01-02 Corolla S Wheel/Airbag/Gauges plug right into 01 LE? - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Corolla 8th Generation (1998-2002) Specific discussion of the 8th generation

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 05-15-2019, 05:28 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Smile 01-02 Corolla S Wheel/Airbag/Gauges plug right into 01 LE?

Just picked up a 200k mile 01 LE, and was looking for stuff to freshen up the interior. The steering wheel is disgusting, so I was checking for new ones on ebay. I found the S wheel and it is beautiful.

My concern is the airbag, is it a direct plugin?

I then stumbled upon gauges...

Does my mileage transfer to the new gauges? And I guess they just plug in, it just looks like a red theme vs white theme (mine).

Thanks!!!

Last edited by ThoR294; 05-15-2019 at 07:07 PM.
ThoR294 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 05-15-2019, 11:20 PM
Official TN Member
 
topguncam3888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Leola, PA
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I couldn't tell you about the plug for the airbag. I'm not sure. But if you replace the current gauge cluster (say 150k miles) with another gauge cluster (120k miles), the mileage that will show will be from the new gauge cluster (120k miles). It won't be accurate to the car.

The best thing for changing the look of your gauges is changing the faces and light color. It's actually pretty easy and cheaper than replacing the whole gauge unit.
topguncam3888 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 05-16-2019, 12:48 AM
Moderator
 
75aces's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Valley of the Sun
Posts: 4,377
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 996 Post(s)
Thanks: 62
Thanked 212 Times in 206 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Is the steering wheel 3 spoke or 4 spoke? If it's 3 spoke, then you can source one from the 9th gen Corolla, 1st gen matrix/vibe, and last gen Celica.

Will need the clock spring from the donor to adapt properly if using the Celica.

In the garage,

9th Gen Corolla XRS
2012 Mazda 5

"If it ain't broke yet, it's probably still working like a Swiss time piece; until you open it up and all hell breaks loose"
75aces is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 05-16-2019, 08:33 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by topguncam3888 View Post
I couldn't tell you about the plug for the airbag. I'm not sure. But if you replace the current gauge cluster (say 150k miles) with another gauge cluster (120k miles), the mileage that will show will be from the new gauge cluster (120k miles). It won't be accurate to the car.

The best thing for changing the look of your gauges is changing the faces and light color. It's actually pretty easy and cheaper than replacing the whole gauge unit.
I actually found a set of gauges with 5k more miles than my car, so I think I'll just use them!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 75aces View Post
Is the steering wheel 3 spoke or 4 spoke? If it's 3 spoke, then you can source one from the 9th gen Corolla, 1st gen matrix/vibe, and last gen Celica.

Will need the clock spring from the donor to adapt properly if using the Celica.
Mine is 4? but the one i want is 3. I found a wheel from an 01 S corolla, but no airbag. I got an airbag from a celica, I believe they are the same.


Do any of you guys know about the 12v outlet near the hand brake? My car is pre-wired for it. Is there a part # or something so I can order one? The coin slot is useless for me and I'd rather have extra power there!
ThoR294 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 05-17-2019, 05:19 AM
Moderator
 
75aces's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Valley of the Sun
Posts: 4,377
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 996 Post(s)
Thanks: 62
Thanked 212 Times in 206 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
For the 12v outlet, you can cut off the quick connect and solder new wires to extend it to the new location or, find another power source near the driver side kick panel junction box.

Just take the outlet from the junkyard and inspect it for burning.

In the garage,

9th Gen Corolla XRS
2012 Mazda 5

"If it ain't broke yet, it's probably still working like a Swiss time piece; until you open it up and all hell breaks loose"
75aces is online now  
post #6 of 11 Old 05-20-2019, 08:33 PM
Beware of pigs
 
Buurin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,414
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Thanks: 19
Thanked 96 Times in 78 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
I think only the taller rear center console of the 01-02 LE has room for the extra 12V outlet. The CE and older models only have one coin holder there, where the RS3000 indicator and glass sensor mic go. An older standard rectangular blank could also fit there. That spot in my car houses my fuel cutoff switch and an alternator isolation switch which I had since disabled. hehehe
Buurin is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 05-21-2019, 07:49 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by 75aces View Post
For the 12v outlet, you can cut off the quick connect and solder new wires to extend it to the new location or, find another power source near the driver side kick panel junction box.

Just take the outlet from the junkyard and inspect it for burning.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buurin View Post
I think only the taller rear center console of the 01-02 LE has room for the extra 12V outlet. The CE and older models only have one coin holder there, where the RS3000 indicator and glass sensor mic go. An older standard rectangular blank could also fit there. That spot in my car houses my fuel cutoff switch and an alternator isolation switch which I had since disabled. hehehe
So 2 things:

12v Outlet connector in my center console has no power. So I guess I have to steal power from somewhere, or is there a fuse/relay missing? Why would it be pre-wired and not have power?

2nd thing:

My fuse box below steering wheel has a spot for fog lights, and it's "wired" as it has metal connectors in it, and theres a 20a fuse there. My car has fog lights in the bumper, which have bulbs and are wired, but I do not have the fog light knob on my combination switch..... should I just buy one with the fog light switch and roll the dice?
ThoR294 is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 05-21-2019, 07:53 PM
Moderator
 
75aces's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Valley of the Sun
Posts: 4,377
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 996 Post(s)
Thanks: 62
Thanked 212 Times in 206 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Did you try plugging the wire harness to the outlet?

I don't think there's a fuse on that circuit. It only gets power when the key is on acc or KOER.

In the garage,

9th Gen Corolla XRS
2012 Mazda 5

"If it ain't broke yet, it's probably still working like a Swiss time piece; until you open it up and all hell breaks loose"
75aces is online now  
post #9 of 11 Old 05-21-2019, 08:06 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 75aces View Post
Did you try plugging the wire harness to the outlet?

I don't think there's a fuse on that circuit. It only gets power when the key is on acc or KOER.
What do you mean?

This is what I checked for power at using a voltmeter



Had KOEO. my cig lighter had power so I figured that would also
ThoR294 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 05-22-2019, 10:56 PM
Beware of pigs
 
Buurin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,414
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Thanks: 19
Thanked 96 Times in 78 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThoR294 View Post
So 2 things:

12v Outlet connector in my center console has no power. So I guess I have to steal power from somewhere, or is there a fuse/relay missing? Why would it be pre-wired and not have power?

2nd thing:

My fuse box below steering wheel has a spot for fog lights, and it's "wired" as it has metal connectors in it, and theres a 20a fuse there. My car has fog lights in the bumper, which have bulbs and are wired, but I do not have the fog light knob on my combination switch..... should I just buy one with the fog light switch and roll the dice?
The center 12V someone with access to a 01-02 factory wiring diagram will have to chime in.

Fog light... It's all wired. Get FOG fuse, fog relay (orange socket near where the blinker is), fog stalk, fog lights and bulb, then it should work. Fog switch get from a 01-02 S off junkyard or rockauto. Search here for the part number. You didn't say if you have the relay, but you got everything else. Relay and switch should be plug and play then it should all work. Finally, tail light must be on before fog light can come on.
Buurin is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Buurin For This Useful Post:
ThoR294 (05-23-2019)
post #11 of 11 Old 05-23-2019, 07:07 AM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buurin View Post
The center 12V someone with access to a 01-02 factory wiring diagram will have to chime in.
Hopefully. I tried looking for the fuse that people talk about BEHIND the instrument cluster fuse box but I cannot find it. 0 pictures! ughhh

Quote:
Originally Posted by buurin View Post
Fog light... It's all wired. Get FOG fuse, fog relay (orange socket near where the blinker is), fog stalk, fog lights and bulb, then it should work. Fog switch get from a 01-02 S off junkyard or rockauto. Search here for the part number. You didn't say if you have the relay, but you got everything else. Relay and switch should be plug and play then it should all work. Finally, tail light must be on before fog light can come on.
That's what I am gathering. The fog fuse is already in there (behind storage tray under steering wheel), just bought the relay.. I think it goes here?


I bought a fog combination switch, and there are already fog lights/bulb. I think previous owner gave up after installing fogs and fog fuse lol.
ThoR294 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > Corolla 8th Generation (1998-2002)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome