IQ Gas Tank Filling - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 02-07-2016, 07:38 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Angry IQ Gas Tank Filling

OK just recently bought an IQ. What is the deal with putting the gas tank? The tank light will be flashing, I stop to put gas in and the nozzle shuts off after 4 gals. It takes over 10 minutes to get gas as you can only put in 2/10 gal in at a shot after 4 gals. Love the car, but would never recommend it or buy another one. A real pain to get gas. Is there a fix?
organmark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 02-08-2016, 09:23 AM
Safe under my blankie..
 
HATEnFATE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: With Sally
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Thanks: 156
Thanked 214 Times in 177 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
If you didn't buy it new, something might be broken. You can't be pissed off at the car because the previous owner may have broken something.

Was she a Gravel driven car before you got her??
My guess is that canister and Filter are clogged and causing the fuel to bubble back up the pipe and click the filler off....
Previous owner could have been the kind that fills click after click until they see the gas in the pipe.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The ONCE-LER
"Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better, it's not."

Last edited by HATEnFATE; 02-08-2016 at 09:29 AM.
HATEnFATE is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 10-16-2017, 08:24 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cleveland Oh
Posts: 11,288
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2372 Post(s)
Thanks: 1,278
Thanked 300 Times in 292 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by organmark View Post
OK just recently bought an IQ. What is the deal with putting the gas tank? The tank light will be flashing, I stop to put gas in and the nozzle shuts off after 4 gals. It takes over 10 minutes to get gas as you can only put in 2/10 gal in at a shot after 4 gals. Love the car, but would never recommend it or buy another one. A real pain to get gas. Is there a fix?

Did you finally figure this out?
zythr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Division and International Models Forums > Scion Forum > Scion iQ Forum

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome