DIY : Transmission Filter Change - Page 2 - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Highlander 2nd Generation (2008-2013) Forum dedicated to the discussion of 2nd generation Toyota Highlanders.

 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #16 of 59 Old 04-06-2013, 02:56 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Mid Hudson Valley, New York
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Thanks: 25
Thanked 169 Times in 133 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I've become very wary of MaxLife after a bad experience with the stuff. If you read the applications info available on the Valvoline web site, they claim that MaxLife is compatible with almost everything under the sun. Dex/Merc-III, T-IV, WS and everything in-between.

Well, I tried it on my old Subaru, and nearly toasted the tranny. The lockup converter shudder and shift shock was unbelievable. It took two changes with a real Dex-III to get it back to normal.

So when you read something like this in a Toyota document:
ATF-WS is NOT compatible with T-IV or Dexron ATF how can one expect a "universal fluid" to work right? Sort of a Jack of All Trades, Master of None???
Fibber2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 59 Old 04-06-2013, 05:26 PM
02
 
JMSinMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: here
Posts: 4,179
Blog Entries: 1
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 228 Times in 199 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweeneyp View Post
Awesome, looking forward to it

EDIT: can you post how much fluid you ended up using total? It will give me a better idea of how much to get. I know specs are 9.3qts for FWD (U151E) and 9.5qts for AWD (U151F), but these things always seem to want more than required.
On my Sequoia with towing package it recommends 12.4, for Sequoia w/o towing package it recommends 11.7. Could this be the same with the HL? The towing package/transmission cooler requires more WS because of the extra plumbing required to incorporate the trans cooloer?
JMSinMD is offline  
post #18 of 59 Old 04-06-2013, 05:48 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the post.

Going to change the tranny fuild/filter in my wife's HL next month when she hits 120k. Plus spark plugs, install metal oil cooler line, etc.

Had GC for Lowes and picked up the Kobalt 14-piece 3/8-in Drive Xtreme Access Socket Set. Rather have too many tools than not enough.

Approx how much fluid came out when you did the drain and filter? Manual says 3.6 qts drain and fill. Did not know id this included dropping pan and filter.

Last edited by abimom; 04-06-2013 at 06:39 PM.
abimom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19 of 59 Old 04-06-2013, 06:54 PM
Resident Nutcase
 
sweeneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,138
Blog Entries: 8
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1252 Post(s)
Thanks: 644
Thanked 1,883 Times in 1,478 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMSinMD View Post
On my Sequoia with towing package it recommends 12.4, for Sequoia w/o towing package it recommends 11.7. Could this be the same with the HL? The towing package/transmission cooler requires more WS because of the extra plumbing required to incorporate the trans cooloer?
Well those specs are for the transaxle itself, so I bet they don't include whats needed for the cooler. I don't know if that includes the lines that go to the radiator or not either. The T cooler probably holds a quart or 2 more (at the moment my plan is to get 12 qts of WS ATF, but I'm waiting to see how much it took nov0798).

Quote:
Originally Posted by abimom View Post
Approx how much fluid came out when you did the drain and filter? Manual says 3.6 qts drain and fill. Did not know id this included dropping pan and filter.
The 3.6 is just the drain bolt and refill. There is more in the pan/filter (let alone whats in the torque converter). I had 3.8 come out when I just did the drain/refill.

List of Mods ---->>> 2008 FWD Highlander Limited

Last edited by sweeneyp; 04-06-2013 at 07:03 PM.
sweeneyp is offline  
post #20 of 59 Old 04-06-2013, 11:55 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dumfries, VA
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 23 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fibber2 View Post
The Sienna has at least 2, maybe 3 pan bolts blocked by the frame rail, so I purchased a mild offset boxed end wrench set to do the same trick. Hopefully these will allow me to get in there. http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/1006541...7#.UWBwQHfxn3M
I have some offsets such as you, however they would not work on my pan. The pan has a lip if you will (see my bad drawing),and wont allow the wrench to get in there.



The red part is the bolt, and black part is the pan
nov0798 is offline  
post #21 of 59 Old 04-07-2013, 11:14 AM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Mid Hudson Valley, New York
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Thanks: 25
Thanked 169 Times in 133 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Your drawing makes sense. I'll have to crawl under there in the coming week and see if I have the same situation. Visually it looked good, but I don't want to get all geared up to go and have to quit for want of another tool. Thanks.
Fibber2 is offline  
post #22 of 59 Old 05-04-2013, 09:50 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the write up and suggestion for the Kolbolt socket.

Just did it today with other things at 120k miles. Only did the pan fluid and filter. Added 5 quarts, will check tomorrow.

I bought the whole Kolbolt 1/4" set. Man it is my new favorite tool. Used it a lot doing the other maintenance on the vehicle: replacing the oil cooler line, spark plugs, etc. Thinking about maybe buying the 3/8" set now.
abimom is offline  
post #23 of 59 Old 05-04-2013, 09:53 PM
Resident Nutcase
 
sweeneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,138
Blog Entries: 8
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1252 Post(s)
Thanks: 644
Thanked 1,883 Times in 1,478 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
All of my ratchets and sockets are Kobalt (I got one of those 300 piece sets with 1/4, 3/8, and 1/2 sockets/ratches), I really like their hand tools. Can't go wrong with them, especially with the lifetime warranty.

List of Mods ---->>> 2008 FWD Highlander Limited
sweeneyp is offline  
post #24 of 59 Old 06-22-2013, 09:47 PM
Resident Nutcase
 
sweeneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,138
Blog Entries: 8
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1252 Post(s)
Thanks: 644
Thanked 1,883 Times in 1,478 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Words can not describe how much I wanted to take a hacksaw to that frame member...That thing was such a PITA to work around Those 4 that are under that frame, that took forever to get on/off. It took even long to get the freaking screw threads to catch to put them back in....lets just say there was a lot of cussing/cursing/yelling/whatever..I think I got my point through, needed to vent


ANYWAY, here are a few pics I took along the way:

I just thought this was funny, the parts guy gave me a weird look when I told him I needed 12qts of ATF WS, it ended up being an entire box. Another thing I found funny. Online retailers wouldn't ship me WS because their shipping company (Which was Fedex) considers it hazardous. Well label on that box, it was delivered to the dealership from a distrubution hub BY FEDEX.....wtf



And now, the color difference, obvious which side is new. It look like muddy water...



On to the magnets, mine didn't look anything like yours, mine shows the 100k miles. Dark fluid (I did a 3.5qt drain/fill 35k miles ago), COVERED magnets, I cringed a little bit. The magnets were absolutely covered with a magnetic sludge. I wiped most of it away, and there were still some metal filings, but it was more than I'd like to see...

(The picture above, the sludge is twice the thickness of the actual magnet)

(post wiping away the magnetic sludge)


Anyway, buttoning it up, all nice and shiny...

(and I just realized thats a pic of the old filter... )


The way i ended up doing it, I drained the fluid, swapped the filter, put in 5 qts, remove the line on the transmission cooler, drained 2qts, filled 2qts, drained 2 qts, filled 2 qts, drained 1 qt, filled 1 qt, that left me with 2 qts to get the level right. Took a whole qt to get it back up to where it should be. Now I have a spare qt.

List of Mods ---->>> 2008 FWD Highlander Limited

Last edited by sweeneyp; 06-23-2013 at 03:42 PM.
sweeneyp is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sweeneyp For This Useful Post:
Braumeister (06-23-2013), ggunn9 (04-03-2016)
post #25 of 59 Old 06-23-2013, 12:26 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St Peters mo
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Hope this is still here when I have 100k (5k now) on mine.
Braumeister is offline  
post #26 of 59 Old 09-20-2013, 10:03 PM
New TN User
 
Deererainman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Central KY
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by nov0798 View Post
I have some offsets such as you, however they would not work on my pan. The pan has a lip if you will (see my bad drawing),and wont allow the wrench to get in there.



The red part is the bolt, and black part is the pan
Looks like you need a set of these: http://www.ebay.com/itm/JH-WILLIAMS-...ht_2430wt_1399

I have a set of Craftsman Std/Metric. They come in handy and may work here.
Deererainman is offline  
post #27 of 59 Old 09-21-2013, 06:51 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
They might work. But by the picture they look too tall for a few of them.
abimom is offline  
post #28 of 59 Old 10-17-2015, 12:11 PM
T-Weeder
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Fergus Falls, MN
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 05Moose View Post
So a swivel socket wouldn't work on those hard to access bolts?
I am just about to do this on my wife's HL.
I wanted to check to see if I could get to all the transmission pan bolts and ran into the same problem with a couple of bolts covered by the frame.
I had a set of Craftsman Double Box End, Deep Off-Set wrenches, and they were my salvation. The 10mm / 11mm box wrench with the deep off-set was able to get to that bolt (and a few others) without a problem.
I will only be able to turn it about ľ turn at a time, but it will work. I think I paid under $30 for the entire set of 6-wrenches.
I'm wondering how hard it is going to be to get that bolt back in and get it started on re-assembly!
T-Weeder Tool is offline  
post #29 of 59 Old 10-17-2015, 12:14 PM
T-Weeder
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Fergus Falls, MN
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deererainman View Post
Looks like you need a set of these: http://www.ebay.com/itm/JH-WILLIAMS-...ht_2430wt_1399

I have a set of Craftsman Std/Metric. They come in handy and may work here.
I used a Craftsman, Deep Off-Set 10mm wrench and it worked great.
A regular off-set wouldn't work.
T-Weeder Tool is offline  
post #30 of 59 Old 10-25-2015, 09:26 AM
Catanzaro
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
What year is your Highlander? I was told by the dealer that they no longer use gaskets, but a silicone? It appears you have a gasket, unless I missed something.
Catanzaro is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Highlander Forum > Highlander 2nd Generation (2008-2013)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome