2019 Highlander voice in guidance or navigation - Page 3 - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Highlander 3rd Generation (2014-2019) Forum dedicated to the discussion of 3rd generation Toyota Highlanders.

 148Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #31 of 319 Old 12-28-2018, 07:59 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Thanks, will try to press it twice faster, then start the car with the brake pedal... so far i have not had any luck with the workaround
slitelytoasted is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 319 Old 12-28-2018, 09:52 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Hey Slitelytoasted,
Sorry to hear the workaround I was made aware of by my Toyota dealer has not worked for you. Several other people on this forum have had success with it, so don't know what to say. Another one that I found by myself, before going to the dealer that also works for me and some others, is this: Start the car as normal, shut it off and then restart. Voice activation should be there. Worth a try I guess until Toyota comes up with a fix.
Remote start: I used a company here in central Wisconsin that installs aftermarket remote starts and also heated seats. That probably won't help you, so here's the brand, model number etc. Compustar FMX Prime R3 by Firstech, model # RF-2WR3-FM, has 3000 ft range, 2-way LED confirmation, 1-yr warranty about $475 installed. Had it on my 2016 Highlander Hybrid Limited Platinum also. works gr8, love it up here in the cold. Can probably Google it. Good luck!
gmann45 is offline  
post #33 of 319 Old 12-29-2018, 01:48 PM
New TN User
 
psu_ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Anyone know if there is a similar workaround for getting voice guidance to work in the hybrid Highlander? It doesn’t have the start/stop button. I just bought a 2019 limited platinum hybrid and am experiencing the same issues described-didn’t see a similar post in the hybrid forum.

Edit-I’m assuming the button referred to for the workaround is the Start/Stop override button to the left of the steering wheel on gasonline-only highlanders...if it is the start/stop button (ignition) to the right of the steering wheel then please disregard my earlier question

Last edited by psu_ben; 12-29-2018 at 01:54 PM.
psu_ben is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 319 Old 12-29-2018, 10:32 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: PDX
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by psu_ben View Post
Anyone know if there is a similar workaround for getting voice guidance to work in the hybrid Highlander? It doesnít have the start/stop button. I just bought a 2019 limited platinum hybrid and am experiencing the same issues described-didnít see a similar post in the hybrid forum.

Edit-Iím assuming the button referred to for the workaround is the Start/Stop override button to the left of the steering wheel on gasonline-only highlanders...if it is the start/stop button (ignition) to the right of the steering wheel then please disregard my earlier question
They are referring to the ignition button.

2018 Highlander Limited Platinum
PDXmerv is offline  
post #35 of 319 Old 01-11-2019, 08:30 AM
New TN User
 
etkal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
BTW I called my dealer and their service department had never heard of the problem. Then again I doubt they have sold many 2019 Highlander Hybrid Limited Platinum models (maybe not more than one). They did make a note in my file in case a TSB or recall comes out.

.
ET ~ 2019 Highlander Hybrid Limited
W1⚡QED
etkal is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to etkal For This Useful Post:
etp7 (07-10-2019)
post #36 of 319 Old 01-15-2019, 06:18 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
We bought 2019 Highlander LP on December 23. Same issue with no gps voice guidance. The double tap on the start button does make voice guided navigation work and also playing of texts. I’m super disappointed that the car already has a work around issue. This is our first Toyota. Will Toyota fix this issue eventually?
JulFil is offline  
post #37 of 319 Old 01-15-2019, 10:21 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I have the same issue with the navigation system on my 2019 Highlander Limited Platinum. I take it to the dealer twice but the issue is the same. Toyota knows about it and they issued article for work around the issue which turn the switch to ACC WITHOUT pressing the brakes (some times you have to push twice) once the beep is heard you can press the brake and strat the engine then the voice will work. What kills me this expensive car and I don't see Toyota doing anything to fix it soon.
Salehw is offline  
post #38 of 319 Old 01-15-2019, 10:33 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I agree with Balooo2 We are gonna need to make noise about it.
Salehw is offline  
post #39 of 319 Old 01-15-2019, 10:52 PM
Official TN Member
 
ajoyhappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I got my new 2019 highlander on 31st dec, Luckily I've not experienced the above problem. HL was manufactured on 12/18.
ajoyhappy is offline  
post #40 of 319 Old 01-15-2019, 11:09 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Sad indeed....

that for what we paid for these otherwise fine vehicles, that there has to already be a workaround, with no apparent attempt by Toyota to rectify problem. At least the workaround allows the voice activation to be able to be used. Unlike an even bigger issue I have that you can find in this forum with the subject line of PAIRING PHONE? Pairing either of the 2 Tracfones I own, 1 an older LG and the other a brand new Alcatel, very shortly makes the whole 8" screen go blank, unusable. Audio/homescreen/apps buttons on L of screen totally inoperable, as is everything else. Unpairing phones returns to screen to full use. An entire whole new head unit has been installed, with same results. No known solution from Toyota so far on this issue either. Pretty frustrating to not be able to use a couple of the features that I paid for!
gmann45 is offline  
post #41 of 319 Old 01-16-2019, 10:06 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I heard from Toyoda that this is a software issue that they are working on and when solved there will be a software update either directly with the vehicle or it might require a trip to the dealer. The work around does work, I had an issue originally, after turning on the accessories (press ignition without foot on brake) I was starting the car too soon and the workaround failed. I needed to wait for the apps to start before starting the car (press ignition with foot on brake).
eeh0615 is offline  
post #42 of 319 Old 01-16-2019, 07:22 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
My problem is that if you research the timing Toyota may have known the units were defective and elected to sell the Highlanders without notifying potential customers. We would not have bought this one until issues like this was corrected. I asked the dealer if we could return the automobile within days of finding out the problem and timing and they said no as this wasnít a mechanical or drivetrain problem.
Wilco404 is offline  
post #43 of 319 Old 01-17-2019, 01:38 AM
Official TN Member
 
Harleyrider421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: West Central Indiana
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Thanks: 239
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Just purchased a 2019 Limited Platinum Trim December 2018 and the same thing with mine. I've read about the "push the start button twice, then push on the brake and start it and everything works great"...I called my dealership where I purchased it and of course...we've never heard of this happening...I'm not sure, but from what I've read, this Entune radio has been in their vehicles for a good while. So they tell me to make a appointment and they will try to do some updates...AND...its also rebooted 2 times after crossing a railroad track ( at a super slow speed )..One time the voices and sounds work, next time they dont...this would be a BIG ISSUE on a vacation trip !!!
I'll post at a later time what happens after they do the updates...from what I've read, the ONLY TRUE FIX is changing out the entire radio head unit....

Last edited by Harleyrider421; 02-28-2019 at 12:50 AM.
Harleyrider421 is offline  
post #44 of 319 Old 01-17-2019, 11:21 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I did the updates and a new radio unit and neither solved the sound issue. I was told that it is a communication issue between the expansion box (provides additional features such as navigation) and the radio unit.
eeh0615 is offline  
post #45 of 319 Old 01-17-2019, 12:16 PM
Official TN Member
 
Harleyrider421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: West Central Indiana
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Thanks: 239
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by eeh0615 View Post
I did the updates and a new radio unit and neither solved the sound issue. I was told that it is a communication issue between the expansion box (provides additional features such as navigation) and the radio unit.

So are you satisfied with what they tried or is there another solution ?

2019 Toyota Highlander Limited Platinum

Last edited by Harleyrider421; 02-28-2019 at 12:51 AM.
Harleyrider421 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Highlander Forum > Highlander 3rd Generation (2014-2019)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome