C150N to C160N ??? possibilties ???? - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Yaris/Scion iA, Vitz and Echo Forum Discussion area for all the Toyota Yaris/Scion iA, Echo, and Vitz owners worldwide.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 Old 11-13-2005, 01:04 AM Thread Starter
"I BUILD SLEEPERS"
 
Wraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wrecking havoc in your nightmares
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
(Thread Starter)
C150N to C160N ??? possibilties ????

First Off I'd like to apologize to the people I told that the final drive was 3.930 ... I recently double checked with Toyota about the final drive which is 3.526

This thread is a spec sheet for the conversion I'll be doing this end of the month ... C150N which is our tranny to C160N which is the 6spd off a '96 to '97 AE111 Black Top 20valved Levin Corolla...

heres your specs:
GEAR C150N C160N
1st---------------------3.545---------------------3.166
2nd---------------------1.904---------------------2.050
3rd---------------------1.310---------------------1.481
4th---------------------0.969---------------------1.166
5th---------------------0.815---------------------0.916
6th-------------------------------------------------0.725
reverse----------------3.250--------------------3.250
Final Drive------------3.526---------------------4.529

USPSA# TY72824 = Grand Master of Inconsistency
Jan to Jun 2014 Videos:
Click here
Jun to Dec 2014 Videos:
Click Here
Wraith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 12-10-2005, 11:38 AM
zen is in the next corner
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Salem, VA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Very, very interesting.

Any news on this project?
Porter is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 12-10-2005, 12:11 PM Thread Starter
"I BUILD SLEEPERS"
 
Wraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wrecking havoc in your nightmares
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
(Thread Starter)
I posted this awhile back in the echodrivers forum...

ok guys ... I was shown the light tonight... I stand corrected ... I went on with a long and informative conversation with KAAZ's head Tech guy Saji and he said that their is no way of actually converting the C150 into a C50 input shaft or final drive... So the only way to do it is convert over into a C50 trans from a XB, XA, MR2 Spyder, Corolla, or 1zz-fe Celica... The way to do it is using the XB and XA because it should bolt right up ... But the problem with the rest is the housings are different...

I saw my car finally and didnt know that the 6spd was already in and then taken out because of the wrong bearing... But, anyway they need to cut my frame to make the 6spd fit but they also boxed welded the part of the frame they cut which means its alot stronger...

My original theory of swapping tranny case over was also wrong... I had originally thought that you would need to convert over the internals into our case... But, heres the brake down ... You need to swap bell housings and the rest is C160 (make sure its a C160 6spd off a Levin BZG Black top 20Valve) then the rest is history ... Everything else bolts up except your required to cut...

I apologize if I gave the wrongfull information... These was my theory and thought it thru every angle except for this one... i.e. the cutting

Please make sure you get the C160 because the difference in the axles are big. Between the C160 and te C60 off the Celica

But, by this time tomorrow... I will be officailly the first 6spd Echo in the world... Thanx to KAAZ

USPSA# TY72824 = Grand Master of Inconsistency
Jan to Jun 2014 Videos:
Click here
Jun to Dec 2014 Videos:
Click Here
Wraith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 Old 12-11-2005, 09:42 AM Thread Starter
"I BUILD SLEEPERS"
 
Wraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wrecking havoc in your nightmares
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
(Thread Starter)
OK guys ... heres what I've learned...
1st gear = 30mph
2nd gear= 45mph
3rd gear= 65mph
4th gear= 80 to 85mph
5th gear= I havent been able to redline this gear yet...

80 mph on 6th gear your cruising at 3850rpm

USPSA# TY72824 = Grand Master of Inconsistency
Jan to Jun 2014 Videos:
Click here
Jun to Dec 2014 Videos:
Click Here
Wraith is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 03-18-2006, 10:57 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St-Etienne, Quebec
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
seems like the 3rd is slower than the C150, it should hit the redlight around 90 mph.
correct me if im wrong. sadly these car have a speed limiter. so it stops at 110mph.
my '93 rolla stops at 110mph in 5th gear BUT stop at 115mph in 4th, kinda strange heh.
at least the 6th gear idle lower, so its the only good thing about a 6th gear, better gas mileage too i supose!
i wish all the echo/yaris would have a 6spd tranny. that would be fucking sweet

'93 AE102 LE 1.8 5spd
'77 TE31 Deluxe 2TC 3spd Auto
Cabanon is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 04-18-2006, 05:13 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Valdosta, GA, U.S.
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith
My original theory of swapping tranny case over was also wrong... I had originally thought that you would need to convert over the internals into our case... But, heres the brake down ... You need to swap bell housings and the rest is C160 (make sure its a C160 6spd off a Levin BZG Black top 20Valve) then the rest is history ... Everything else bolts up except your required to cut...
Ok, I posted this over at Echodrivers a couple of days ago, but have yet to recieve a response. Anybody on here know?

If the C160 bolts up to the stock mounting points, do you think that this means that the C56 (5-speed version) off of a AE101/111 would have the same mounting points? Isnt the C160 longer than the C56 due to the extra gear?

I know there is a lot of hopeing, but maybe no cutting is needed for the C56 swap? Anybody tried it?
I WANT A TRANNY THAT CAN TAKE A LSD!
richard_rsp is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 07-14-2008, 01:28 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
OK guys ... heres what I've learned...
1st gear = 30mph
2nd gear= 45mph
3rd gear= 65mph
4th gear= 80 to 85mph
5th gear= I havent been able to redline this gear yet...

80 mph on 6th gear your cruising at 3850rpm
thats strange... either i got some freak 6 speed or there is something wrong.

Stock alloys 14" i get the following with the 6 speed transmission from a levin bzr fitted into my echo:

1st gear 45mph
2nd gear 75mph
3rd gear 90mph
4th gear 110mph

and i haven't tested 5th or 6th for top speed...

The following numbers were at 8900rpm (i still have a full 1000rpm i could go)
turboecho2005 is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 07-14-2008, 09:18 PM Thread Starter
"I BUILD SLEEPERS"
 
Wraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wrecking havoc in your nightmares
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by turboecho2005 View Post
thats strange... either i got some freak 6 speed or there is something wrong.

Stock alloys 14" i get the following with the 6 speed transmission from a levin bzr fitted into my echo:

1st gear 45mph
2nd gear 75mph
3rd gear 90mph
4th gear 110mph

and i haven't tested 5th or 6th for top speed...

The following numbers were at 8900rpm (i still have a full 1000rpm i could go)
thats because you have a black top 20valve... the 6spd C160 tranny was mated to a 1nz-fe stock echo motor; with a 6500 rpm redline...

USPSA# TY72824 = Grand Master of Inconsistency
Jan to Jun 2014 Videos:
Click here
Jun to Dec 2014 Videos:
Click Here
Wraith is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 07-14-2008, 09:20 PM Thread Starter
"I BUILD SLEEPERS"
 
Wraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wrecking havoc in your nightmares
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard_rsp View Post
Ok, I posted this over at Echodrivers a couple of days ago, but have yet to recieve a response. Anybody on here know?

If the C160 bolts up to the stock mounting points, do you think that this means that the C56 (5-speed version) off of a AE101/111 would have the same mounting points? Isnt the C160 longer than the C56 due to the extra gear?

I know there is a lot of hopeing, but maybe no cutting is needed for the C56 swap? Anybody tried it?
I WANT A TRANNY THAT CAN TAKE A LSD!
the C56 is alittle more beefy than whats found on the echo/xa/xb ... But I cant really say for sure that the tranny will fit...

USPSA# TY72824 = Grand Master of Inconsistency
Jan to Jun 2014 Videos:
Click here
Jun to Dec 2014 Videos:
Click Here
Wraith is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 07-14-2008, 10:17 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
thats because you have a black top 20valve... the 6spd C160 tranny was mated to a 1nz-fe stock echo motor; with a 6500 rpm redline...
Yes... that would make sense!
turboecho2005 is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 07-14-2008, 11:22 PM Thread Starter
"I BUILD SLEEPERS"
 
Wraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wrecking havoc in your nightmares
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by turboecho2005 View Post
Yes... that would make sense!
thats why I compared the c150 tranny ( stock echo ) gearing vs the C160 tranny ( stock AE111) tranny

USPSA# TY72824 = Grand Master of Inconsistency
Jan to Jun 2014 Videos:
Click here
Jun to Dec 2014 Videos:
Click Here
Wraith is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 08-26-2009, 01:50 AM
Paseo Beating just beging
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Quebec
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
hey guys... it's nice to see you thread but i'm a paseo and tercel guy and i have a c150 tranny in my car, and the c52 and c56 can bolt right up to my engine... with the correct "E" bell housing type intead of the popular "A" series from the corolla. So i can order an LSD to fit into the gear box. I can even fit the c160 tranny if i want, i only have to swap bell housings... SO the point is... If your stock tranny is a c150... No doubt you can fit the c160 in your bell housing... I guess the only trouble you gonna have... maybe your shifter linkage will be on the wrong side off the tranny caus i don't know if the linkages are on the same side on a tercel versus a echo!

I hope this gonna help you a bit!
paseobeater is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 09-21-2009, 01:17 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: iasi
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Thumbs up Toyota Yaris

I want to buy a Yaris and I hope to give someone an advice Sorry for disturbing

Last edited by younona; 09-21-2009 at 01:24 PM.
younona is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 09-21-2009, 01:20 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St-Etienne, Quebec
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
the **** is the yaris doing in here ?

'93 AE102 LE 1.8 5spd
'77 TE31 Deluxe 2TC 3spd Auto

Last edited by Zembonez; 06-22-2012 at 02:50 PM. Reason: language...
Cabanon is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 10-05-2009, 10:03 AM
名晨改装
 
名晨改装's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: china
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
*********家好!我想请教下,我们中*********的雅力士1.6的,4zr-fe引擎能不能安装c160n变速箱,还有配*********的终传比,极限速度有160km/h就够了。谢谢!!!

中*********亚里斯车队13621756109中*********上海
名晨改装 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Yaris/Scion iA, Vitz and Echo Forum

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome