermarket wheels if I decide I want too; just have to use the toyota valve stems.
splais is offline  
post #68 of 484 Old 05-17-2011, 12:22 PM
Need For Speed
 
arabianobsession's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 10,766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 190
Thanked 468 Times in 409 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Basically, yes. Just make sure they're compatible, some aftermarket wheels won't allow the sensors/valve stem to fit properly. Most should be fine, however

6 speed manual 2011 Camry SE
1995 Mustang-1994 Mustang GT
1985 AMC Eagle
arabianobsession is offline  
post #69 of 484 Old 04-12-2012, 05:27 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
TCH 2012 aftermarket TPMS supported?

OK, I finaly made the jump to TCH 2012, signed, sealed but NOT YET delivered (should have it tuesday or wednesday nite )

It is a TCH XLE Groupe B (Canada accessory package with sunroof and other toys), but it does not come with TPMS (Tire Pressure Monitoring System) but I think the on board display (with navigation and rear backup camera (not the JBL!)) might have the possibility to display TPMS data?

Did anyone add TPMS to TCH XLE Group B out there...

can anyone suggest a good (cheap ) TPMS aftermarket supplier that would be compatible with my onboard display...

I am HOPING to be able to display individual tire pressure directly on my display ... hoping!

thanks for the help...

Richard ve2dx
ve2dx is offline  
post #70 of 484 Old 04-25-2012, 12:34 PM
jox
New in OK
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Low pressure monitor

When test driving a 2012 XLE, I thought I saw all four tire pressures displayed. I know of the display that tells you have a low tire, but this was one of all four tires.

I have checked the books and can't find it and I have tried the displays and can't find it!

Did I just dream this or is there a way to get to a screen like that?

I did buy a 2012 XLE, just don't drive it often enough to have found all the little things about it.

Thanks

Jim
jox is offline  
post #71 of 484 Old 04-25-2012, 10:08 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
On mine with the Display Audio with Entune, all I have to do is click the "Car" button on the right side of the touchscreen (physical button, not a touchscreen button), and then there are 2 buttons: "Fuel Consumption" and "Tire Pressure". Press "Tire Pressure" and that brings me to the screen I think you are referring to.
ChrisC1234 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to ChrisC1234 For This Useful Post:
jox (04-25-2012)
post #72 of 484 Old 04-26-2012, 01:35 AM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Thanks: 49
Thanked 120 Times in 109 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Just got my new XLE hybrid a few days ago. I got the 7" navigation. When I press the tire pressure if the engine is started it gives the actual pressures per tire. Can't tell which tire due to each tire sensor being moved front to rear during tire balance and rotation. In time we may be able to tell which is right from left side tires.

Now we can look for any low tires that could overheat and puts lots of wear on a tire. Easy to tell if the tire is low up front, but hard to tell a low rear tire other than the car slows a lot more when coasting. Their is a also the same low tire alert in the instrument cluster. (!)

Last edited by WhiteSands; 04-26-2012 at 10:48 AM.
WhiteSands is offline  
post #73 of 484 Old 04-26-2012, 10:37 AM
jox
New in OK
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
That's it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisC1234 View Post
On mine with the Display Audio with Entune, all I have to do is click the "Car" button on the right side of the touchscreen (physical button, not a touchscreen button), and then there are 2 buttons: "Fuel Consumption" and "Tire Pressure". Press "Tire Pressure" and that brings me to the screen I think you are referring to.
Thanks a lot, that's what I was looking for. I do appreciate your info.

Jim
jox is offline  
post #74 of 484 Old 05-20-2012, 08:28 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: california
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
tire pressure indicator light

My tire pressure indicator light is still displayed after filling my tires and spare. How do I reset it (turn if off)?
mind4power is offline  
post #75 of 484 Old 05-21-2012, 12:59 AM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Thanks: 49
Thanked 120 Times in 109 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mind4power View Post
My tire pressure indicator light is still displayed after filling my tires and spare. How do I reset it (turn if off)?
Turn the Power switch (button) to ON.

The tire pressure reset button can be seen to the left once you open the glove-box.

Press and hold the tire pressure warning reset button until the tire pressure warning light blinks 3 times.
WhiteSands is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Hybrid Forum > Camry Hybrid

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome