How to reset our Cars Ability to learn driving dynamics? - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Corolla 11th Gen (Sedan 2014-2019)/Scion iM (2016-2018) Forums dedicated to the 11th generation Toyota Corolla, as well as the directly related Scion iM

 2Likes
  • 2 Post By got-rice
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 05-07-2019, 09:45 AM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
How to reset our Cars Ability to learn driving dynamics?

Anyone know how to reset our cars computer to relearn our driving ways?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Joseph Juguilon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-08-2019, 12:03 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 86 Times in 81 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Some say to disconnect the battery, others to use Techstream but repeating the same driving manners would have the same result. If it's because your habits changed, adaptive learning would adapt anyway over a period of time.
jolly is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-10-2019, 09:17 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
What is it that the car learns?

Anxious Owner of a 2018 Corolla LE
george.stark is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 05-11-2019, 02:10 AM
straight cash homie
 
got-rice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Corollas & Camrys
Posts: 18,463
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3691 Post(s)
Thanks: 53
Thanked 969 Times in 858 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by george.stark View Post
What is it that the car learns?
To kill?
got-rice is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-11-2019, 10:14 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Not quite what I was thinking.....

Anxious Owner of a 2018 Corolla LE
george.stark is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-13-2019, 07:51 PM
Moderator
 
DjAnnexAlpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,241
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1176 Post(s)
Thanks: 126
Thanked 162 Times in 142 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Disconnect the battery for about 30 seconds. Reconnect. Turn the key to the on position, and let the system reengage. Start driving as if you are trying to save gas. The computer will then electronically limit the rpms and such(Since the pedal is electric). Did that a few times when gas got pretty expensive.

Vroom Vroom
DjAnnexAlpha is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-13-2019, 07:53 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjAnnexAlpha View Post
Disconnect the battery for about 30 seconds. Reconnect. Turn the key to the on position, and let the system reengage. Start driving as if you are trying to save gas. The computer will then electronically limit the rpms and such(Since the pedal is electric). Did that a few times when gas got pretty expensive.


Do I start the engine or just turn key on?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Joseph Juguilon is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-13-2019, 07:55 PM
Moderator
 
DjAnnexAlpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,241
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1176 Post(s)
Thanks: 126
Thanked 162 Times in 142 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Nope, don't start the engine. If you have a touch screen setup, it should load up to a load screen.

Vroom Vroom
DjAnnexAlpha is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-13-2019, 09:53 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjAnnexAlpha View Post
Nope, don't start the engine. If you have a touch screen setup, it should load up to a load screen.


Did it delete your car stereo memory channels?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Joseph Juguilon is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-16-2019, 08:01 PM
Moderator
 
DjAnnexAlpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,241
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1176 Post(s)
Thanks: 126
Thanked 162 Times in 142 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Juguilon View Post
Did it delete your car stereo memory channels?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
No idea. Never use the radio.

Vroom Vroom
DjAnnexAlpha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > Corolla 11th Gen (Sedan 2014-2019)/Scion iM (2016-2018)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome