DIY---TPMS Work-around (turn that light off) - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Yaris/Scion iA, Vitz and Echo Forum Discussion area for all the Toyota Yaris/Scion iA, Echo, and Vitz owners worldwide.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 03-02-2011, 09:17 PM Thread Starter
Ninja-rator
 
RningOnFumes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Bernardino, CA >>>SOCAL
Posts: 4,262
Blog Entries: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 102
Thanked 57 Times in 47 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 5 reviews
(Thread Starter)
DIY---TPMS Work-around (turn that light off)

So if you have a new auto with the TPMS system will should work for you also. This does not apply only to the Yaris.

Quick back ground:

The TPMS system works on sensing pressure from the 4 tires (maybe 5 if you have a full size spare-- I don't know). Each sensor at the wheel only send data to the computer in the car, it is the car's computer that takes in info and then figures out if it should tell the driver in the form of a light on the dash.

There are more sophisticated TPMS systems which may tell you the exact pressure each tire is at, this DIY is not directed towards those systems. The particular kind of TPMS on lower end cars like the Yaris is crude in comparison to what was already state. The Yaris TPMS can be summarized to : Computer takes in info, Computer compares the pressures, Computer says "hey there is a difference" thus it lights up the dash. I believe that there is a low point where the light must go on but it seems it is set so low that you can obviously see that the tires are flat.

REASON: This is for you if you have multiple sets of wheels a la winter and rest of the year. Those sensors cost upwards of 100 bucks, plus the hassle of programming. EVen if you could afford multiple sets of sensors, it is not a matter of bolting on and go, I believe the computers only allow 4 sensors at any time. So you would still need to keep pertinent data like serial numbers or part numbers and drive down to the tire shop or dealer to re program the computer each time you switch sets.
________________________________

1. Gather parts.

DRILL
BITS (7/16 and two smaller for pilot holes)
Bent nose pliers
Tape measure
Marker
Hack saw

Shop for:

PVC Pipe (3.5inch Diameter)
PVC Caps
ABS Cement (pipe glue)
---Total about 20 bucks (piping and glue)

2. Lay everything out to get organized:






3. Measure/Math/Mark
Holes:
Diameter was 3.5in. Full circumference was about 11in. 11in. divided by 4 needed holes makes about 2.75 inch spacing. (adjust spacing appropriately according to the diameter)

Caps:
Inside the caps is a groove that will prevent the pipe from bottoming out. Measure to it and park on the pipe.






Marks:

[ <------to groove----->][<----center for holes----->][<----to groove_----->]

Doesn't have to be exact, just make sure you have room in the center for the holes and that it's wide enough for the width of the body of the sensor..

4. DRILL

Drill the holes, use pilot holes to make drilling easier.

5.Test fit one sensor just to make sure the hole is okay. Doesn't need to be snug. You'll need a bit of looseness for later. Take it off.



6. Cut!!

7. Put in the sensors. The first three will be okay, but the fourth will be a tight fit. This is the reason why you should not put in the nuts on any of them yet and why you cut the pipe. A bit of a puzzle literally.

An alternative arrangement is three in the middle and one on top of the cap. (do measurements accordingly)




8. Dry fit the end caps and then apply glue to both the end of the pipe and the inside of the cap. (Do one end at a time)





9. Wait fifteen minutes for the cement to set then pump air in. Take it to the car and you should be okay after it recognizes the signals.


You can vary the idea to fit your needs, this is just one example.

RningOnFumes is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RningOnFumes For This Useful Post:
Chris90210 (03-17-2013), Dana_15 (03-03-2011)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 10-19-2015, 10:30 PM
Got Pyro?
 
funman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 6,295
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 825 Post(s)
Thanks: 702
Thanked 612 Times in 522 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Here is my video on how to repair and replace them
Saw this thread was a stickey so I thought I would add to it now since there are better ways


Professional Pyro..
No really; I get paid to blow stuff up...
funman1 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 10-29-2015, 08:31 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brampton. Ontario
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Since Toyota vehicles can only hold the data info for four tires, you can get aftermarket TPMS sensors made by Orange or Schrader that can be programmed to the original four TPMS codes. That is what I did with my winter tires, this way all I have to do is swap over the wheels and the vehicle still sees the original four TPMS codes and no TPMS light on. I understand that your way may be cheaper, but it is not the safest way. That vehicle would not pass a safety inspection without the TPMS mounted; since it it considered a safety item and you may run into insurance issues if you ever had to make a claim (remember they are always looking for a reason not to pay a claim).
XKWISIT1 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to XKWISIT1 For This Useful Post:
HiggsBosun (10-29-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Yaris/Scion iA, Vitz and Echo Forum

Bookmarks

Tags
air , dash light , low pressure light , psi , tpms , tpms light , yaris

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome