TPMS issues answered here - Page 6 - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Camry Hybrid Discussion area for the Toyota Camry Hybrid. Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance all involving Americas favorite family car, the Toyota Camry.

 3Likes
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #76 of 484 Old 05-22-2012, 10:20 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: california
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
My light is still on. This is what I did: 1) turned on the ignition (light immediately began to blink), 2) held reset button for at least 3 blinks.
Do I need to push and hold the reset button before turning on the ignition? Is there a way to disengage and then re-engage the sensor?
Thanks.
mind4power is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 484 Old 05-22-2012, 01:01 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Thanks: 49
Thanked 120 Times in 109 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
No, the book says, do this with the car stopped, your tires should be cool, turn on the power button (no-brake), then press and hold the button reset switch (glove box) until the tire pressure warning light blinks slowly 3 times. If this don't work I would take the car to your dealer.

You might recheck each of your tire pressures when they are cold just to make sure they are similar. The toyota dealer should have the device that test the sensors to make sure they are ok. TPMS senders can be damaged by tire shops or can have a low battery if the car is 5 years or older. The newer cars, sender batteries last more like 8 years or longer.

Last edited by WhiteSands; 05-22-2012 at 01:28 PM.
WhiteSands is offline  
post #78 of 484 Old 05-23-2012, 05:31 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NE FL
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I would get the pressures checked one more time. I had that issue a couple weekends ago, and thought my tire pressure was fine, however a quick stop to the dealer revealed the front passenger side tire was low, and that was that.
jetsfan2012 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #79 of 484 Old 06-23-2012, 04:21 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: california
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Since my car is 5 years old, I'm thinking one of my sensor batteries may need to be replaced. Can I do this myself? If so, how? Thanks.
mind4power is offline  
post #80 of 484 Old 06-23-2012, 04:32 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NE FL
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
funny I have the same issue. gonna take it to the dealer to check pressure before resetting.
jetsfan2012 is offline  
post #81 of 484 Old 06-23-2012, 06:22 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: california
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I'm trying to avoid the cost (both money and time) of visiting the dealer. I'm thinking I should probably wait until I replace my tires and have this taken care of then.
mind4power is offline  
post #82 of 484 Old 06-23-2012, 06:29 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Thanks: 49
Thanked 120 Times in 109 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mind4power View Post
I'm trying to avoid the cost (both money and time) of visiting the dealer. I'm thinking I should probably wait until I replace my tires and have this taken care of then.
I read the sensors inside the tires should last from 5 to 8 years for the 2007 TCH. The new 2012's should last up to 10 years. I never looked at the 2009 though 2011 models to see the expediency of those sensor batteries.
WhiteSands is offline  
post #83 of 484 Old 06-23-2012, 06:41 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 21
Thanked 86 Times in 84 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetsfan2012 View Post
funny I have the same issue. gonna take it to the dealer to check pressure before resetting.
Your radio display does not show individual tire pressure readings?

2012 Camry I4 SE
Toyota Owner's Manual PDFs
If my post helped you, then thank you for the thank you.
doznI4SE is offline  
post #84 of 484 Old 06-24-2012, 01:06 AM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Thanks: 49
Thanked 120 Times in 109 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mind4power View Post
Since my car is 5 years old, I'm thinking one of my sensor batteries may need to be replaced. Can I do this myself? If so, how? Thanks.
Yes, you can do this yourself. You would have to break down the one tire that had the bad sensor. Do all four tires to replace all 4 sensors. The sensors come with the battery already attached. They are made as one unit.

I would think the new replacement sensors would last twice as long as the old ones. A independent or chain tire shop should be cheaper at replacing a single or all your tire sensors if they are suspect.

Last edited by WhiteSands; 06-27-2012 at 09:28 AM.
WhiteSands is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to WhiteSands For This Useful Post:
mind4power (06-24-2012)
post #85 of 484 Old 06-27-2012, 04:42 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NE FL
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by doznI4SE View Post
Your radio display does not show individual tire pressure readings?
no it doesnt
jetsfan2012 is offline  
post #86 of 484 Old 07-21-2012, 07:13 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 22151
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Thanks: 22
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
TPMS showing different PSI from my tire gauge

TPMS shows 40 PSI while my manual tire gauge shows 70 on 2 of the tires.

Also on one of my tire, I feel a little water coming out as I press the valve.

Tomorrow, I will go buy another tire gauge to see what it says.

Oz_TCH is offline  
post #87 of 484 Old 07-21-2012, 07:42 PM
ALSO AVAILABLE IN SOBER
 
Zembonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,460
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Thanks: 204
Thanked 849 Times in 691 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Many cheap gauges are far from accurate. I tossed two recently after I tested them on a known 50 psi source. One said 38 psi (a Discount tire chrome nice looking gauge) and one said 60 (Autozone cheapie).

I'd bet your TPMS is at least close to right.

03 Camry - 09 XB - 07 GMC Sierra - 14 Accord Sport
Zembonez is offline  
post #88 of 484 Old 07-21-2012, 08:54 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 22151
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Thanks: 22
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Just bought online a

Tire Pressure Gauge 0-60 PSI (JOES-32307)
by*Joes Racing Products

$18.99 amazon.com

Oz_TCH is offline  
post #89 of 484 Old 07-21-2012, 09:09 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 21
Thanked 86 Times in 84 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
That looks like a nice gauge. I've used for many years and recommend the Accutire MS-401B.

My TPMS readings matched the gauge by 0.5 PSI when I checked several times, so I trust the TPMS now and only use the gauge if I have to add/remove air.

2012 Camry I4 SE
Toyota Owner's Manual PDFs
If my post helped you, then thank you for the thank you.
doznI4SE is offline  
post #90 of 484 Old 07-21-2012, 10:22 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oz_TCH View Post
Just bought online a

Tire Pressure Gauge 0-60 PSI (JOES-32307)
by*Joes Racing Products

$18.99 amazon.com
I bought the same one. It was delivered today.
Curtis_TX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Hybrid Forum > Camry Hybrid

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome