Crossed Jumper Cable Wires - Avalon won't accelerate - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Avalon 3rd Generation (2005-2012) Specific discussion of the third generation Toyota Avalon

 1Likes
  • 9 Post By RealRicLess
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 04-26-2014, 11:12 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Exclamation Crossed Jumper Cable Wires - Avalon won't accelerate

Hello, I'm looking for an idea as to what the issue is here. I know I really screwed up when I accidently tried to jump my 2008 Avalon backwards (positive cable end to Negative battery terminal). It sparked and smoked. When I replaced the battery, the check engine light came on. I put the car in drive and could not accelerate out of idle/maybe a little above idle. Because the car is equipped with an intelligent Electronic Throttle Control System (ETCS) it says it will put the car in a Fail Safe Mode if one or both Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Signals are bad. When it does this, it limits the gas to the engine.

My best guess is the surge from hooking the cables backward fried the TPS sensor leading to the ETCS system to put it in Fail Safe Mode.

I have 2 questions:
  1. Does this sound right for a 2008 Avalon?
  2. If so, can the TPS be replaced on the Throttle Body, or will the whole Body have to be replaced?
Thanks,
Robby
spexarth74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 04-27-2014, 12:15 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Iowa
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The most likely reason you cannot accelerate is the fuse is blown in the circuit. I can not remember the name of the fuse off the top of my head but it should be in the fuse box under the hood. If you have a test light go that route.

Try that first before jumping to replacing costly parts
RealRicLess is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RealRicLess For This Useful Post:
2011 Avalon Limited (04-28-2014), Forever Corolla (04-27-2014)
post #3 of 11 Old 04-27-2014, 08:02 AM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Hey thanks. I will definitely go that route first.
spexarth74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 04-27-2014, 09:03 AM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
It worked !!!! I replaced the 10 amp fuse for the ETCS and worked like a charm. Everything works in the car as it should. Thank you so much. However, my check engine light still remains. Any thoughts? Can I unhook and rehook the batteries to reset the light?
spexarth74 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to spexarth74 For This Useful Post:
2011 Avalon Limited (04-28-2014)
post #5 of 11 Old 04-27-2014, 10:02 AM
Dave's
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: oklahoma
Posts: 1,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Thanks: 23
Thanked 129 Times in 125 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Last I knew if the cause is corrected the light should go out after several (20?) start cycles. Or many auto parts stores will check your codes and perhaps reset it at no cost.
Dave's is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-27-2014, 10:03 AM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: U. S. A.
Posts: 1,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Thanks: 51
Thanked 228 Times in 196 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
If you don't have a code reader that resets CELs, go to Auto Zone or one of those mass marketer parts place that does this have them reset the code. If it goes out - fine. If not - ask them to provide you with the code.

2015 2WD Toyota Tacoma Prerunner V6 SR5 1GR-FE 236HP
2014 2WD Toyota 4Runner SR5 1GR-FE 254 HP Dual VVT-i
2006 Toyota Avalon 3.5l automatic 2GR-RE
Mike Murrell is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-27-2014, 10:05 AM
Official TN Member
 
Forever Corolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Thanks: 99
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Stored for future reference: replace the 10 amp fuse for the ETCS

Turning off the check engine light: The easiest way to turn off the CEL (that I know of) is to head to Autozone (or nearest Autoparts Store) and have them hook up their OBD and reset the codes.

If you remove a battery cable, you will have to reprogram your Radio and probably a few other niceties.





Forever Corolla is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-27-2014, 11:22 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Iowa
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Glad to hear it worked! Can't believe I couldn't think of ETCS fuse. But hey good work and yeah unhooking the battery for 10 minutes will work or a parts store.
RealRicLess is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-27-2014, 12:59 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Thanks: 336
Thanked 527 Times in 487 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I been through this before with the 07 Avalon, wasn't my fault.
pmesfun is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-27-2014, 02:43 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Unhooking the battery worked clear the CEL. It has had 5 start cycles and has not come back. It appears I got off cheap.

I do have one other issue. The A/C blower isn't blowing fast. The air is ice cold, but the blower seems to be only at 50% of it's max RPM's. Is it possible that I blew the A/C fuse as well with this issue and it is in a fail safe mode? I've only had the car for a few days, and I can't remember if it had this symptom before I crossed the jumper cables or if it was pre-existing.

In parallel, I'm going to check the A/C fuses to see if any are broken.
spexarth74 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 11-01-2014, 09:18 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Unhappy Smae issue more problems though

Hello I did the same thing with a jump pack I read this thread replaced the ETCS fuse but now all the lights are still on after 2 days and when I accelerate too fast the power kinda cuts out as if i was hitting redline in a standard i have a 2005 avalon what would be causing this?
soldier730 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Avalon Forum > Avalon 3rd Generation (2005-2012)

Bookmarks

Tags
2008 , avalon , throttle body , throttle position sensor

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome