2019 Limited No more dynamic lines Why? guidance on backup camera - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
4Runner 5th Generation (2010+) Discussion area for the fifth generation Toyota 4Runner.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 02-18-2019, 05:53 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
2019 Limited No more dynamic lines Why? guidance on backup camera

I am sure the dynamic lines worked on backup camera. After remote start was installed, gone! Only fixed lines. I have tried opening diag menus, but no options for camera. Anybody have experience ?
Mike W13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-18-2019, 06:00 PM
Senior TN Member
 
cb91710's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: SoCal IE
Posts: 3,585
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1647 Post(s)
Thanks: 97
Thanked 377 Times in 352 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike W13 View Post
I am sure the dynamic lines worked on backup camera. After remote start was installed, gone! Only fixed lines. I have tried opening diag menus, but no options for camera. Anybody have experience ?
Take it back to the shop that installed the remote start.

Funny that it seems like 90% of electrical problems reported on this forum always seem to include the words "remote start"
The problem is that making a remote start work includes not only tapping into various power sources, but also intercepting and interrupting other circuits.
Modern vehicles are far more complex than they were even 15 years ago. The installer likely bypassed the signal that transmits the steering wheel position to the HU.

It *may* be a simple matter of recalibrating the system by running the wheel from lock to lock several times.

-- Rich

cb91710 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-18-2019, 06:36 PM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Thanks. Funny.. the dealer installed remote start, and when I asked about the disappear of dynamic lines, they brought document out that says that feature isn't on my VIN.. I saw some posts that it can be enabled by diag menus.. but no luck for me. I'll try the steering trick tommorow
Mike W13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 02-27-2019, 08:47 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Just got my 2019 a few weeks ago. There are no dynamic lines on mine. Maybe I'll try the steering trick...
bharnois is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-27-2019, 09:14 AM Thread Starter
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Good luck, the steering trick didn't work for me. I was hoping someone could point to similar steps like in this thread for Rav. See steps outlined to access menu

https://www.rav4world.com/forums/123...ing-lines.html
Mike W13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > 4Runner Forum > 4Runner 5th Generation (2010+)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome