Tire Rotation TPMS? - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Camry 7th Generation (2012-2017) Toyota Camry Discussion for years: 2012-2017

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old 04-02-2019, 11:52 AM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: East Coast (Worst Coast)
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Tire Rotation TPMS?

I plan to rotate my own tires. No wheel change, no tire change, just rotation.
Do I need to do anything to make sure the TPMS sensors show correct tire positions on my dash display?



I read that the TPMS sensors will re-discover their own positions after driving for 20-30min post-rotation. But I also read that one has to buy an OBD-II TPMS reset/relearn tool to teach the ECU the new tire positions after a rotation.
GloStiX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 04-02-2019, 11:56 AM
Senior TN Member
 
Vangm25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 2,297
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Thanks: 22
Thanked 125 Times in 120 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Rotate them and see what happens. Either they will or they won't detect. You won't know til it happens. As far as I know, if yours has a display that lists each TPMS it might have to manually relearn it. If yours just has a TPMS light it should automatically relearn it.

Help those who accept it, troll those who shun it
Vangm25 is online now  
post #3 of 17 Old 04-02-2019, 06:53 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Pvt-Public's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Thanks: 24
Thanked 243 Times in 221 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by GloStiX View Post
I plan to rotate my own tires.

Why don't they rotate on their own.

2013 Camry XLE 3.5L A/T
2017 Camry LE 2.5L A/T
Pvt-Public is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 Old 04-02-2019, 06:54 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Vangm25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 2,297
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Thanks: 22
Thanked 125 Times in 120 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pvt-Public View Post
Why don't they rotate on their own.
Brakes are rusted

Help those who accept it, troll those who shun it
Vangm25 is online now  
post #5 of 17 Old 04-02-2019, 07:39 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: East Coast (Worst Coast)
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Surely people have rotated their tires here... for a Gen7 Camry 2017 do we need a special tool for TPMS?


This is my first time rotating on my own and if I have to buy multiple tools and jacks and stands etc. it ends up not being worth it and I'll take it to a shop. That's why I ask.
GloStiX is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 04-02-2019, 07:57 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Vangm25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 2,297
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Thanks: 22
Thanked 125 Times in 120 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by GloStiX View Post
Surely people have rotated their tires here... for a Gen7 Camry 2017 do we need a special tool for TPMS?


This is my first time rotating on my own and if I have to buy multiple tools and jacks and stands etc. it ends up not being worth it and I'll take it to a shop. That's why I ask.
Is your TPMS "smart" as in there is a display that shows each TPMS?
OR
Is your TPMS "dumb" as in there is only a TPMS light?

If it is the first, it might need to relearn. If it is the second, it might not need to relearn.

Help those who accept it, troll those who shun it
Vangm25 is online now  
post #7 of 17 Old 04-02-2019, 08:38 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by GloStiX View Post
Surely people have rotated their tires here... for a Gen7 Camry 2017 do we need a special tool for TPMS?


This is my first time rotating on my own and if I have to buy multiple tools and jacks and stands etc. it ends up not being worth it and I'll take it to a shop. That's why I ask.
I have a 2017 and when I asked the question, here was the response. It would be nice if it were automatic and I think it is, but haven't yet tried it to prove it:

https://www.toyotanation.com/forum/3...-question.html

See these, too. It seems to imply the reset button will force a reboot and it will automatically find the appropriate sensor for each tire:

https://www.toyotanation.com/forum/3...-rotation.html

https://hiride.com/toyota-camry-rese...arning-system/

Last edited by Khakuda; 04-02-2019 at 08:53 PM.
Khakuda is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 04-03-2019, 08:34 AM
New TN User
 
Jimel Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Hello new here🥓but i got my first gen 7 camry love the car any tips on a 13 camry need rotation bad
Jimel Johnson is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 04-03-2019, 06:55 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: East Coast (Worst Coast)
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Thanks Khakuda I'll give it a shot soon and see what happens.
GloStiX is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 04-03-2019, 09:01 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
You’re welcome. Good luck. Once you do it, post the results if you can and maybe the mystery will be solved.
Khakuda is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 04-04-2019, 01:41 PM
Photojournalist
 
sethr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Thanks: 42
Thanked 124 Times in 118 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
It does not show them in a predictable order.

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk


12 LE: LED mods-frnt grille paint to match-spkr upgrades-MB wheels-black chrome
sethr is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 04-06-2019, 12:22 PM
98401
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Thanks: 37
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by GloStiX View Post
Surely people have rotated their tires here... for a Gen7 Camry 2017 do we need a special tool for TPMS?


This is my first time rotating on my own and if I have to buy multiple tools and jacks and stands etc. it ends up not being worth it and I'll take it to a shop. That's why I ask.
Yes, and surely you know how to read. And surely you know how to do things for yourself, vs. going to the chatroom?

Thus, please read the manual. Yes, this is all covered in the manual. Stop relying on people to do your work.

Thanks
Vangm25 likes this.
johnwill is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to johnwill For This Useful Post:
Vangm25 (04-06-2019)
post #13 of 17 Old 04-07-2019, 06:58 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 41 Times in 37 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
My understanding is that the car's computer can relearn the position of the sensors when you rotate the tires.
It takes about 20 minutes or so of constant driving for the position relearn to take place.
I have the SE model which has both the TPMS light and displays the pressure of each tire in one of the screens in the middle display.
If a new sensor is introduced, you must program the serial number of the sensor into the computer using a TPMS tool.
The computer cannot learn a new serial number on its own.
Also, the computer can only hold 1 set of serial numbers.
So, if you have another set of wheels with tires (like snow tires) the serial numbers must be programmed each time you change the rims (and sensors) over.
wiswind is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 04-09-2019, 03:30 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I rotated my wife's 2014 SE 2.5 several months ago, and it resulted in no light or code. Don't know how long it took the TPMS to re-establish the pairing for all four wheels, though. Some manufacturers display the individual tire pressure and would display -- after the TPMS loses connection and during relearn.


Woof
Woofpack is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 04-11-2019, 05:39 PM
TN の がしょう
 
xpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
Posts: 7,331
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 623 Post(s)
Thanks: 78
Thanked 255 Times in 212 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 7 reviews
My TPMS recalibrated itself within a few minutes whenever I rotate them at home. I have a 2015 XSE.

I rotate my tires every 8,000-10,000 miles or during every other oil changes. (I change my oil at every 5k miles)

All you need is a jack and a torque wrench. You can get a decent low profile hydraulic jack at Harbor Freight Tools for less than $80 with a coupon.

No issues.


2015 Camry XSE V6 - Ultra Racing FTB | SRI Intake | Nitto NT555G2 | TRD
2018 Highlander LTD AWD
2017 RAV4 XLE
2017 Corolla iM

xpeed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > Camry 7th Generation (2012-2017)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome