Tire pressure warning light and TPMS - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Avalon 3rd Generation (2005-2012) Specific discussion of the third generation Toyota Avalon

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 11-13-2011, 07:55 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Tire pressure warning light and TPMS

Ok all those fellow Avalon Limted owners running winter wheels and tires or any wheels without the pressure monitors. Here is the deal. I bought a set of steel wheels and Ice-x winter tires for the upcoming winter here in Michigan. I decided not to have them install the pressure sensors as I was told the car has to be calibrated to each set and the cost of the sensors was way more than the benefit. Anyway, I expected the warning light to come on and stay on, but to my surprise the light was not on and didn't come on. I thought that perhaps the system was intelligent enough to realize that all 4 sensors were removed and did not turn the warning light on. Then on the way home the other night (after over 1000 miles of driving with the new wheels and tires) all of a sudden the light started to flash and then stayed on. Now each time I start the car the light blinks for a bit and then stays solid. Is this normal? Was I just lucky that the light didn't come on from day one? Any value added thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks
Chad
avalon35 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 11-13-2011, 08:10 PM
2013 Tacoma
 
Billiam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 125
Thanked 75 Times in 71 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Yep this is normal. The system only compares sensor values from time to time. However, if there is a catastrophic failure it would trigger immediately.

BTW, where are your stock wheels/tires stored? If they are near your car when you park, the system will probably reset each time...which means you might not have a warning light at the first of each start-up.

As for price? It has come way down in the last year or so. OE sensors can be purchased from ebay for less than $100. Pacific brand # PMV-107J is what you want. Some tires shops will program for free. A piece of electrical for the light works too.

If you want to enjoy your car....stay off the internet.

Last edited by Billiam; 11-13-2011 at 08:11 PM.
Billiam is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-14-2011, 10:33 AM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Thanks: 114
Thanked 108 Times in 91 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
It takes a while for the sensor to collect data I guess. I think after a while, you will get used to the warning light on the dash. I am with you, just don't see any reason why need to spend another $ for TMPS for winter tires
grandpapa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 11-23-2011, 12:52 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: north carolina
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I have 2007 highlander with similar problem except i have not changed wheels.. My light came on after latest tire change, was told would go out after driving a few miles, wrong, has been on constantly, went to dealer after checking all 4 tires for correct pressure. he said check the spare?, did that and still no relief.. I now drive with the light on constantly...Any suggestions???
punxsyguy is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 11-23-2011, 03:43 PM
2013 Tacoma
 
Billiam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 125
Thanked 75 Times in 71 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by punxsyguy View Post
I have 2007 highlander with similar problem except i have not changed wheels.. My light came on after latest tire change, was told would go out after driving a few miles, wrong, has been on constantly, went to dealer after checking all 4 tires for correct pressure. he said check the spare?, did that and still no relief.. I now drive with the light on constantly...Any suggestions???
The only reason the light triggers right after a tire change is that one of the sensors was damaged when removing or reinstall a tire. BTW, few Toyota's have a sensor in the spare.

If you want to enjoy your car....stay off the internet.
Billiam is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 11-24-2011, 05:22 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: north carolina
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I am confused, when I had new tires replaced at discount tire, I wanted to have the sensors repaired as they suggested when you buy new tires, but was told that my highlander wheels did not have the sensors in the wheels that it was some other system which they couldn't explain. I just had regular valve stems...which they replaced with new rubber stems.
punxsyguy is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 11-24-2011, 07:22 AM
2013 Tacoma
 
Billiam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 125
Thanked 75 Times in 71 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by punxsyguy View Post
I am confused, when I had new tires replaced at discount tire, I wanted to have the sensors repaired as they suggested when you buy new tires, but was told that my highlander wheels did not have the sensors in the wheels that it was some other system which they couldn't explain. I just had regular valve stems...which they replaced with new rubber stems.
The older TPM system used the ABS sensors to detect rotational speed differences between the wheels. An under inflated tire will rotate faster. After checking, it looks like your HL does not have the direct system (sensors in each wheel) but rather the older indirect system (ABS based). The ABS based system does not care what the actual pressure is, just whether there is matching rotational speed when driving in a straight line.

You need to first make sure that the cold tire pressure is consistent between all 4 tires. Then consult your owner's manual as to how to reset the system. There should be a reset button under the dash...probably under the steering column area...if I had to guess. Still not sure why it triggered though.

If you want to enjoy your car....stay off the internet.

Last edited by Billiam; 11-24-2011 at 07:24 AM.
Billiam is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-24-2011, 08:33 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: north carolina
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
1st, thank you for your support!! I have allways been checking the tire pressure when the tires are cold and making sure they are all the same pressure with my own gauge. In the past I have found the reset button and pushed it, the light goes out and then after driving for about 10 or 15 minutes "it comes back on"... until finding this site I decided I would just "live with the light". I appreciate your advice.
punxsyguy is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-24-2011, 09:32 AM
2013 Tacoma
 
Billiam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 125
Thanked 75 Times in 71 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by punxsyguy View Post
1st, thank you for your support!! I have allways been checking the tire pressure when the tires are cold and making sure they are all the same pressure with my own gauge. In the past I have found the reset button and pushed it, the light goes out and then after driving for about 10 or 15 minutes "it comes back on"... until finding this site I decided I would just "live with the light". I appreciate your advice.
I think it involves more than just pushing the button. I believe there is a sequence you need to go through to actually reset it. The manual should have it. If that doesn't work then there could be some other issue which would be difficult to diagnose over the web.

If you want to enjoy your car....stay off the internet.
Billiam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Avalon Forum > Avalon 3rd Generation (2005-2012)

Bookmarks

Tags
sensors , tpms , winter wheels

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome