How to: change a yaris clutch - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Yaris/Scion iA, Vitz and Echo Forum Discussion area for all the Toyota Yaris/Scion iA, Echo, and Vitz owners worldwide.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old 03-23-2013, 07:43 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
How to: change a yaris clutch

Hey everybody, my names zeke and im a Toyota master tech, a man came in with an 08 yaris, would not move, diagnosed as a bad clutch. The man said hell with it, and traded it in. The darling blue hatchback sat in our back lot for 2 months, until I sprung the 4500$ trade in value, and threw it on my rack.
Im doing this write up because there is a stark lack of information on doing this job "laymans" method, so i'm here to lend some info to the needy!
NOTE, THIS IS NOT THE TOYOTA APPROVED METHOD, BUT THE JOB CALLS FOR 7 HOURS AND I DID IT THIS WAY IN 5.
Step one is the strip down, like all cars with tiny engine bays, removing all the big stuff in the way can make a job MUCH easier.
First to come out, wiper cowl, unbolt the wipers, place them aside. The plastic top piece has 2 screw in clips, pulls off. The underplastic, pull up sharply, it will all come out eventually. unbolt the wiper motor 12mm 2 bolts, and then there are about 9 10mm bolts holding in the metal tray, remove and place aside.
Admire your new open engine bay. Pressing on!
Im a master tech as I said, so things are going to be kind of vauge, as if you are attempting this job, you should know how to do basic things.
Remove battery, battery tray, there are 5 12mm bolts, 3 on top, one near the fuse box, one on the bottom.
Remove the intake, BE VERY CAREFUL OF THE MAF, drops more than 13" will ruin the sensor.
Remove all the PCV air lines, and the intake pipe down to the throttle.