04 Echo Power Steering Flush - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Yaris/Scion iA, Vitz and Echo Forum Discussion area for all the Toyota Yaris/Scion iA, Echo, and Vitz owners worldwide.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 12-18-2018, 10:10 AM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Canada 04 Echo Power Steering Flush

Morning everyone - I have an 04 Echo that I bought with roughly 171,000 KMs on it. Nine years of ownership later I have roughly 235,000 KMs on it and I have yet to flush the power steering. I have done the research on how to do a system flush. My problem is that I can't trace the input and output lines down given that the pump is so close to the fire wall. I was hoping that someone can lend a hand and let me know which hose goes where?

Any and all help is very much appreciated. Thanks for everything! Take care of yourself
dabrows is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 12-19-2018, 05:42 AM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 114 Times in 109 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The fat hose from the reservoir is the suction hose to the pump. The smaller hose is the return to the reservoir. Remove the return hose from the reservoir and plug the nipple on the reservoir. Add a longer hose to the return hose so it can be directed to some sort of container to collect the fluid you are flushing out. Fill the reservoir and start the engine. Run 2-3 reservoirs full through the system. Try to not let it run dry/suck air while flushing. Reattach hose, fill system. Without starting engine, turn the wheel lock to lock a couple of times. That will be easier to do with the front wheels off the ground. Now, start car and turn wheels lock to lock while keeping an eye on fluid level. It may take a while to get all the air out and the fluid may appear foamy for a little while. Take it for a short drive and recheck fluid level and be sure the hose you removed is not leaking.
chuckoff is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 12-19-2018, 01:45 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Thanks for the quick reply. My original idea was to remove the return line at the lower end of it (i.e not @ the pump) - hence my trouble tracing it. Any idea what size the line is? I need to get a nipple of some kind to go from the return line to the temporary drain hose.

Thanks again!
dabrows is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 02-08-2019, 03:39 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabrows View Post
Thanks for the quick reply. My original idea was to remove the return line at the lower end of it (i.e not @ the pump) - hence my trouble tracing it. Any idea what size the line is? I need to get a nipple of some kind to go from the return line to the temporary drain hose.

Thanks again!
This is how I did it, I was able to access the return line fine with the front wheels off the ground, the system drained easily from there with turning the wheel lock to lock. I just drained it straight from the return line, no additional drain hose necessary.
TwistedKestrel is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-09-2019, 07:18 AM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedKestrel View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabrows View Post
Thanks for the quick reply. My original idea was to remove the return line at the lower end of it (i.e not @ the pump) - hence my trouble tracing it. Any idea what size the line is? I need to get a nipple of some kind to go from the return line to the temporary drain hose.

Thanks again!
This is how I did it, I was able to access the return line fine with the front wheels off the ground, the system drained easily from there with turning the wheel lock to lock. I just drained it straight from the return line, no additional drain hose necessary.
I know that this sounds like a silly question but how did you catch the old fluid? I assume you drained it from the return line at the reservoir correct?
dabrows is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-02-2019, 01:46 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabrows View Post
I know that this sounds like a silly question but how did you catch the old fluid? I assume you drained it from the return line at the reservoir correct?
I drained it from the return line but at the power steering rack, not the reservoir. The fluid was easy to catch in an oil drain pan
TwistedKestrel is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-04-2019, 09:08 AM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedKestrel View Post
I drained it from the return line but at the power steering rack, not the reservoir. The fluid was easy to catch in an oil drain pan
Thanks for the help. Please excuse my ignorance - I have never done this before.
  • The steering rack sits on top of that front cross member that allows you to jack the car up correct?
  • How do I distinguish between the return and line and and the pressure tube?
    • When I look underneath it seems that both have a low pressure fitting. I am having trouble tracing the lines properly from the reservoir down
Thanks again for all of your help!
dabrows is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-04-2019, 12:37 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
At the rack there *should* be one line with a crimped-on high pressure fitting, and another line with a regular spring-type hose clamp. I remember there being pretty much only one option for a line that I could easily disconnect. The rack is what the tie rods are sticking out of.
TwistedKestrel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Yaris/Scion iA, Vitz and Echo Forum

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome