How to disable TPMS - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Corolla 10th Gen/2nd Gen Matrix (2009-2013) A place to discuss all things 10th Gen Corolla and 2nd Gen Matrix.

 10Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 38 Old 10-16-2010, 06:17 PM Thread Starter
Monster Energy
 
eagleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brampton, ON
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
How to disable TPMS

hi , i was wondering if anyone has figured out a way to disable the Tire pressure monitior system yet ? i read on other forums for other toyota's that there is a wire you can cut and ground? does anyone know ?



2010 Corolla S
2002 S10
eagleone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 38 Old 10-16-2010, 06:28 PM
Senior TN Member
 
flamedrgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 22
Thanked 86 Times in 83 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
why would you disable the tpms? its just a light that pops up.

flamedrgn is offline  
post #3 of 38 Old 10-16-2010, 06:44 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by flamedrgn View Post
why would you disable the tpms? its just a light that pops up.
Because you don't want to see the light when you have your winter tires on. And you refuse to pay $400 for new sending units and a service appointment every spring and fall to reprogram the computer for the different sending units.

TPMS is the biggest money grabbing scam going!
dvfisher is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to dvfisher For This Useful Post:
corollacoaster (06-20-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 38 Old 10-16-2010, 06:55 PM
Senior TN Member
 
flamedrgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 22
Thanked 86 Times in 83 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
i see. i woulda just deal with the light but if you guys find out anything tell me. i wanna take the tpms out so i can change the tires myself instead of paying 20 per.

flamedrgn is offline  
post #5 of 38 Old 10-16-2010, 07:10 PM
Senior TN Member
 
thestone11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton,Canada
Posts: 1,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 46 Times in 44 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Take a little piece of paper tape it on the dash to cover that TPMS light...and you are good to go.

1985 Corolla GTS (AE86)
2002 Mazda Protege 5 (Sold)
2009 Corolla S: http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3820536
thestone11 is offline  
post #6 of 38 Old 10-16-2010, 08:22 PM
2001 Camry XLE 1MZ-FE
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Thanks: 289
Thanked 452 Times in 307 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagleone View Post
hi , i was wondering if anyone has figured out a way to disable the Tire pressure monitior system yet ? i read on other forums for other toyota's that there is a wire you can cut and ground? does anyone know ?
I don't know if this will work or not. I read it on one of the forums, it sounded plausible, but I can't be 100% sure it will work.

The guy said he took the TPMS sensors and wrapped them in bubble wrap, and then went to Home Depot and got a 12" length of 3" ABS pipe, maybe it was 4", I can't remember for sure. Along with the ABS pipe he got two 3" end caps. Then he drilled and tapped the endcap with threads to accept a schrader valve, Then he stuffed the TMPS sensors in the ABS pipe, sealed both ends, pressurized the ABS pipe with the TPMS sensors in it to 32 lbs and stuck the pipe in the trunk. All the sensors transmitted to the ECU, and all was well. If the TPMS sensor light comes on, just add some air to the pipe.

If this really does work, and I see no reason it shouldn't, then you can do this once, and never have to worry about programming the damn things, just let them live happily ever after in your trunk, none the wiser.


.

2000 Camry LE 6-cyl, 77,000 - 230,000, traded it for a
2001 Camry XLE, 6-cyl, 87,000 - 165,000 and counting.

Last edited by ajkalian; 10-16-2010 at 08:27 PM.
ajkalian is offline  
post #7 of 38 Old 10-16-2010, 08:29 PM
Senior TN Member
 
flamedrgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 22
Thanked 86 Times in 83 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajkalian View Post
I don't know if this will work or not. I read it on one of the forums, it sounded plausible, but I can't be 100% sure it will work.

The guy said he took the TPMS sensors and wrapped them in bubble wrap, and then went to Home Depot and got a 12" length of 3" ABS pipe, maybe it was 4", I can't remember for sure. Along with the ABS pipe he got two 3" end caps. Then he drilled and tapped the endcap with threads to accept a schrader valve, Then he stuffed the TMPS sensors in the ABS pipe, sealed both ends, pressurized the ABS pipe with the TPMS sensors in it to 32 lbs and stuck the pipe in the trunk. All the sensors transmitted to the ECU, and all was well. If the TPMS sensor light comes on, just add some air to the pipe.

If this really does work, and I see no reason it shouldn't, then you can do this once, and never have to worry about programming the damn things, just let them live happily ever after in your trunk, none the wiser.


.
ive read something similar but it was drilling holes in the pipe and mounting all 4 onto the pipe then filling it up to 32psi.

flamedrgn is offline  
post #8 of 38 Old 10-16-2010, 08:56 PM
Diehard Rams Fan
 
SuperchargedMR2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 19,925
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2006 Post(s)
Thanks: 723
Thanked 1,334 Times in 1,204 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajkalian View Post
I don't know if this will work or not. I read it on one of the forums, it sounded plausible, but I can't be 100% sure it will work.

The guy said he took the TPMS sensors and wrapped them in bubble wrap, and then went to Home Depot and got a 12" length of 3" ABS pipe, maybe it was 4", I can't remember for sure. Along with the ABS pipe he got two 3" end caps. Then he drilled and tapped the endcap with threads to accept a schrader valve, Then he stuffed the TMPS sensors in the ABS pipe, sealed both ends, pressurized the ABS pipe with the TPMS sensors in it to 32 lbs and stuck the pipe in the trunk. All the sensors transmitted to the ECU, and all was well. If the TPMS sensor light comes on, just add some air to the pipe.

If this really does work, and I see no reason it shouldn't, then you can do this once, and never have to worry about programming the damn things, just let them live happily ever after in your trunk, none the wiser.


.
It sure sounds like this would work okay.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flamedrgn View Post
ive read something similar but it was drilling holes in the pipe and mounting all 4 onto the pipe then filling it up to 32psi.
And it sounds like this would be an even better solution.

89 Supercharged White MR2 5MT/09 Corolla S TURBO CSM 5MT
17 Corolla iM CSM 6MT/ 17 RAV4 XLE MGM
95 Previa S/C White AT/06 Scion xB MT/10 Prius III Blizzard Pearl
SuperchargedMR2 is offline  
post #9 of 38 Old 10-17-2010, 12:11 AM Thread Starter
Monster Energy
 
eagleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brampton, ON
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
thanks for the ideas but i think im just going to do it the right way and swap out the sensors from my original rims to my new ones , its $100 to do it at the dealer , then i know its done



2010 Corolla S
2002 S10
eagleone is offline  
post #10 of 38 Old 10-17-2010, 03:02 AM
Diehard Rams Fan
 
SuperchargedMR2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 19,925
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2006 Post(s)
Thanks: 723
Thanked 1,334 Times in 1,204 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagleone View Post
thanks for the ideas but i think im just going to do it the right way and swap out the sensors from my original rims to my new ones , its $100 to do it at the dealer , then i know its done
I had America's Tire Company switch mine when I bought my new wheels for nothing. Why should you have to pay to switch the stems? They don't need to have anything done at the dealer if you are using your original sensors.

89 Supercharged White MR2 5MT/09 Corolla S TURBO CSM 5MT
17 Corolla iM CSM 6MT/ 17 RAV4 XLE MGM
95 Previa S/C White AT/06 Scion xB MT/10 Prius III Blizzard Pearl
SuperchargedMR2 is offline  
post #11 of 38 Old 10-17-2010, 05:57 PM
Owner of much Obsolete
 
Jeff Lange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 2,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 142 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestone11 View Post
Take a little piece of paper tape it on the dash to cover that TPMS light...and you are good to go.
You'd rather look at a piece of tape on your dash than seeing a light on? Yuck.

Tire pressure light wire is pin 7 on the combination meter (pink on USA/Canada made cars, purple on Japan made cars).

Use that information however you want to.

Jeff


2011 Lexus IS350 6MT F-Sport with LSD
1986 Toyota Corolla GT-S Supercharged with TRD Stuff
1993 Toyota Previa 5MT Studded Ice Race Van
Jeff Lange is offline  
post #12 of 38 Old 10-17-2010, 07:53 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 15
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
my experience with the metal stems has been a war. as they get older the aluminum gets brittle and just snaps like an old ladys hip. I personally would love to disable the tpms and replace the metal stems for rubbers. remember rubbers never hurt anyone. always practice safe tire inflation. lol

2010 Toyota Corolla Xrs
Manual Trans
DeltaViper is offline  
post #13 of 38 Old 10-17-2010, 08:13 PM
ALSO AVAILABLE IN SOBER
 
Zembonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,460
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Thanks: 204
Thanked 849 Times in 691 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I'm completely ANTI government nanny typically but TPMS has saved me twice from ruining a 20 inch wheel and tire while on road trips.

Good and bad.

03 Camry - 09 XB - 07 GMC Sierra - 14 Accord Sport
Zembonez is offline  
post #14 of 38 Old 10-18-2010, 07:53 AM
Ask your Mother
 
sinnaever's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halton Region, Ontario
Posts: 2,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 60
Thanked 100 Times in 77 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Lange View Post
You'd rather look at a piece of tape on your dash than seeing a light on? Yuck.

Tire pressure light wire is pin 7 on the combination meter (pink on USA/Canada made cars, purple on Japan made cars).

Use that information however you want to.

Jeff
Best answer on this topic to date...

I just deal with the light personally. The TPMS is handy to have though on my summers. Its a shame they don't offer the ability to program two sets of sensors into the Corollas.

I would leave it though. The light isn't that annoying. But to each their own.


sinnaever is offline  
post #15 of 38 Old 10-18-2010, 11:43 PM
Diehard Rams Fan
 
SuperchargedMR2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 19,925
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2006 Post(s)
Thanks: 723
Thanked 1,334 Times in 1,204 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinnaever View Post
Best answer on this topic to date...

I just deal with the light personally. The TPMS is handy to have though on my summers. Its a shame they don't offer the ability to program two sets of sensors into the Corollas.

I would leave it though. The light isn't that annoying. But to each their own.
+1

I don't even notice the light after a few days with my winter tires.

89 Supercharged White MR2 5MT/09 Corolla S TURBO CSM 5MT
17 Corolla iM CSM 6MT/ 17 RAV4 XLE MGM
95 Previa S/C White AT/06 Scion xB MT/10 Prius III Blizzard Pearl
SuperchargedMR2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > Corolla 10th Gen/2nd Gen Matrix (2009-2013)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome