I'm replacing rod bearing. Should I replace the engine b, thrust washers? - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Avalon 1st Generation (1995-1999) Specific discussion of the first generation Toyota Avalon

1Likes
  • 1 Post By OleAvalon

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 01-18-2019, 04:13 PM Thread Starter
New TN User

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
I'm replacing rod bearing. Should I replace the engine b, thrust washers?

Hi everyone hopefully I'm posting in the right place sorry Im a noob.
1mz-fe engine. I bought a rering and gasket it. I've tried to watch videos and do other research but can't find much.

And the engine is in

Should I replace all that I have that can be?
If the rod bearing are bad will everything else associated with those bearing be bad too?

I don't know that much I'm just watching a lot of YouTube and reading.

Is any of that extra tricky to do ?

Any info any suggestions tips anything to make it easier is all much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 01-18-2019, 04:16 PM
Senior TN Member

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Quoted: 758 Post(s)
If you don't know what you are doing and replacing, I'd recommend taking it to a shop because there are clearances you need to check and if you don't check them there is potential for catastrophic engine damage among other minor but important things. A engine swap is just what it is, a swap. A engine rebuild is more than just swapping parts.

post #3 of 5 Old 01-18-2019, 05:15 PM
Official TN Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Vangm25 mentions clearances... is your engine knocking, bottom-end knocking, as in bad rod bearings?