Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums

Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums (https://www.toyotanation.com/forum/)
-   Camry 7th Generation (2012-2017) (https://www.toyotanation.com/forum/310-camry-7th-generation-2012-2017/)
-   -   New Car Hunt (Camry/IS) (https://www.toyotanation.com/forum/310-camry-7th-generation-2012-2017/1653426-new-car-hunt-camry.html)

aguynamedsean 05-13-2019 07:00 PM

New Car Hunt (Camry/IS)

Hello All,

Just created an account on here. I'm having a hard time sorting through the plethora of information on this forum.
So hopefully this works on here.

Long story short, Totaled my 2008 Cadillac CTS driving through hail in Texas last week :(

I'll have about 8-9k to spend on my next car and have been thinking about the Camry and Lexus IS250/300/350.

What should I look out for with these cars?

Preferably 2010 and newer.
This will be my first non-american car and I have no knowledge of their maintenance costs either.

If anyone can share their experience, i would greatly appreciate it.

-S

CorollaPants 05-15-2019 11:27 AM

The reason I bought a Camry (after decades of being a Corolla man) was because it depreciates in value so quickly. You can get a lot of car for your money and they are cheap to own, maintain and repair. I bought my Camry a few years old and with a questionable prior ownership history (there was definitely an unreported accident). I'm super fastidious about maintenance and repairs and have spent next to nothing on this car since I got it. Much less than my prior Corolla with a Toyota extended warranty. Shockingly good and cheap car to maintain. Can't speak to Lexus.

OleAvalon 05-15-2019 11:58 AM

A slightly wider perspective: Avalon. It's a Camry, a stretch Camry that has room for 6-footer adults in the back seat. And it's mechanically identical to the Lexus ES-300/350... The higher-end Avalons are luxury vehicles (our low-end Gen2 XL's are pretty bare-bones + passenger power seat & alloy wheels).