1981 toyota corona dlx sedan - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Corona Forum Specific discussion of the Toyota Corona

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 10-26-2016, 07:55 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Corona1209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
1981 toyota corona dlx sedan

Hey I have a mk3 w58 and soon going to be buying a 1jzgte non vvti. I was wondering if swapping that engine into my '81 corona will be possible without cutting the radiator support.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Corona1209 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-26-2016, 09:53 PM
ALSO AVAILABLE IN SOBER
 
Zembonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,460
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Thanks: 204
Thanked 849 Times in 691 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Looks like you need to break out the measuring tape. That and fabrication are about to be your friend. I have seen a few 2JZ-GTE Corona swaps online, but they seemed to require moving radiator ahead of the support and some firewall mods.

03 Camry - 09 XB - 07 GMC Sierra - 14 Accord Sport
Zembonez is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-26-2016, 09:56 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Corona1209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zembonez View Post
Looks like you need to break out the measuring tape. That and fabrication are about to be your friend.
Thanks man..I met a guy at ke conversions and he makes motor mounts and tranny mounts for my corona. I just gonna probably go that route and put the radiator in between of the support and grille, where the a/c condenser is located.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Corona1209 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 10-26-2016, 09:57 PM
ALSO AVAILABLE IN SOBER
 
Zembonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,460
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Thanks: 204
Thanked 849 Times in 691 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
It certainly can be done.

We'll need pics.

03 Camry - 09 XB - 07 GMC Sierra - 14 Accord Sport
Zembonez is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-26-2016, 10:00 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Corona1209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zembonez View Post
It certainly can be done.

We'll need pics.
Most definitely bud..I also want to manual swap my corona. I think there is factory holes for the clutch master cylinder already in the firewall, I think i just need to find a clutch pedal and clutch pedal bracket and I already have a mk3 w58 tranny. Any suggestions friend?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Corona1209 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corona Forum

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome