DIY- Upgrade and extend stock battery wires - Page 2 - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Audio, Video, and Security - Tech For the electro-techies and the bass heads.

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #16 of 39 Old 08-21-2004, 06:28 AM
Car Breaker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 689
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Any specific brand wire, or just your basic 4 and 1 gauge wire from a hardware store? What kind of shrink wrap - generic whatever-you-can-find? That's a pimp battery, what kind is it too?

sorry, lol.
epborden is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 39 Old 08-21-2004, 07:21 AM
Grenaded piston
 
88 LE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Skoolin' the unlearned since 2001
Posts: 6,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally posted by epborden
Any specific brand wire, or just your basic 4 and 1 gauge wire from a hardware store?
A hardware store won't have what you want. They carry stuff used for house wiring and power panels. It has big solid strands and is not very flexible.

Goto a welding shop or stereo shop.

Welding cable:
https://www.delcity.net/tstore/servl...=185187&page=1

Quote:
What kind of shrink wrap - generic whatever-you-can-find?
Get some good stuff. Trust me on this.

You want the soft flexible plastic/rubber stuff. Not the hard plastic shit.

A electronics supply store will have the good stuff.

Quote:
That's a pimp battery, what kind is it too?
Optima (yellow top).

Red top = starting

Yellow top = deep cycle

Blue top = deep cycle marine

Orange top = same as red top, but terminals are reversed.

optimabatteries.com
stvotw likes this.

"Skoolin' the unlearned!"
88 LE is offline  
post #18 of 39 Old 08-29-2004, 11:56 PM
Black since 1985
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lanham, MD
Posts: 2,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
tag
Ruffrydasean is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19 of 39 Old 08-30-2004, 09:22 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
you can get those terminals on ebay for 41 + shipping..
oibone781 is offline  
post #20 of 39 Old 08-30-2004, 04:18 PM
Wazzaaap!
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
wait....so exactly what does doing all of this accomplish? more power? better sound quality?

was all that work and money worth it?

92 Camry v6 (3vz-fe)
mauibuilt59 is offline  
post #21 of 39 Old 08-30-2004, 04:22 PM
Got SQ?
 
eddiem67's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: bay area
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Yes it is, it is the most economical way to improve power to your amps, without upgrading alts or bats. but you also need to upgrade the alt wire and and alt ground wire as well (Big 3)

Iraggi Alt ->SVR ->Eclipse ->Tru Technology ->DLS / Image Dynamics / Marv Enclosure / Rammat
Gen 4 V6

For Sale: Adire Audio Sadhara Sub System, Bryston SP1 Video Switcher, Totem acoustics speakers
eddiem67 is offline  
post #22 of 39 Old 08-30-2004, 05:08 PM
Wazzaaap!
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
what is this big 3 you guys are always talking about? i never heard that term before

92 Camry v6 (3vz-fe)
mauibuilt59 is offline  
post #23 of 39 Old 09-14-2004, 08:06 PM
Official TN Member
 
Camryfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harwood Heights, IL (CHI-Town)
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Will this DIY work with a Gen. 3 Camry?
Camryfanatic is offline  
post #24 of 39 Old 08-08-2005, 04:56 PM
Lex Zues!
 
RedPhoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Palm Harbor, Florida
Posts: 4,900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader Score: 12 reviews
just confused about the fuse part.

Do we take the mess ot wires that is attactched to the battery termal and put all of that in its own terminal. then take the wire that leads to the trunk and hook that to the fues box too? have better pics or something, because im greatly confused


Sold ^

Quote:
Originally Posted by dysk8forlife
supercharger whine>girlfriend whine
RedPhoenix is offline  
post #25 of 39 Old 08-08-2005, 05:13 PM
.
 
cam2Xrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: southern california
Posts: 9,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Anybody ever considered using an Odyssey or Stinger Battery and not have to worry about extending the wires?

Just a suggestion.



The ratio of people to cake is too big. - Milton
cam2Xrunner is offline  
post #26 of 39 Old 08-08-2005, 05:38 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 63
Thanked 49 Times in 30 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Holy thread revival Batman!

96 Camry 4CYL 2DR 5SPD
5Sfte is offline  
post #27 of 39 Old 08-08-2005, 06:24 PM
Lex Zues!
 
RedPhoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Palm Harbor, Florida
Posts: 4,900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader Score: 12 reviews
Sorry, i need my question to be answered


Sold ^

Quote:
Originally Posted by dysk8forlife
supercharger whine>girlfriend whine
RedPhoenix is offline  
post #28 of 39 Old 08-08-2005, 10:28 PM
TN's furry friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 4,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 17 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by cam2Xrunner
Anybody ever considered using an Odyssey or Stinger Battery and not have to worry about extending the wires?

Just a suggestion.
which stinger model number would fit a gen 3 cam?

WhiteRabbit is offline  
post #29 of 39 Old 08-16-2005, 05:12 PM
.
 
cam2Xrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: southern california
Posts: 9,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteRabbit
which stinger model number would fit a gen 3 cam?
Check the dimensions of the Stinger Power2 SP1000 or the cousin of it, the PC1200MJT from Odyssey.



The ratio of people to cake is too big. - Milton
cam2Xrunner is offline  
post #30 of 39 Old 08-16-2005, 05:36 PM
TN's furry friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 4,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 17 reviews
^looks too small

my battery:

10"L x 6"W x 8"H

The optima D51R looks like itll fit perfect:

Dimensions- L9.5in x W 5.1in x H 9in



Last edited by WhiteRabbit; 08-16-2005 at 05:47 PM.
WhiteRabbit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Nation Forums > Audio, Video, and Security - Tech

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome